Spreadshirt Reviews | Glassdoor

Spreadshirt Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Spreadshirt CEO Philip Rooke
Philip Rooke
11 Ratings
  1. "Living the dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people! Most everyone gets along and works well together both the production team and admin. Everyone is willing to help each other out when needed! I have worked both in production and on the admin team and have enjoyed both in my 7 years with the company!

    Cons

    keeping everyone motivated during the busy season, but food definitely helps!

    Spreadshirt2017-11-28
  2. "Perks Don't Help When You Can't Pay The Bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of good things about Spreadshirt, but they lack in the most basic areas. PTO plan is generous, but most of it goes to padding your check due to lack of work. No money or time left for vacations. Benefits are good, but again, the cost eats up a good portion of your check when there are no hours. Lots of extras like free food days, games, events etc. The management team goes out of it's way to... create a good working environment. Casual dress code. Free coffee Staff is friendly

    Show More

    Cons

    I have worked for Spreadshirt for a number of years and I have just seen things go downhill fast. The CEO recently came and had a meeting with all of us and talked about how well the company is doing but that's is hard to listen to when there are no hours available for the employees. And that is the major issue. Production staff are important too, but it doesn't make you feel important when you can't pay your bills... and no one cares. Production associates are given hours based on the order volume. We are constantly told about the facilities numbers and asked to go faster and make improvements. This is fine but what they fail to recognize is that every time I go faster or we improve, my check goes down because there are no hours to work due to a low order volume. The order volume continues to go down and there is little relief for those of us who need hours to live. The pay is bad. It is not anything more than you can get at places around us. The company recently did a pay increase but that doesn't help me when there are no hours to get paid. To be fair, the company did give us an extra 16 hours of PTO but that only covers the lack of hours for a week or 2. Management does not seem to care that we are not able to pay our bills. They do not care that there are a lack of hours. They do not care that we will drive in for what we think will be an 8 hour shift only to be sent home after 3-4 hours. Many of the production staff have tried to speak to the managers about this issue and although they say they are trying to work on things nothing ever happens. I do not know if they have any control over things here since the company is owned by people in Germany. I don't know if they have any choice or can make decisions. It is sad because there is potential for this place to be great, like it was before. I have seen almost half of the staff let go in the last few years because of this issue and I am sure it will happen again. There is no relief in sight. This is the major issue for the company. If they could fix this it would be one of the best places to work. But it is hard when you go for weeks with no hours and then they will demand overtime because a big order comes in. Its just not right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reward your hard working staff. Don't expect them to live off of 25 hours a week of work. The production staff is very hard working and we want to make improvements. If the company would care about us we would care about them.

    Spreadshirt2018-02-01
  3. "Temp worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They work with your schedule and if you're willing to learn they're will to teach you.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment. Maybe an option for either a 1hr lunch or a 1- 30 and 2 -15s

    Spreadshirt2017-11-20
  4. "Great company, great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Casual atmosphere -"Fun" things for employees (donut days, events, food days, little gifts, things that don't have to be done but make you feel appreciated) -Benefits -Vacation -Flexible -Lovely co-workers

    Cons

    While there are cons (as there are to every workplace), I feel that that the pros really outweigh them, so there is no point in listing a few minor things.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keepin' on.

    Spreadshirt2017-08-18
  5. "Great Company - Great Facility!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment, great people!!!, a lot of vacation time and encouraged usage of vacation time, fun company parties and events, company lunches, seasonal, birthday, and anniversary gifts, travel, great management team and amazing Production Associates!!

    Cons

    Not a household name... yet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Now that Spreadshirt's sales and online presence is back on track, work is increasing and opening up new opportunities for the company to grow. Everyone is working really hard to take us to the next level and we are all in this together so trust the people that you have put in place, in that their decisions are thought-out, calculated, and sound. We are all pushing to get us to the... top. We all want to provide the best platform for self expression to our customers. We all want to spread our culture and our products.

    Show More
    Spreadshirt2017-08-16
  6. "Easy Going Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spreadshirt part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work is easy and the staff is laid back

    Cons

    It's not exciting work and your pay won't be very high.

    Spreadshirt2017-02-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "The Future is Bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time

    Pros

    A great company to work for if you enjoy empowering creative people and small businesses and entrepreneurs. The overall quality of print on demand has come a long way and Spreadshirt has been a leader of this movement since the very beginning. Overall my colleagues are fun and easy going in just about every department across the globe. HR is great and always planning nice things for the employees and are prompt to... listen to your needs and offer advice or guidance. Don't take the free fruit, donuts and coffee for granted!

