Spredfast Reviews | Glassdoor

Spredfast Reviews

Updated September 26, 2018
153 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Spredfast President and CEO Rod Favaron
Rod Favaron
118 Ratings

153 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The reputation for good work/life balance is well deserved" (in 18 reviews)

  • "Good (but diminishing) perks like free lunch" (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Benefits are competitive but only lack is 401k matching" (in 15 reviews)

  • "The same growing pains of any relatively young software company" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "A unicorn of the Tech World: An actual well-rounded company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Fantastic Leadership that actually cares about their employees
    - Great culture flowing with positivity, collaboration, and a desire to set each other up for success
    - Leadership sets practical goals and takes ownership of their part in reaching those
    - Transparency is valued
    - Solid Product with a realistic roadmap
    - The perks (catered lunch Mon-Thurs, 24/7 access to parking garage, snacks, beer on tap, showers, easy access to lady Bird lake trail, etc.)
    - Plenty of opportunities to move up and around in the company

    Cons

    - Relatively slower evolution of Product Roadmap
    - Internal feedback channels for Product could be more formalized

    Advice to Management

    - Keep doing what you're doing.

    Spredfast Response

    Mar 12, 2018 – Talent Specialist

    Thank you for taking time to write this positive review! We appreciate your work and are happy to have you part of the team.


  2. "On Track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Company has depth to change without losing identity
    Experienced and engaged management
    Going to win the market
    Management receptive to positive changes to address issues
    Some of the best leaders I've ever worked with

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains but part of being in an emerging market
    Hard to understand which people grow with the company and which have hit their ceiling.
    Keep investing in your people development programs.
    Keep working on collaboration across the company

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate you listening and empowering people as they suggest real solutions to problems. Keep your ear to the ground.

    Spredfast Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – HR

    Thank you so much for the great feedback. I agree that we have amazing leaders and a consistent identity. And we will continue to keep investing in people development programs and collaboration... More

  3. "Good Ideas, Great Freedom, Execution a bit Lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Madison, WI
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spredfast full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Put responsibility on the employees and kept out of the way
    Good ideas on where to take certain products
    Good office in Austin
    Very intelligent people in some positions

    Cons

    Remote employees are neglected and forgotten
    Product and Development on an island and don't work well with other departments
    Integrations seemed random and poorly thought out while big ones neglected

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the customer facing departments for suggestions on the product and integrations more as those departments are not in touch with the market as they should be. And pay more attention to remote employees as they are often left out.


  4. "Cool Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Vice President in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spredfast full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really liked it....good team, great place.

    Cons

    Communication... it's like most growing companies. They could communicate better.

    Spredfast Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We wish you the very best!


  5. "Great place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Sales in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you have worked in software for any length of time you know it's simply hard work. Add the complexity of an emerging company in an emerging market and it's that much harder. As hard as the software business is, Spredfast has the best culture and people of any company I have ever been a part of. Take it from a voice of experience, it's not my first rodeo, I have done this for a long time and have been blessed to be a part of some pretty special companies and this one is at the top of the list. The product is the best it's ever been. The people up, down and across the company are the rock stars of the software industry. The CEO is one of the best on the planet.

    Cons

    If you are looking for the easy path, not ready to work and can't deal with complex people and complex markets I would probably look at the competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course!

    Spredfast Response

    Sep 4, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We are happy to hear the positive thoughts from your time at Spredfast so far.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Spredfast Future is Uncertain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Some great and very smart people to work with. Good work/life balance and flexibility. Depending on which department you're in, challenging problems to solve.

    Cons

    So far it had been a good ride as I have a great manager and team members. But now that Spredfast was acquired by Vista Equities the future is uncertain. Vista is well known for hiring young, inexperienced and therefore more "affordable" people so we'll have to see what the impact of the acquisition will be.

    Spredfast Response

    Sep 10, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! It's great that you've been with Spredfast for 3+ years, and I agree that we have wonderful people, teams, and problems to solve.

    With the announcement one... More


  7. "Great place to grow your career, and exciting industry to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Spredfast full-time

    Pros

    - Open office space and flexible working environment (referencing Austin). It's great not to have to be tied to your desk all day, and the open seating areas have beautiful views!
    - There is opportunity for career growth IF you are proactive. Those who talk to their managers about career goals and proactively take on projects to meet these goals are often promoted within their teams, or are able to move to different departments.
    - One of the best office environments I've worked in. Vibrant, supportive, and filled with sharp people.
    - Catered lunches by whole foods Mon-Thurs and lots of snacks in the office. You never have to worry about planning lunch for work! Both a time and money saver.
    - Flexible PTO and lots of autonomy to go about your work.

    Cons

    - Conference room scheduling can be difficult
    - There could be better transparency and top down communication regarding company direction

    Advice to Management

    Social media is a fast pace industry. But when it comes to internal processes/initiatives, make sure to slow down and take time to really evaluate them before roll outs. Continue to work on ways to foster inclusivity across all offices.

    Spredfast Response

    Aug 27, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive time at Spredfast! You shared some wonderful thoughts on opportunities to continue improving as a company. We will definitely... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Social Media Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Social Media Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great entry-level role at a fast-paced tech startup. You can move up quickly and advance your career if you really kick-a$$ and put your mind to it. Surrounded by super smart coworkers and Spredfast has a great reputation/relationships in the Austin area.

    Cons

    Competing against ~70 other people in the same role in order to be promoted. Some projects feel monotonous and tedious and customer service-y. Environment can be political at times.

    Spredfast Response

    Aug 6, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for feedback! I agree that we have amazing opportunities for growth to internal employees, and it can definitely be competitive. Be rest assured that we will always prioritize internal... More


  9. "Social Media Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spredfast full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Free lunch. Generally cool people throughout the company. Fun atmosphere. Good work/life balance at the entry level.

    Cons

    Don't let unlimited La Croix and meals Monday through Thursday pacify you, or outweigh the workplace politics. This team is full of drama which stems from leadership, and I would not advise working with them.

    Advice to Management

    Treat others the way you want to be treated.

    Spredfast Response

    Aug 20, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for providing the feedback! I agree that we have a great environment with wonderful people.

    It's disappointing to hear your feedback as a former employee. We encourage employees to... More


  10. "Great product and even better people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Sale Director - East in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Strategic Sale Director - East in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spredfast full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Competitive compensation
    - Direct management who adds value 365 days a year
    - A career path so from day one you know what’s next
    - Being part of a team where your opinion is requested in strategic decisions
    - A mentor who challenges you and teaches you how to think

    Cons

    - Keeping up with the product innovation
    - Free lunch only on Wednesday's in NYC when Austin employees get it 4 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Spredfast Response

    Jul 30, 2018 – HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We are glad to hear the positive thoughts from your time at Spredfast so far.


Showing 153 of 162 reviews
Reset Filters