Sport Clips Stylist Reviews | Glassdoor

Sport Clips Stylist Reviews

Updated December 5, 2018
337 reviews

Filter

Filter

Stylist

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and Director Gordon B. Logan
Gordon B. Logan
192 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Family-like atmosphere, flexible scheduling and great pay" (in 62 reviews)

  • "Health Insurance, great tips, continuing education" (in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "have to be able to work nights and weekends" (in 17 reviews)

  • "I have no cons about my company" (in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Gulfport, MS
    Former Employee - Stylist in Gulfport, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Better hourly wage than any franchise I've ever worked for,guaranteed hours due to busy fast paced environment, & good structure that trys to create a family work environment. Overall a good company to work for.

    Cons

    I dont have any cons

    Advice to Management

    None

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your review! Please keep Sport Clips in mind in the future.


  2. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun and exciting .

    Cons

    Poor scheduling , they schedule what they need rather than your needs .

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of yoir employees life outside of work.

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and your dedication to Sport Clips. We apologize for the schedule not meeting your needs. Please connect with you store Manager about your scheduling needs.

  3. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy work. Great atmosphere. Love my clients.

    Cons

    Zero benefits. Bare minimum PTO. No raises for long term employment.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 28, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and your time with Sport Clips. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your Sport Clips. And you are correct, benefits vary on location/franchisee. Best wishes!


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Team leader awesome, supervisor awesome, unreliable staff and you get over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Avondale, AZ
    Current Employee - Stylist in Avondale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good supervisor for the time being

    Cons

    Horrible managers at other locations. They will degrade you and treat you awful and you don't have a safe outlet to voice your experience.

    Advice to Management

    Get proper HR so your employees feel supported and safe

    Sport Clips Response

    Dec 6, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you so much for you feedback and commitment to Sport Clips! We are disappointed to hear about your past experience and we will notify the proper party.


  5. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Mobile, AL
    Current Employee - Stylist in Mobile, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Everything, goal oriented, great company, always an opportunity to grow and learn, not only do they value their customers but their team members as well.

    Cons

    None, they truly are a great company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Your team is your family, how you treat them is how the atmosphere will be. Taking care of those around you makes for a better work place.

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Your review is greatly appreciated! We are happy to hear that you enjoy your Sport Clips family and culture! Happy Holidays!


  6. "Stylist and Team Member for 18 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Tallahassee, FL
    Current Employee - Stylist in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Company that truly desires your success and happiness.

    Cons

    Commission goals are difficult when buisiness is slow.

    Advice to Management

    A built in Vac -system for clippers would be great .

    Sport Clips Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your time with Sport Clips. Please connect with your manager and TL about marketing in your area! The holidays are coming up and you should be busy, busy! We sent... More


  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in San Clemente, CA
    Current Employee - Stylist in San Clemente, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sport Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Comfortable uniforms
    Competitive pay
    Flexible schedule
    Ongoing training
    Good tips
    Nice clientele
    Advancement opportunities
    Family atmosphere

    Cons

    I have no cons to report at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. I can see that management and owners are interested in the success of the shop. I feel that management and owners care about my personal advancement.

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 22, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and commitment to Sport Clips!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "“Micro-Management”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Taylorsville, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Busy locations.
    -Growth Potentials.
    - Very clean workplace.
    - Athletic Uniforms somewhat comfortable.
    - Family like atmosphere.

    Cons

    - Micromanaging, To many “assistant managers, key holders, and senior stylists.” Makes consistenty on policies difficult to adhere to on a daily basis, depending on who you work with.
    - Pay start at $10, plus tips, tips left on cards get put on your paycheck’s so your tips get taxed out.
    - Trainng was pretty much a joke, I never got to learn how to run the computer I had to teach myself or constantly ask other stylist to help me that’s basically how I learned, all that was really cared about was the MVP and how fast you could cut somebody’s hair and get them out the door. I have been doing hair for almost 12 years so when my “selective manager” sat me down to talk about my numbers and goals I was told that all the company and the higher-ups just look at numbers, and I’m just a number to them and I could be terminated if I couldn’t up my cutting speed time.
    -That is when work started to become negative, It made it nerve racking when
    “selective managers” worked putting to much pressure on every haircut constantly looking at the computer for speeds.
    -Inconsistent breaks and schedules.
    -Short staffed so waiting time made clients upset then had to push to do MVPs after they waited an hour or more only irritated them more.
    - Bonusing is ridiculous and rare even with great product sales, back bar upgrades, if your cutting time is below there expectations you will NEVER bonus!

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key right? Maybe GroupMe is NOT the best way to communicate with your employees!
     I really did like working here and wanted to strive to be an assistant manager in the long run it’s just hard to communicate with so much inconsistency !

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time with us, and have sent your feedback to the appropriate party for review. Your experience does not align with Sport Clips standards and values; we... More


  9. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sanford, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, people and attitude

    Cons

    Speed, hours and time management

    Advice to Management

    Everything is perfect

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate your time with us at Sport Clips, and your input. We hope our paths cross again, in the future.


  10. "Stylists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Oxford, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sport Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I loved working there, we catered more to men and I feel more comfortable as a barber I also enjoyed the massage we did, which made us different than most salons

    Cons

    Bad management at times

    Advice to Management

    Always try in stay involved with everyone who works there no Matter there title or duties performed

    Sport Clips Response

    Oct 11, 2018 – Talent and Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for your review and for your time with us at Sport Clips. We appreciate your input and sent it to the appropriate party for review.