Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation Reviews

Updated 20 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation CEO Maureen Fonseca (no image)
Maureen Fonseca
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great flexibility!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader/Counselor in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sports and arts in schools foundation was a great place to work. I had such an amazing team. We all worked well together, which allowed us all to be productive. I enjoyed the flexibility, if I had to take the day off there was never a problem. Just as long as you notify the director in advance. I recommend this job to anyone who enjoys working with children. To anyone who wants to be a role model or a mentor to the students in city public schools, this is the job for you.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the salary, I wish the pay was more. It all depends on the position you are applying to.

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-07-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointed by Terrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility and practically no dress code.

    Cons

    Company culture is unprofessional; upper management is clueless of how to lead teams, salaries are low and based on favoritism. Good starter place to work, not for a real professional.

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-07-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Depends on the location i think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Tutor/Counselor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, alot of your experience depends on how seriously your manager takes the program. If they are too lax, it will be easy but a waste of money for tax payers. If you want to work in a career with children this was a good place to start.

    Cons

    seasonal position (though you may be asked to stay for the next session). For me i felt it was hard to get management to support me when i was enforcing the rules (again i think it depends on your manager)

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-07-13
  4. "Robotics Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Robotics Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    The staff onsite was helpful and flexible. I was impressed with how well my site director was conducting day to day operations. I was pretty much left to handle my own workload.

    Cons

    Full-time positions are hard to come by and the budget issues sometimes impeded with lesson forecasting

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-06-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "I hated this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    I have nothing positive to say. They demanded too much but gave so little

    Cons

    Managers are lazy and very unorganized

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-07-19
  6. "Leadership Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and the staff is supportive

    Cons

    To many budget cuts in a year

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-06-10
  7. "Accounting/Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    Great place to work for

    Cons

    its great place to work,

    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-05-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Pretty Disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Budget/Finance Analyst in Woodside, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    Even though management is factional & disorganized, there are some competent people. They do provide a much needed service. Not an awful place to work if you're in the main office.

    Cons

    Management is disorganized, doesn't care about employees opinions and seems to always be putting out fires. Each individual has an agenda that they don't reveal to others. People succeed by being loyal to a single upper person and always supporting them. Communication is haphazard. The HR department is a mess.

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-05-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Director in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation

    Pros

    The children are always in need if guidance and its nice to help.

    Cons

    Professionalism issues and unclear policies

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-05-11
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Worst Leadership experience I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    close to train. Some awesome and smart people that leave because of poor, unethical, and nonsensical management.

    Cons

    Need to reevaluate management structure- it makes no sense. Responsibilities and roles of staff need to be clearer, and when people begins their work, they should actually be doing the job they signed on for. Happens all tooooo often. FYI- Director of Programs and Regional Director are jobs that don't exist- they are fancy terms for Program Manager- Value staff that actually know what they are doing and not those that are blowing smile up your you know what- too much favoritism, it's ridiculous. so reactive, and not all proactive- follows the trends. This is all just headquarters. it's a shame, such a great mission and so much reach. I fear if they continue heading this way, they won't be around too much longer.

    Continue reading
    Sports & Arts In Schools Foundation2016-04-27
Found 66 reviews