    Show More

    Cons

    A few bad apples that have since been removed from the tree. Glad that HQ finally listened to the numerous complaints about the bad managers which were reflected in other reviews here as well. Change comes slow in large global companies, but they are listening.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward and building a positive team.

    Spreadshirt2016-08-05
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spreadshirt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job. I really appreciate that the company allows flexibility in your workday and offers PTO & great benefits. Spreadshirt has a great work life balance. My co-workers are easy to work with, and I feel supported by management. I'm enjoying learning new things and picking up new skills.The perks are awesome. Employee appreciation outings regularly, Donuts, bagels and fruit provided to us employees every... other week. They even celebrate quirky National/International Days like "International Tea Day" where they provide both a hot and iced tea. This has been my absolute favorite job, hands down.

    Show More

    Cons

    Spreadshirt is very proactive in keeping a positive & efficient work environment. Any "Con" doesn't stay a "Con" long enough to become an issue. The office doors are always open and there is always someone available to help if you are having an issue. Everything is handled in a timely & precise manner and that keeps everything running smoothly. The bad apples are weeded out and all issues are immediately and... appropriately resolved. It's an easy place to work. You just have to accurately do your job!

    Show More
    Spreadshirt2016-08-12
  9. "Awesome Teamwork FTW!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Greensburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spreadshirt for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun and relaxed atmosphere while still getting the work done! I enjoy my co-workers and all are willing to help where needed most, true teamwork, which in the end I feel benefits the customers most. Internally I've seen employees promoted quickly from intern or entry level to management or larger roles depending on the changing needs as the company grows. If you're a team player you can go far. We have nice... perks that include pay bonuses, many free lunches, relaxed dress code (because who likes ties???), employee discount code and annual events where they are more than generous. Beyond those regular perks, it's also nice to have friends and co-workers around the world.

    Show More

    Cons

    I guess the only downside I can think of is that since we are a big global company we all can't be together more often, but skype and technology helps. If you're not good at communicating or understanding different cultures, this probably isn't the best job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Stay on target! :) (Star Wars reference)

    Spreadshirt2016-08-09
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Had so much potential but they blew it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Spreadshirt for more than a year

    Pros

    I was able to meet some great people in Boston, Greensburg, and Leipzig. I learned a lot and credit it to the sales managers in Boston. I made incredible connections throughout the industry. I was listened to and encouraged to speak out.

    Cons

    The company got too comfortable in the past decade and now aren't able to keep up with their competitors. They'll be bankrupt by 2018. The VP and Director of Sales tried numerous times to wake up the execs in Germany but were not listened to. The problem wasn't that the SALES TEAM IN BOSTON was incompetent, it was that no one would listen to them and they had to play the hand they were dealt. The morale in the... office is depressing. Depressing enough that you can't get out of bed. They've had 3 rounds of layoffs since January and there are more to come. They just laid off the people with the most experience (their last hope) with clients, agencies, and connections. The disconnect between North America and Germany really sets the tone for the way the departments are divided. No one collaborates. No one helps each other. They still haven't figured out that the way you market to Europe will not translate to dollars in the US. Communication is bad. The engineers do whatever they want and don't tell the departments that actually deals with clients and customers about the changes. Developers whose jobs are to fix things when they break will refuse to fix a platform bug if they don't think it's critical. Their expertise is to fix things not to judge based off of their little knowledge of user experience. Production is a joke. Samples for Key Account always got messed up. Print quality is poor no matter how many tests are run. And, for some reason, QA doesn't catch print errors and sends apparel with HOLES in them out all the time. Saving the best for last- The HR department is what has ruined the years I've invested working at Spreadshirt. God forbid you're given more than 2 weeks notice that insurance is changing. They screw up people's paychecks EVERY TIME they change something so simple in the system. If you get a raise of bonus, it won't be paid out until at least a month later. For Christmas, they'll show you how much your contribution means to the company by sending you a tin can with a Capri Sun and old Halloween candy - Am I in Kindergarten? WORST OF ALL, they do not respond to you in a timely manner. Ever. You can Skype, call, email and CC God himself but you won't get an answer until it's too late.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Since you cleaned house in Boston, it's time to do the same in every other location/ department and start at the top. If not, freshen up your resume and LinkedIn profile. How will you stay open if you can't pay back investors?

    Spreadshirt2016-08-03
Found 32 reviews