KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

SpotHero

Engaged Employer

SpotHero

Add a Review

SpotHero Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 of over 113 reviews

4.7
95%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
SpotHero Co-Founder and CEO Mark Lawrence (no image)
Mark Lawrence
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "company culture, people, and benefits(in 6 reviews)

  • "My co-workers are bright, hard working, dedicated, and kind(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "If you're looking for a 9-5 with weekends off then being a Customer Hero may not be for you(in 6 reviews)

  • "The only thing I can think of being a con for someone is if you're looking for a typical 9-5 job, this is not the place(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    530

    182 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Race Ethnicity

    This rating reflects the overall rating of SpotHero and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Rapidly growing! Great problems to solve with even greater humans!

      Sep 26, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome humans, interesting problems, innovative tech stack, and promising growth in the engineering organization

      Cons

      N/A - this company rocks!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Love that you find SpotHero’s growth promising and problem solving interesting! With our new 3-Year Strategic Plan we also see a lot of opportunities to innovate and add even more awesome humans who add to our culture. YOU ROCK! Thank you for the feedback! The People Team

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Supportive and Inclusive Place to Work

      Aug 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SpotHero is a company that truly lives out its values with a serious commitment to transparency in all of its business practices. The leadership team is made up of very thoughtful and considerate people who care about doing the right thing and making SpotHero a great place to work for every person. The rest of the company follows this lead and is incredibly supportive of one another both from a work and personal standpoint. People genuinely care about one another which became especially important working in a remote environment these past 18 months. Compensation and benefits is very good and the company has a strong focus on learning and development of the entire team, especially around financial literacy.

      Cons

      Hard to think of any downsides, but the fast-paced work requires an ability to be flexible and think on your feet to quickly problem solve. It's an incredibly fun place to work and collaborate, but it is not the place for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      SpotHero’s values are a big part of our culture and community, so thank you for recognizing that in your review. The senior leadership team, along with all employees at SpotHero, embrace our beliefs and values in the work that we do. We are focused on a human-centric work experience where everyone has access to an inclusive total rewards package, learning opportunities, and career growth, and we are happy to hear you are living that. SpotHero is a fast-growing company in an industry with interesting and challenging problems to solve - a great place to work for humans who are curious and enjoy collaborating on solutions while having fun. We are committed to transparency, diversity, equity, and inclusion and we’ll definitely continue these efforts across the organization. Thank you for all you do here at SpotHero and for being a part of our culture! The People Team

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun and fast paced!

      Mar 11, 2021 - Anonymous Title 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IMO: It's a super fun work environment, very fast-paced, flexible work atmosphere in the sense of live/work balance, the company supports travel + just living life to the best you can, lots amazing people, open-minded and progressive, developing groundbreaking tech for the parking industry, the company supports mind/life development outside of the job which is awesome, the CEO is a really cool guy who cares about life perspective, growth, and world knowledge which trickles down to other leaders in the company, the supply leadership team is especially awesome and very, very supportive. Overall an amazing place to work!

      Cons

      IMO: We're a bit distracted at times, moving too fast for our own good, creating new messes before we clean the existing piles, empathy between departments needs improvement, very Chicago-centric since that's where HQ is (which isn't a great thing), pay needs to increase for some folks, we're starting to get a bit top-heavy with lots of new VPs, directors, managers, etc just overseeing teams and not grinding to contribute to actual growth, we're also starting to act more and more like a large company which isn't always a great thing. I still love it here though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Your advice to tune in to small simplistic changes is super helpful, and small things can become big things if not addressed. We appreciate your balanced feedback and enthusiasm for SpotHero as one of our longer tenured team members. You must have experienced and impacted so many changes over your 5+ years, and it is encouraging to know you care enough to share where we need to improve, as well. Our North American presence is growing outside of Chicago, especially in Toronto. Hopefully, we can chat one day about how to keep the positive attributes of our start up years, as we grow, evolve and celebrate together. We are grateful for YOU! The People Team

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic upper management - avoid if you're in engineering

      Aug 20, 2021 - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great coworkers on the individual contributor level - Interesting problems to work on - Incredibly varied tech stack

