Sports Direct Reviews | Glassdoor

Sports Direct Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 810 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Sports Direct CEO Mike Ashley
Mike Ashley
206 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Due to having a zero hour contract having no hours in the winter because where I live is a seasonal town(in 102 reviews)

  • "Lack of hours on a 0 hour contract due to the hours always being cut(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sports Direct part-time

      Pros

      Good benefits and hours yup

      Cons

      Not sure was a great

      Sports Direct2019-02-04
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Account Manager 

        I have been working at Sports Direct full-time

        Pros

        Hours are Good night time

        Cons

        Time off could be increases

        Sports Direct2019-06-01
      • "Terrible and Messy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Sports Direct

        Pros

        Nothing to add as a pro to be honest

        Cons

        Check in system was to the second by fingerprint, if you were putting bag away and missed by one second you would be disciplined Less than minimum wage at times due to no breaks No organisation, boxes just chucked Zero hour contract, 30 hours one week, 0 next werk

        Sports Direct2018-06-29
      • "Good place to work for flexible hours"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Sports Direct part-time

          Pros

          Great colleagues, easy to commute, flexible hours, 20% discount mon-fri

          Cons

          Poor shift patterns, breaks not long enough ( e.g 20 minutes for a 7 hour shift)

          Advice to Management

          Extend break times

          Sports Direct2018-01-10
        • "Average"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Compensation and Benefits
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Sports Direct

          Pros

          Staff and manager but it depends on your location.

          Cons

          Little pay for the work which is done and sometimes have to stay after.

          Sports Direct2017-06-24
        • "Awesome"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Sports Direct

            Pros

            Great place to work at

            Cons

            Needs better management. Inter act with employee at all levels

            Sports Direct2016-03-03
          • "Good"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I worked at Sports Direct

              Pros

              Good management and will recommend this place

              Cons

              More training and the entire team is helpful when you need suport

              Sports Direct2016-03-01
            • "Not awful for a first job."

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Shoe Technician in Letchworth, AR
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook
              No opinion of CEO

              I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

              Pros

              Meet new people, can choose your own hours, 20% discounts!. The other staff here are very friendly and understanding, helpful if I don't know something. Managers bought us cakes after a particularly busy day!

              Cons

              Back to school and Christmas times are very busy and stressful and busy! Been doing the same job/task(s) for >1 year, getting bored now, only thing making it noticeably interesting is the variations of customers. We use radios to talk and often there aren't enough and people get into a queue to call the shoes which causes irritation with some customers.

              Advice to Management

              Make sure all packaging is in decent condition as its often unusable and falls apart. I've had many complaints about this. Some sort of new system for calling the shoes is required, the radios are somewhat inefficient.

              Sports Direct2015-09-29
            • "Retail Associate"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Current Employee - Retail Associate 
              Recommends
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for more than 3 years

              Pros

              Good basic wage, yearly wage increase, good holidays.

              Cons

              Poor culture at top-level, poor consumer policies leads to a lot of complaints.

              Sports Direct2019-07-11
            • "Sports direct"

              StarStarStarStarStar
                Former Employee - Customer Service 

                I worked at Sports Direct part-time

                Pros

                Good Staff, Easy work, decent money

                Cons

                Not many cons, you could be working over your allocated hours

                Sports Direct2019-07-04
              Found 810 reviews