SpotOn Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SpotOn Co-Founder Zach Hyman (no image)
Zach Hyman
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "It feels good to know your boss has your back and you can call them anytime for any reason even now that we all work from home(in 8 reviews)

  • "Everyone in HQ share the same goals and are interested in helping our merchants(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "If I were a merchant, I would look elsewhere for a loyalty program(in 6 reviews)

  • "There is no genuine appreciation of hard work, favoritism is above everything(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (12)

    "Everybody cares!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Restaurant Solutions Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpotOn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Owners President leadership and fellow employees have your back. The best POS in class. Fabulous value proposition. 100% transparent. The rewards a huge!

    Cons

    You have to work hard. That's not a con but more of your own work ethic. Been here going on 3 years.. No con at all!

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    March 5, 2020President

    The comment is music to my ears - "Everyone Cares." It's true and it's real. Best, RJ

  2. "Solid COMPANY!!! Solid LEADERSHIP!!! HUGE OPPORTUNITY!!!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Area Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpotOn full-time

    Pros

    If you have the character, vision and drive you'll be highly successful at SpotOn. SpotOn pays you well and pays you fast. Opportunities to EARN advancement. The only limitations are self imposed.

    Cons

    SpotOn expects you to work hard, put in a full day's work, and to be accountable to your commitments... Some people can't handle these expectations.

    SpotOn Response

    July 8, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving this review. I agree with what you're saying - and we are continuously trying to put our team in the best position to be successful. Most will, some won't, but we'll keep pushing to make it as seamless as possible. Best, RJ

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic product, great people, and amazing sales leadership. The company truly puts its employees and customers first which is not something you see often in this space. Despite the current economic climate, SpotOn continues to add quality members to the team in all areas of the business. The unwavering commitment to success is a refreshing change from other organizations.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but start-up life is different. There aren't policies and procedures for every single thing that you may need. Sometimes you have to create the procedure. If you thrive in a fast-paced environment you will love this.

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    June 30, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving this post and I agree with you - things change quickly and we need people on our team who can help drive that change and create those processes. We're building and thrilled to do it with you. Best, RJ

  4. "Best Products on the Market"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products, best effective rates, great team atmosphere,

    Cons

    People aren't familiar with the products yet, lack of employee tools

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    June 18, 2020President

    Would love your input on what resources we should produce / provide. Let's chat - call me? Best, RJ

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Decent company with some cool products"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Partner in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere with good training videos

    Cons

    No salary or leads... fend for yourself

    SpotOn Response

    June 18, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving a note. I agree that - like most field sales - it's incredibly competitive. We're continuously working on ways to put our field sales team in the best position to succeed. Best, RJ

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "great company, great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Python Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpotOn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - useful and in-demand products, flexible to changing business needs (e.g. during covid) - enthusiastic colleagues, talented and fun, easy to "fit in" and learn - balanced and decisive management, clear communication and realism at all levels - beautiful west loop office, excellent transit access - big bump to benefits in 2020

    Cons

    - some growing pains to advance from startup and toward something more established (a good problem to have and they are taking the right approach -- for example, performance review for getting a raise just started)

    SpotOn Response

    June 1, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving the feedback - proud of the team we have. We'll continue to work through our growing pains as we continuously strive to make this a great place to work. Best, RJ

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Good opportunity for self driven entrepreneurs"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Partner in Charlotte, NC
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SpotOn was a great opportunity to build your career in customer engagement and merchant services. They gave you the opportunity to write your own paycheck having high commission rates. This is a job where you have to be self-motivated and ready to overcome challenges on your own. In return, you will highly be compensated. Unfortunately with Covid-19 I was let go. They did offer me an opportunity when everything goes back to normal.

    Cons

    Training could have been more hands-on.

    SpotOn Response

    May 8, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving this. Like you mentioned, initiative and entrepreneurial spirit seems to be a common thread among our sales team. We're constantly working on improving our training and hope you'll be impressed with the changes we've made if you decide to rejoin us in the future. Best, RJ

  8. Helpful (1)

    "They have your back"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s rare to work for a company and feel like it is your second home. Somehow spoton executives managed to hire the friendliest talent in the industry and I am grateful for my coworkers. It feels good to know your boss has your back and you can call them anytime for any reason even now that we all work from home. So THANK YOU!!

    Cons

    Communication to support personnel is sometimes wonky and it could use some improvements.

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    May 8, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving the note. You're right - we need to constantly be improving our communication. If you have any ideas, I'm all ears! Really proud to have you as part of the family we've built. Best, RJ

  9. Helpful (3)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, there are literally none.

    Cons

    Absolute worst “leadership”. Sales directors are all talk and set you up to fail. They don’t care about employees, no one helps you with any business questions! All the places I’ve seen use the product gets rid of it shortly after. That should speak for itself. The worst company I have ever worked for! Nothing but a BAD experience.

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    June 18, 2020President

    This is obviously disappointing to hear. Would you mind calling or emailing me (rj@spoton.com)? Best, RJ

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good company just not for me"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SpotOn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible really great commission checks upper management

    Cons

    lack of communication at times really poor commission checks

    Continue reading

    SpotOn Response

    May 8, 2020President

    Thanks for leaving this note - albeit that last sentence is concerning. Let me know? 1000% want to fix that - no one should feel that way. You highlight a great point though - arguably equal work goes into landing a large client as a small one...and your pay is directly correlated with the profit on the deal. Maximizing your time as it relates to generating profit is something we'll be sure to weave more into the training. You've got my number - please don't hesitate in ringing or emailing me if there's ever anything I can do to help you in the future. Best, RJ

Found 136 reviews