      Cons

      - Sexism, sexual harassment, and bullying claims against upper management are swept under the rug - Multiple employees have left due to specific people in Engineering upper management and those people are still at the company - Several products weren't stable resulting in crushing on-call rotations. Management did not have interest in prioritizing fixing these products.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Thank you for acknowledging the great people that work here at SpotHero, as well as the interesting and cutting-edge problems that each and every one of us get to work on here. In terms of the tech stack, in most situations we don't dictate what software, technology, or application must be used to solve a problem - this gives engineers the ability to be creative when solving challenges. We try to strike a balance between innovation and consistency. Regarding on-call rotations, Engineering leadership is actively partnering with the People Team to recruit and hire more humans to join the team to support these initiatives and enable more capacity for the team, while prioritizing the products that the team is working on. Providing a safe, welcoming, and inclusive environment for all of our team members is our number one priority. We take employee allegations around sexism, sexual harassment, and bullying very seriously and, to that end, provide multiple ways to report any incidents or concerns in the workplace, including in an anonymous fashion. We have recently highlighted different ways of reporting incidents or concerns in the workplace in all-team-meeting announcements and company-wide emails. When we have learned of issues in the past, we have acted quickly to thoroughly investigate and institute corrective action where it is warranted. We are troubled by your allegations that some claims “are swept under the rug,” as we promptly investigate any and all claims that we are made aware of, and then take appropriate steps to resolve the situation. If you are up for it, the People Team would love to hear more about your comments. If not, we thank you for your feedback and for being a part of the team. We wish you the best in your future endeavors. The People Team

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      PMs have full autonomy/ownership of their product vision; org is still navigating growing pains

      Feb 22, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked in the Chicago tech space for 6 years and this is the first role I've had where I feel that our leadership team trusts & respects my perspective, that I have full autonomy over my work, and that I receive the support needed to execute on my product vision. - Strong culture of trust between Product & Engineering leadership; Product team is very intentional about setting product vision & proactively gathering feedback from engineers & business stakeholders alike - Product & Engineering Directors & VPs lead with trust & empathy; encourage managers to do the same - Lots of enthusiasm to build innovative solutions within the parking industry - Strong culture around continuous learning & skill development - Healthy work/life balance (especially during COVID-19); managers frequently checking in with their teammates and genuinely trying to help them navigate the pandemic & to prevent burnout

      Cons

      We still have work to do to improve diversity & inclusion in Product/Engineering, but the leadership team is providing transparency into recruiting initiatives. Cross-team/cross-squad collaboration can still be cumbersome, confusing, and opaque. Boundaries of ownership can become blurry very quickly, making it difficult for teams to know what is their responsibility. For a relatively small company, we are doing _a lot_. It can be difficult to keep up with all ongoing initiatives and to fully understand interdependencies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Trust, empathy, autonomy – really nice to hear these words about your experience with SpotHero! A word to describe where we can improve – simplify! Clarify! We definitely have a lot going on, and your feedback about the challenge to keep up with ongoing initiatives and to fully understand interdependencies is important to consider in future planning and communications. Diversity, equity, and inclusion are also key focuses in recruiting and beyond – and we appreciate hearing how important it is to you, too. Thanks for your open and honest feedback!! The People Team

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Enormously positive changes

      May 29, 2021 - Decline to State 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SpotHero is a great place to work. Any company's environment is largely shaped by the leadership style and SpotHero is no different. There have in the last few quarters been some key departures from and promotions and new hires onto the Executive team. Taken together, these have been incredibly strong moves for the company. The company's leadership is better aligned and more focused on a shared vision than ever before. SpotHero is back on track with rapid growth after a very temporary market slowdown caused by COVID. Added to that is more transparency and openness, a reinvigorated interest in developing people professionally, a reinvestment in D&I, a willingness to invest wisely in the areas of the company that most need it, and shrinking silos between teams. I've been here a minute and I've never been as excited for the future.

      Cons

      Working remotely during COVID has been generally well-supported. There haven't been many events for building relationships. What are some opportunities for people on different teams to socialize that will help build comradery between employees, many of whom have now never met in person? We've lost many of the benefits that were office-based. What can take their place? Our CEO and the rest of Exec has been doing a great job but could use additional face-time with employees. How can Execs get to know other teams' members?

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Your feedback is incredibly thoughtful and we appreciate your honest perspective. Mark, our CEO, and the leadership team are working hard to elevate the collective leadership impact at SpotHero – and their work is far from complete! We agree that the leadership team’s tone is vitally important in creating a safe and productive work environment. Some of the earlier Glassdoor reviews shared concerns about silos and communication across teams; it’s encouraging to see that we are making progress toward removing these barriers. Our upcoming All Team Week in mid-July will be a terrific opportunity to interact across teams and engage with leadership. Our schedule is designed to be inclusive with virtual and outdoor in-person options that promote equity, inclusion and support our culture. Your review is a great reminder of how important it is that leadership gets to know as many humans as possible, in and outside of their day-to-day work. We particularly appreciate your input about saying NO. As a relatively new People Team, we can relate to the balance of bringing forward historic organizational learning while also adding new initiatives, specifically in the areas of DEI and employee growth/development. In light of your review, we are bringing the equity feedback to our DEI taskforce. This cross-functional group of multiple departments and levels helps us understand how we can improve upon all aspects of DEI and enhance future planning. Thank you for being a part of the team and most of all, thank you for being YOU! The People Team

