SportsEngine Reviews | Glassdoor

SportsEngine Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Justin Kaufenberg
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Customer Success department is extremely behind other areas of the company in terms of compensation, area for advancement, as well as quality of life(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Competitive benefits Awesome work culture

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    SportsEngine2019-04-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, room for improvement in career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SportsEngine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work culture was awesome, and they employ great individuals. Had benefits which included medical/dental/vision insurance, discounts at Comcast, and perks through Universal that can't be matched. Justin, Carson, and Greg who founded the company are truly amazing individuals who really care about the work they're doing.

    Cons

    Compensation for my position, and similar positions was well below industry standard. The "competitive pay" that is advertised on the website is false. I had tried multiple times in my nearly six years there to apply for positions that I was more than qualified for, and was rejected for all of them. It didn't feel like anyone cared about how I could challenge myself (or others, for that matter), learn different skill...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take feedback and opinions from those who are underneath you. You should not be able to make a decision without getting knowledge from those who work first-hand with the customers/products, and actually know what they're doing. You have a great suite of products that could be above everything else in the industry if you took the time to properly release them with aforementioned feedback. Above everything else, help...

    Show More
    SportsEngine2019-02-08
  3. "Great place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture, people, location, benefits,

    Cons

    Sometimes having to work with a frustrating codebase or outdated framework/technology. We are improving this currently!

    SportsEngine2019-01-17
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SportsEngine

    Pros

    Great office. Fun environment. Flexible schedule and casual dress

    Cons

    Growing way too fast, NBC coming in and changing too much, management works in their own person best interest.

    SportsEngine2019-01-31
  5. "Great place to work but low wagews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Coach 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people that work here are super friendly!

    Cons

    Very low wages and not alot of company events.

    SportsEngine2019-01-25
  6. "Favorite Company So Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Industry-leader in a continually emerging market + Flexible work environment to help you stay engaged and productive + Awesome technology stack to help you succeed in your role + Passionate co-workers + Large product suite + Best perks and benefits I've seen

    Cons

    - LOTS of product baggage; not enough focus and resources to manage effectively - Internal needs often prioritized over customer needs - Sales-first company

    Advice to Management

    Continue the strong culture and traditions that make SportsEngine great! In this period of rapid growth, don't lose sight of why the company was founded and the problems we set out to solve.

    SportsEngine2018-12-12
  7. "Learning culture, fast paced, leading edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director of Engineering in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Expansive suite of technologies - A culture of learning, always encouraged to pick up new things - Focus on quality over quantity - Strong, stable leadership

    Cons

    - Focus during meetings can be tough but is always improving

    SportsEngine2018-11-13
  8. "Great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Work environment is collaborative. -The people I get to work with are smart and dynamic. -The company culture is unique and positive. -Opportunities/Advancement exist. -Many different domains to get experience in.

    Cons

    At times, it can be hard to keep everything in motion while all the parts are in flight.

    SportsEngine2018-11-13
  9. "Fun place to work with plenty of opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic people trying to make a difference in the lives of youth sport volunteers - Innovative thinking and tech - Growing market and business - Plenty of opportunities to learn new things and grow in your career - Fast paced work environment with a casual culture. - Very transparent leadership team. Monthly all team meetings to keep people in sync - You'll never get bored

    Cons

    - Rapid growth means rapid change. That can get bumpy

    Advice to Management

    Keep it going!

    SportsEngine2018-11-13
  10. "Staggering opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SportsEngine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Great people - Flexible work hours - The chance to work on something that actually helps kids, families, and volunteers - A culture of learning every day - Unlimited business opportunity - Terrific career growth - Lots of acquisitions means interesting product and engineering challenges in particular

    Cons

    - We have so many opportunities that focus can be challenging - We've made several acquisitions over the past few years, which means we have lots of systems to maintain and grow

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on our customers and our employees. Say no to more things.

    SportsEngine2018-11-07
Found 55 reviews