KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sports Basement

Is this your company?

Sports Basement

Add a Review

Sports Basement Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Aug 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 121 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sports Basement President Eric Prosnitz (no image)
Eric Prosnitz
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits including health insurance, time off, and event reimbursement(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great staff, great deals and fun/creative work environment from the GM to the floor staff(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some people have the mindset "minimum wage, minimum effort" but on the whole it doesn't take away from the experience of working there(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay for how much we hustled and level of technical skill required, roles felt not clearly defined at times(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sports Basement and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great work environment

      Aug 19, 2021 - Senior General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, great deals and fun/creative work environment from the GM to the floor staff. Lots of autonomy to do the right thing for customers and the freedom to execute on making that a reality.

      Cons

      Constant changes which can be frustrating for some people that love consistency in their day to day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Fun

      Mar 4, 2021 - Special Operations Manager in San Ramon, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun work environment, flexible schedules, free food, opportunity for growth.

      Cons

      Growth within the company can become stagnant at management levels.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A workplace that feels like family

      Jan 13, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive wages Family type work environment Fun products

      Cons

      I don’t have cons to share

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome company to grow with

      Dec 31, 2019 - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked at the Bryant St. Location and this place was a job I always think back to and smile. It allowed me to be creative in merchandising, talk to customers about products I love, and work with a great team of passionate and motivated people. when it was busy, time just flew by. the kitchen was fully stocked as well which was a huge bonus. Very casual work environment. Lots of employees grow there. They do a good job of promoting from within.

      Cons

      it's retail, so of course there are some downsides to the job but of all the retail stores to work, I think it is one of the better ones. When I was there in 2015 and earlier, right as the online store was being developed, some of the processes and projects were a bit unorganized. I imagine that this has improved though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Work Environment

      Jan 18, 2017 - Sales Associate in Walnut Creek, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, great coworkers, room to grow with company, great place for self-starters

      Cons

      Low pay, becoming a bit corporate, some upper management/department managers can be difficult, room to grow in title but not pay

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent Summer Job for young people

      Dec 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -friendly staff -includes lunch -dynamic work environment

      Cons

      -the pay was minimum wage, as expected for this job.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      fun, but not for long-term, and mostly for people who don't have ambitious and just want to do sports

      Feb 23, 2012 - Sales Associate in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun people, good discounts, easy work environment, free lunch food

      Cons

      not an ambitious job, gets old fast, long hours on your feet

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      good place to work

      May 14, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great benefits, fun work environment

      Cons

      poor management and planning of business operations

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It was good I enjoyed it although I felt like they didn’t interact me as much as I would’ve liked

      Mar 10, 2021 - Work Experience Student in Sheffield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being in a work environment helped me and made me feel like an adult, they was polite at all times

      Cons

      They didn’t let me interact as much as I would’ve liked and they didn’t really speak to me much so didn’t feel included

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sports Basement Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sports Basement? Share Your Experiences

    or