KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Spring Venture Group

Engaged Employer

Spring Venture Group

Add a Review

Spring Venture Group Employee Reviews about "svg"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 249 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Spring Venture Group CEO Chris Giuliani
Chris Giuliani
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very fun work environment when I started(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great culture that gives you the tools to succeed day in and day out(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No real cons if you don't mind long hours some days(in 15 reviews)

  • "Nothing to add here, just really impressed with how SVG handled this situation(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "svg"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Going Remote Experience

      Mar 31, 2020 - Recruiter in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I just wanted to comment on how smoothly SVG employees made the transition from being on-site to remote in a matter of a few days. SVG, specifically the IT team, did an amazing job of helping all of our employees get things boxed up and helping troubleshoot during our first days of all working remotely. It really showed the level of pre-planning that leadership had been putting into the conversations around the pandemic and making sure we had a plan in place. This allowed us to, early on, make the safe and socially conscious decision of allowing our people to be work from home, while also ensuring that we remain successful in our jobs. So impressed and grateful to work for a company that cares!

      Cons

      Nothing to add here, just really impressed with how SVG handled this situation.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Misleading

      Jan 6, 2021 - Business Development Representative in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The office was nice and in a good location.

      Cons

      The pay is terrible. I barely made enough money to support myself, let alone if someone has a family to take care of. You were expected to work weekends which was not communicated during the hiring process. You are harassing seniors over the phone 90% of your day who have already received an inordinate amount of calls from SVG and never wanted a call in the first place. Management is constantly looking over your shoulder. The lunch "breaks" are a joke and god forbid you are one minute over your break. It's just a call center and BDR send leads up the sales agents who don't want to hear from you anyway. My mental health suffered during my employment here.

      6 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Deceptive, Unethical, Poorly Managed, No Sense of Direction

      Apr 17, 2020 - Operations in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Payroll is on time most of the time. If you obey commands, do exactly as they tell you (regardless if it is ethical or not) you can move up. OUR SALES LINE LITERALLY SHOWS UP AS A SCAM CALLER TO OUR CUSTOMERS. LET THAT SINK IN.

      Cons

      Our marketing team is literally scamming old people to have telemarketing calls. This company is a disaster from top to bottom. We hire anyone who can pass a background check for sales, even some really sketchy situations. Bonuses are often lied about or rarely given at all. SVG strives on paying people poorly and over working them. HR will say just about anything to get you in. But you cant blame them, they are struggling just like everyone else. SVG has destroyed their reputation among the job market in Kansas City so badly we had to open doors in several other states. This was their ONLY option for new talent to be willing to apply, because these other markets haven't been washed out. Being a young person in Kansas City, if you tell people you work for Spring Venture Group, THE FIRST THING PEOPLE DO is look at you like you are crazy and their reaction is normally something like: "oh yeah? how's that going for you?" or "I had a friend who worked there and only talked about how bad he/she hated their job?". The rumors are not false. Don't be mislead.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Big Mistake

      May 20, 2020 - Business Development Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers, relaxed dress code, department potlucks

      Cons

      The one star reviews are the reviews you need to read. All of the 5 star reviews have probably been bought just like SVG buys the information of seniors from Facebook and Google. This company is a sweat shop of a call center disguised by a “nice” building and fancy office furniture. There is no work/life balance. Expect to work 10 hour days and occasional weekends. 90% of the people hired in each training class are gone within 6 months. That is why this company is “hiring like crazy.” They can’t keep anyone on board. People are either worked to a breaking point or drowning themselves in debt trying to get by until Annual Enrollment Period starts in October. All new hires have to park down the street in a separate parking garage. You will walk a block to the building in an area of the city that is overrun with homeless people. Many times I walked up to the building and there was human feces on the front steps or people doing drugs in the alley. Working for this company put me in debt and killed my spirit just like it did for so many others. Don’t let that be you too.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wouldn't Recommend

      Apr 30, 2020 - Inside Sales Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You could make great money if you excel and the training is fantastic. Same with the office and people.

      Cons

      12 dollars an hour and quota has been exceedingly more difficult to attain. SVG hires by the boat load and so it feels like there's not enough leads to go around. The top agents seem to get leads hand fed to them everyday.You only get two 20 minutes breaks, if you go over by one minute it's unpaid and you have to make up the time. Also 45 hour weeks are required and most likely not enough to make a meaningful check.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Have never felt more valued at a company in my entire work history!

      Jul 12, 2019 - BDS/Licensed Agent in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedules, amazing company and leaders, tons of extra perks, amazing environment to work in, brilliant trainers and training courses and so much more.