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Autonomy & Fulfillment

      Feb 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At SpotHero, you are hired to do what you're great at, and because of this, you're given the autonomy to get the work done. The teams & leadership encourage iterating on not just the product, but the processes as well. Product development works hard to focus on results, not specific projects. Time off is flexible, and SpotHero has really allowed individuals to take off time or flex hours as needed during the pandemic. I'm so grateful to be working at SpotHero. Additionally, the leadership team tends to lean towards a pretty transparent culture of constant Q&As with the leadership team as well as educating the team on financial literacy.

      Cons

      There isn't much room to move up at SpotHero in some areas. While the company overall has done a good job of allowing individuals to move departments, because it's stalled at growing the team out, it's hard to move up once you're a senior or above and try different leadership skills.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on our work environment – from autonomy to flexibility to transparency! These are certainly important cultural accelerants to align with our strategy and to drive results. We would love to hear more about your interest in growing your career in leadership, if you would like to reach out to our Chief People Officer. She loves getting to know everyones’ hopes, dreams and aspirations. LinkedIn Learning will also help us in building better opportunities to share leadership skill-building across teams over time. If one thing is also certain, SpotHero will continue to grow and evolve as a business, which creates new opportunities. We are grateful for YOU! The People Team

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company culture

      Aug 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice break areas and coffee machines with snacks. Good manager support. Good training.

      Cons

      People who make the most hourly wages are the first to be laid off despite excellent performances

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      We love to hear you have good manager support and training, and your in office experience is positive! SpotHero has not experienced any lay-offs in quite a while, and as a performance driven organization, we continue to take steps to ensure we promote an environment that supports our humans and the business to avoid lay-offs. Thank you for all your contributions during your time at SpotHero! The People Team

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work!

      Mar 14, 2021 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SpotHero is consistently trying to raise the bar and exceed expectations, strives for transparency and genuinely wants to do well by their employees. There is a lot of trust and I've experienced a lot of freedom in the roles that I've had. The company is constantly evolving which keeps the day to day fresh. I've felt like my career path has opened up since working at SpotHero and have always felt supported. The benefits are really great as well!

      Cons

      Parking never sleeps so there are instances where you might find yourself working outside of a normal 9-5 job, depending on the role. I've noticed strides recently but some of the business groups in the past have had a hard time committing to a decision and seeing it through.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      Trust, freedom and constant evolution are cornerstones of SpotHero’s supportive growth environment. Thank you for sharing your review, and including a shout out to our benefits. While we have a lot of flexibility, our value, “Giving Drivers the Right of Way” means that we go the extra mile to make sure our team members have an experience we’re proud of outside of the 9-5 environment. It is also great to hear that we are improving in our decision making loop, despite things moving fast.. It seems like you support progress over perfection, and we are grateful for YOU. The People Team

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Great Place To Work & Grow

      Feb 23, 2021 - Senior Level II Support Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Top-notch work-life balance - Helpful and encouraging teammates -An inclusive and supportive work culture especially with our diverse Employee Resource Groups. -Supportive and encouraging leadership that still holds everyone accountable -Outstanding internal IT Team -Growth in an individual's career is a top priority -Great focus on community-based initiatives via the Happy Heroes Team -Solid transparency between leadership and employees

      Cons

      -Lack of diversity in leadership roles across the company. There should be a strong focus in 2021 to correct this. -Uncertain about future products/projects post-COVID. I hope the company returns to a more robust customer-centric focus but I'm pretty doubtful.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SpotHero Response

      People Team

      We love your feedback about striving to create a diverse workforce that looks more like our customers! Thank you for writing a positive and balanced review with the spirit of how we can improve. As you point out, our ERGs (Employee Resource Groups) are working with leadership and the People Team to be more proactive in recruiting a diverse workforce with a focus on Engineering. We also have an employee referral incentive to help us in expanding our network. Check out our sprint reviews to find out more about future products, and be sure to ask your questions live or during our CEO AMAs – Ask Mark Anything. Congratulations on your 3+ year anniversary – and remember that we are here to serve you and your career development if you ever want to chat live. We appreciate YOU! The People Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 105 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SpotHero Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SpotHero? Share Your Experiences

    or