KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Sport Clips

Sport Clips

Add a Review

Sport Clips Employee Reviews about "haircuts"

Updated Nov 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 1,674 reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Sport Clips CEO and President Edward Logan
Edward Logan
188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teaching new stylist how to care about what you do(in 113 reviews)

  • "Fast pace environment great company great pay ability to move up(in 92 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Turn around with stylist that stay longer than 1 year do to competitive salons(in 130 reviews)

  • "Hard on your your back and shoulders sometimes cuz you’re doing so many haircuts(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sport Clips and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "haircuts"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Career not just a job

      Jul 25, 2020 - Area Coach in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The values of this company are second to none.Coming from full service was not sure I’d be challenged enough working in an industry that only does men’s haircuts. I was more than challenged, I was inspired to become more. The values this company adheres to not only changed my professional life but my personal life as well!! Best career choice I ever made!

      Cons

      I will have to retire someday.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      Your feedback is appreciated!

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      want to work for zero tips? Come on down to sport clips!

      Feb 1, 2020 - Hairstylist in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros: Fast paced, men’s cuts only, so quick and simple, laid back clientele, comfortable dress code

      Cons

      Cons: Your tips on card payments do not leave the register, so they get taxed. And at least at this location every single customer pays with a card. So much is taken out on my paycheck it really feels like I’m working for no tips. Each haircut you take has like a 1,0000 step list of each specific thing you need to remember and do EXACTLY how you were shown. I really wouldn’t mind all of that if I was actually getting the great tips the company bragged about which led to me applying. Made me buy expensive new clippers Stylists are required to pay for the products we are required to use on customers. Stylists are responsible for any state board fines the store gets (is this legal..?) was told the stylists in the store split the cost if there is ever a fine. Very rude management. A common response from management when asking for help is an eye roll or condescending chuckle. Mandatory unpaid work events. Unprofessional environment, management gossiping in front of clientele etc Lots of late closing shifts followed by opening shifts barely 12 hours later. No commission. There is ‘incentive’ for when you hit certain numbers in every category (retail sales, impossible haircut times, AND up selling numbers) all need to reach unrealistic quotas to make any incentive, I was even told my a coworker oh my first day that they’re practically impossible to actually reach

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      I appreciate your feedback and am sorry to hear about your experience. Have you spoken to your store owner about your concerns? I know they would want the opportunity to address them. Each store owner does provide their own compensation plan and make there own schedule. Feel free to reach out to me at contact.us@sportclips.com.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Ok company

      Nov 4, 2020 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast money Busy stores Haircuts Friendly management Bi weekly pay

      Cons

      Too much work not enough pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      Thank you for sharing your review. I am sorry that you feel like there is too much work and not enough pay. Some seasons of work are more challenging than others and because each store is independently owned and operated, compensation vary. If you have not shared your concerns with your manager or store owner, please do. I know they would like the opportunity to hear you out and come up with a resolution. Because you did not list your area, I cannot share this feedback. Feel free to reach out to me at contact.us@sportclips.com.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I think Sport Clips is a great company for many people, but it isnt for everyone.

      Aug 7, 2019 - Stylist in Thomasville, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great company if you get a good franchise owner. Tips are extremely nice with new suggested tip system though I hear the suggested amounts are different under different franchise owners. Great place to grow your skill.

      Cons

      There is a ceiling with skill growth. I can do a pretty banging haircut in 14 minutes now, but I'd love to see what I can do in 30 on the same cut. Commission structure is completely unattainable if you cant do a 12 minute haircut and if it isnt a busy location/time of year. My location is in a college town and it makes the commission opportunity out of reach for half the year. The company is becoming more and more corporate which is understandable, the company is growing quickly. This takes away a lot of the genuine aspects of the company and redirects focus on haircuts and relationships to percentages of online check ins and surveys.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst ever!!!!

      Jun 11, 2020 - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Lakeway, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits. Assisted w haircuts when needed, payment plan for tools

      Cons

      Harassing pushing sales, poor cooperate management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      I am sorry to hear about your experience and I will share this feedback with the appropriate person right away. Sorry for the delay! I hope you are well and we wish you the best!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great company

      Feb 25, 2020 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Structured Easy way to make money Paid vacation

      Cons

      Hard on your your back and shoulders sometimes cuz you’re doing so many haircuts

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      Thank you for your review! Have you attended training on ergonomics to helping you cope with your back and shoulders? Here is an article I found that might help!: https://www.modernsalon.com/375133/put-ergonomics-on-your-side. We appreciate your dedication to Sport Clips!

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst experience of my career

      May 29, 2019 - Stylist in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met one co worker that was really helpful.

      Cons

      After about three weeks working for SportClips I was told that each one of my haircuts needed to be checked before I completed the service. That is when my nightmare began. Each time I had to call a manager over to check the cut the manager would cut more hair off and cut deeper into the hairline. They were not fixing the cut they were redoing the whole cut which in turn made one client extremely angry. This was all because I had a few low survey scores which I was never asked my side of the story and to which this particular location had low scores before I even started. A company that says they value team players don't seem to follow their own values. I have never been more embarrassed in my life. After 13 years cutting hair this year has been the first year I ever got negative reviews. Something didn't seem right about the whole situation. And the five point play? I followed it and never once heard another employee in the building follow it. I feel the company jumped the gun and never allowed me to show my true ability. And it stayed busy the whole time I worked there. I feel used and abused by this company and will never work there again.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Corporate driven

      Jan 1, 2020 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clients, flexible schedule, decent pay, fast paced, co-workers

      Cons

      it's a sales job, the focus is on your ability to sell products and services, and to do as many haircuts as fast as you can. The continual badgering about numbers has ruined the good parts of the job. They want you to come to work even when you are sick as a dog. You get your co-workers sick and your clients. If you have to miss for any reason you don't get any commissions for that pay period.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      Thank you for your input and time at Sport Clips. I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience. Have you discussed your concerns with your manager, store owner or coach? It might be helpful to clear up any misunderstandings or at least be heard. You did not provide a location, so I am unable to share your feedback directly. Feel free to connect offline at contact.us@sportclips.com. As a company (Franchisor/Corporation) we do provide guidelines to ensure consistency and set each team member up for success. I think the message can get diluted as it is communicated, and resulting in a team member feeling undervalued, like just a number, etc. Sport Clips standards goals and values can be seen throughout the company in our support center, in our stores and in our communities. It saddens me to see that this is not your experience.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It's your typical corporate salon

      Mar 24, 2020 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No chemical services. All male haircuts. Comfy dress code.

      Cons

      Can get repetitive. Usual salon drama

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      Thank you for sharing. I am happy to see that you are a current Team Member during this time and do hope you are following the recommended safety percausions. I am disappointed to see that your experience is not a positive one. Sport Clips culture is meant to be fun and exciting , not filled with "usual salon drama". I wish you and your family the best during this season. Stay #SportClipsStrong #GotHeart

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy, Flexible Hours

      Jan 17, 2020 - Stylist in Bakersfield, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Management will work with your flexible hours. Mainly mens haircuts, no styling and very short menu. Easy first time job/short-term job.

      Cons

      Not for the faint of heart, can become hard to work with a small group of women. There may be a power struggle.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sport Clips Response

      Talent and Engagement Specialist

      I appreciate your review and time at Sport Clips. Every store has a unique team dynamic, so it can be helpful to meet the team prior to onboarding to see if that specific store/team is a fit. I will pass along your input, for it is valuable information. Best wishes on your career!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sport Clips Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sport Clips? Share Your Experiences

    or