      Cons

      Building elevators are sometimes slow. (This has nothing to do with SVG though)

      Continue reading
      23 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Please don't apply

      Feb 23, 2020 - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code. Events that managers host such happy hour.

      Cons

      I've never had more of a displeasure of working for a company. The interview process was a joke. They tell you in the interview that you're a broker and you're calling people to help sell them Medicare Supplement Insurance. The reality is that you're harassing people over the phone. The entire training process essentially designed to get you to over come objections from these elderly folks. I had managers in training tell me "if they are Medicare eligible sell them a supplement. Regardless of their situation. Convince them they need it and tell them how great it is. Strong arm them into the sale" when someone had a problem that you could potentially help with. My direct manager told me "that's not your problem just get back in the dialer and make calls" I did very well at SVG. In the seven months that I was employed at SVG. I believe I sold over 300 supplements. If you can morally handle strong arming old people into a sale for something they might actually not need, then this job is perfect for you. If you're just now getting employed by SVG. All I have to say is that I'm sorry. You've been deceived. You will call between 125-175 people per day. You will work at a minimum 45 hours a week. You will be talking to rude people all day long that are getting bombarded by phone calls and people trying to sell them Medicare insurance. This job is so mentally taxing that after I left SVG. I was put into a deep depression. Thinking about all the people I sold supplements too and basically prayed on their emotions to sell them insurance. Both my managers in training and once out of training said to me "find out if they are unhealthy and then use their illness to convince them why they need insurance" how messed up is that. Prey on these elderly sick people just so that the company and myself can earn a buck. They would tell us "this is guilt free sales because you're selling them a product they need" the reality was that I was sold on pushing a product that they possibly didn't need and inventing time constraints that didn't exist in order to push this insurance on elderly people. Like I said I did do well at SVG. The icing on top is when I find out that agents who started in 2018 are on a much better comp plan. We are literally selling the same product and have the same quota but they were paid substantially more money. So not only are sold by the company on how to lie and pressure elderly people but also you are paid significantly less for hitting the same numbers as tenured agents. I've been a sales professional for about six years and I've never worked for a company that it made it difficult to sleep at night. There turnover percentage is astronomical. They don't make that public information but Id bet money that SVG has higher turn over than McDonald's and walmart which statistically speaking those two companies have the highest turnover. The training class I was in Feb 2019. I'm pretty certain that there are 4 or 5 people left out of 30 people. For those of you that just started at SVG. There is going to be a new training class every month probably until about AUG and by next year more than 1/2 will have left the company. I've never worked for a company that doesn't value their employees to the extent of SVG. When I told my manager that I was leaving SVG she simply said "yeah okay it isn't for everyone I understand. Didn't even think twice about it" she simply didn't care because someone would just fill my seat. Such a terrible business model. SVG is a complete joke of a company and if you're thinking about applying please don't because it will be a terrible experience. Also side not. Directors and managers are all friends. Most of them went to college together and a lot of directors are dating managers. Talk about of conflict of interest much

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      I would not recommend working for this company.

      Nov 2, 2019 - Inside Sales Advisor in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed dress code, and nice building downtown.

