Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation Reviews

Updated Oct 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation CEO Maureen Fonseca (no image)
Maureen Fonseca
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "If you are looking for full-time work and believe in the mission, there are other organizations out there that may be better options(in 3 reviews)

  • "Part-time no more than 30 hours(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Visual arts specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Arts Specialist in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had really well behaved elementary school students. They made it worth coming to work.

    Cons

    The time it takes to complete Lesson plans aren't paid. Short on resources

    Advice to Management

    Hsve recommended curriculm thsy supportd specialist.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-01-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    Great part time opportunity.

    Cons

    poor organization and structure

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-10-21
  3. "Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodside, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience with children Open to a lot of ideas

    Cons

    Every year the funding goes down your pay stays the same after you reach your maximum

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-09-18
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    If you love working with kids, this is perfect for you.

    Cons

    Very annoying about working under 25 hours per week.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-09-04
  5. "Summer Literacy Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    - given a curriculum to follow - nice staff - pretty easy job

    Cons

    - disorganized sometimes - materials did not arrive in time

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-07-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Camp Counselor in Far Rockaway, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Work with children, they truly brighten your day.

    Cons

    Too much money to lack resources for children. Literally withhold snack for children First Paycheck was really really late & last pay check was beyond late.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-07-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "OMG, just DON'T."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Site Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hourly rate, but don't for a minute think you'll actually be making that much $$.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? LOTS of unpaid work, on your own time, writing lesson plans if you're an activity specialist, entering attendance for each period and making schedules if you're a data specialist. If you're both, figure you'll make half of your hourly or less. NOT ENOUGH STAFF for the number of kids. The "Trip Training" is a joke. While I was there, 2 kids were left behind on trips from different schools. Police... had to be called to find one of them. All were eventually safe and sound but supervisors AND TRAINERS who should have lost their jobs did not. Summer session training is worse than a joke. DO NOT EAT THE LUNCH PROVIDED-- you will get food poisoning as many attendees did the summer I went. The main office staff is rude and unhelpful and think they rule the world. They absorb a lot of program money by buying themselves catered lunches. Take a look at the food expense on SASF's IRS-990 form to see what I mean. SASF execs clearly have friends in city govt or this organization couldn't survive. It is corrupt and rotten.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit, go forth, repent, and sin no more. If you ever start or work at another nonprofit, remember who it is you're supposed to be serving. Here's a clue-- IT ISN'T YOU.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-07-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Consistently Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Networking with different schools, administrators, and staff.

    Cons

    Jobs are always part-time and seasonal and hours are inconsistent. Communication was always lacking and rules and regulations changed like the wind.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-05-09
  9. "Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Part-time positions were available.

    Cons

    Kids can get out of hand Not enough full time positions

    Advice to Management

    Give group leaders more support and help, especially if they are new.

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-04-20
  10. "Great Place for Artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Artists are given an adequate pay and the flexibility they need to be dispensible enough to pursue their art careers. Work environment is good, and the pay is good for what we are doing.

    Cons

    Some sites may be less structured which can make teaching become difficult

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2018-04-04
Found 66 reviews