      Cons

      -This place is a turn em and burn em sweat shop. I will say whoever thought of the business plan is an absolute genius. -They have about 300 salespeople currently and are planning on growing. -Commission increases based on policies sold (sounds great right). Here's the PROBLEM, you are told that quota is 29 polices. At every sales job your quota is viewed as your minimum attainment. At SVG your minimum attainment attainment is 12 policies. Let's call this the make it or break it point. Here's the formula, agent sells 12 policies = Revenue for SVG - base pay $10 per hour and commission paid to agent ($120 that's taxed at 38%) = SVG is still making money at this point -Quota is where you need to be to make half way decent money at SVG for agents that are new to the company it basically comes out to be about $2600 if you hit your target of Medicare supplement policies and ancillary target (dental, vision, hearing policies and critical illness policies). Now for agents who started before 2019 (2018, 2017, 2016 ect.). Those agents make about $3,400 at quota again if they hit all three metrics Medicare supplement, dental vision and hearing and critical illness. You heard me correctly. If you started in 2019, sorry bud you make less commission for selling the exact same amount of policies. Incredible. -Probably the biggest literal con with this company. Something that is very apparent and just down right genius from a financial perspective is that this company does not want you to be at quota. Let me explain, the more you sell the more you make per policy (btw the tenured agents per policy payout is also higher, so not only do they make more money at quota, they continue to make more money and it never evens out. Seems fair right?). Because of this commission structure it is extremely advantageous for SVG for the agents to not be at quota. Let me give you an example. Agent sells 10 polices = $100, agent sells 20 = $400 agent sells 29 policies = $2000. WAIT WHAT. Are we starting to understand the genius behind SVG's business model? Hire as many sales agents as possible (over 200 started in 2019 alone) pay them all $10 for a base salary and have them all call the same over saturated lead pool, that not only SVG is calling but about 40 other companies nation wide are calling. Are we starting to understand the problem? On paper it will look like you have the capability to make 70-80k. This is a fallacy. I've looked at the numbers company wide. About 45% of Agents hit quota. 50% do not hit quota. 5% surpass quota. -Let's talk a little bit about your schedule. You are expected to work 45 hrs per week minimum (Monday 10 hours, Tues. 9 hours, Wed 9 hours, Thursday 9 hours, Friday 8 hours). Oh did I mention one required Saturday per month if you're not at quota. You also technically get a one hour unpaid lunch break, it will be highly encouraged by your manager that if you are not pacing for quota to take at most a 20 minute lunch. Also if you are not successful your managers will just encourage you to work more. I had friends that were working upwards of 60 hours a week and still weren't hitting quota. -Let's talk about AEP (annual enrollment period for Medicare beneficiaries) this is a period of time that you are told is the most lucrative. Which granted most agents do make more money so that's actually one thing that is truthful. Required hours kicked up to 55 hours minimum per week and every Saturday is required. For those who don't know AEP is from (Oct. 15 to Dec 7th). Quota is also higher during this time of year and again if you are not hitting quota, then you simply will be told to work more hours. There are agents who work between 70-75 hours a week during AEP. -Let's talk about my favorite part THE LEADS. I cannot stress this enough. 99% of the time, the people you are calling do not remotely want to talk to you. They will cuss, they will yell. This job will teach you how to be rude to old people on the phone (which is a good quality to have right?). Also you will be calling between 100-150 people per day if you're lucky. There are agents who make between 265-325 dials per day. To answer your question, yes those 300 agents that work for the company are all calling the same leads and the leads cycle through the system until the lead answers the phone. Sometimes you get really lucky and you are the 5th or 6th person to call them that day and they answer and as you can imagine, they are extremely irritated. -This company will entice you during the interview, the building that is downtown is extremely nice and has a very impressive lobby. Their target audience for new hires are people straight out of college. They will tell you that the people you will call need your help, and that you are a broker that's there to help them compare their rates. I will tell you do not be fooled. Spring Venture Group is a call center through and through. -I would recommend to not apply to SVG. I had the grave misfortune of working there. I will also say I was one of the few who did very well at SVG. All the reasons listed above are just a few of the major reasons to not work at SVG. -Lastly this company will hire anyone who can speak into a phone and can be health and life insurance licensed. Especially if you are a sales professional, do not apply to this job. You're experience is not valued and you are better off working at any other sales job.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Positive, supportive, uplifting culture.

      May 10, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SVG has one of the most positive cultures I’ve ever worked in. They assist their employees in becoming the best each at each and every step, whether that’s staying in sales or moving to new positions in the company. SVG offers incredible training and education to make sure you are always at the top of your game.

      Cons

      SVG will bring out your mental toughness and some people might struggle with this.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The most honest review of SVG

      Mar 29, 2019 - Licensed Sales Agent in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Autonomy of the position. You can come and go as you please as long as you hit your hours for the day and week. Every sell you make is a win-win. You can actually be transparent when you sell. You get commission and the client gets something they already had at a much lower rate. Prospecting is easy as you just press a button and dial. The atmosphere is amazing and the location is very attractive. I made more money during Oct - Dec than I have ever during a three month stretch with any other sales organization I have been apart of. They do have seasonal positions, you work from Oct to Nov... That would actually be worth a look.

      Cons

      You have to work 7 days a week to make $$$. You have to win 53 times a month to get the kinda money they talk to you about. And then your client has to qualify health-wise, so every YES isn't a guaranteed sell. The company is relatively new and there are a ton of growing pains. Saying that to say that management is lacking in knowing how to actually manage. Work to life balance is non-existent you eat sleep and breathe SVG. The diversity is a joke. Everyone in management looks acts and thinks the same. Doesn't hurt if you went to Central Missouri cause their alumni is littered through management. If you are under 30 with no dependents, it's an awesome job. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there, just didn't enjoy the politics that come when you are an outspoken personality.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spring Venture Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Spring Venture Group? Share Your Experiences

    Spring Venture Group logo
    or