Springs Charter School Reviews | Glassdoor

Springs Charter School Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Springs Charter School CEO Kathleen Hermsmeyer (no image)
Kathleen Hermsmeyer
13 Ratings
  1. "Amazing school, Awesome kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A relaxed, fun working environment Open to changing curriculum if something isn't working A belief in children and a desire to empower them Great peers and fantastic principal I can really make a difference for kids here

    Cons

    The building needs storage and better playground The first year is hard because it's a different way to teach

    Advice to Management

    Keep believing in teachers and kids!

    Springs Charter School2019-02-28
  2. "Love the students, need more support from admin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academy Teacher in Corona, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Personalized learning, technology driven, family oriented

    Cons

    Lack of support and training

    Advice to Management

    Provide support to new teachers

    Springs Charter School2019-07-08
  3. "Some nice people, but overall disorganized and messy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule as a teacher compared to a traditional school.

    Cons

    The HR and payroll department are disorganized and make mistakes that employees have to pay for. They don't respond to employee concerns in a reasonable amount of time.

    Advice to Management

    Care more for your employees. On the surface it seems that Springs treats staff and teachers well, but pay, responses to employee concerns and feedback, etc. do not reflect that. Stop spending so much on silly "swag" items and events and ask your employees what they really need and want to succeed at their jobs and to feel valued.

    Springs Charter School2019-07-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Learning Center Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, great leadership, great students

    Cons

    hourly, locations vary, multiple diverse programs

    Springs Charter School2018-12-12
  5. "ACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Springs Charter School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * The children * Close knit community of families * Genuinely caring teachers

    Cons

    * Principal lacked leadership skills. * Discipline is non-existent among children who need it. * Lack of support for children with behavioral/developmental needs.

    Advice to Management

    It should not be an open secret that there are certain staff members that are "untouchable." Had high hopes for this school system and was quickly let down. RAN out of here with my child and other staff members in tow.

    Springs Charter School2018-12-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I Love Springs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive, flexible work environment that allows me to be the best I can be both at work and at home.

    Cons

    There is a busy season... I'm pretty sure it's all the time :P

    Springs Charter School2018-07-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "This Charter School is Doing Everything Right!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Springs Charter Schools cares deeply about their students and staff. I have never experienced a place of employment that goes above and beyond to care for its staff and make the academic achievement of students its a top priority. Springs offers so much more than many other schools including an annual conference created specifically for all of its staff with keynote speakers. Annual and regular development is also... continually planned for parents to ensure parents are educated in best practices for their children. Springs Charter Schools is an example for all charters on how to do charter schools right and an amazing place to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    Hmmm, a negative is required. There are so many positives it is hard to think about the negatives. We have grown quite a bit and this can mean some bumps but we have also spent an enormous amount of time solidifying our charters to make sure we are in compliance with every little detail that is required.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Springs Charter School2018-07-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Vision without a plan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LC Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Springs Charter School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had two hats at the school, worked at two different sites and some online work as a teacher. Creative freedom, get experience, good colleagues, community feel. Competitive part time pay. Fun courses. LC teachers receive stipend to supplement supplies.

    Cons

    Needs students in rooms for budget, will cater to students and parents wishes at the expense of having a quality education. Diplomas here are not as meaningful as at a traditional public school. Special ed department gets way more work than is reasonable, I saw job titles get changed to accommodate workloads for legal reasons and pay wasn't increased. Because I was two hats I ended up paying more in benefits because... it wasn't recognized that I should be getting full time benefits for quite awhile, I had to catch it and alert them. Higher ups regularly say that they're a "rubber meets the road" kind of institution and they plan on figuring things out "as they go" which amounts to a lot of stress, mismanagement and general lack of intelligent planning. Everyone expected to adapt to this culture of winging it. Good to have as backup, not good to have as primary strategy, especially for a school of this size. Many other teachers I spoke with felt threatened to put up with it or find another place to work. Higher ups have also referred to parents as customers and institution has been found guilty in court for nepotism and mismanagement of funds.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think ahead, give trial runs, plan the details, hold the standards high. We serve the higher purposes of educating the next generation, don't make profit/business/customers trump that.

    Springs Charter School2018-07-13
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Getting worse each year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Office in Temecula, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible, great co-workers, occasional opportunities to work at home

    Cons

    Horrible nepotism, management does not care, lots of favoritism, intelligence and work performance not rewarded but "sucking up" to management is. Also, the absolute WORST HR department I have ever experienced with incompetent staff who all seem to be related to each other. Too many staff in certain areas and not enough in others. Management there has seemingly never worked in the business world nor run a school... before. They are horrible planners.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to grow so much! You have lost what used to be a decent product - to provide students with a decent education. In your efforts to grow to be the biggest, your program no longer serves students but serves to enrich your "leaders". Also, nepotism is just plain ugly and you need to stop. Having 3 senior administrators related not only looks bad, but it's just plain wrong. Improve your horrible HR... department! Hire staff who are actually trained in HR and are competent in the field -- and staff who want to serve and stand up for employees. Currently, at least half of the department is related to each other!

    Show More
    Springs Charter School2018-07-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A High School Diploma Mill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Temecula, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Springs Charter School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility of job and schedule

    Cons

    PAY, management, benefits, workload, resources, SERIOUS nepotism

    Advice to Management

    It's truly admirable how you have successfully created a darn near perfect diploma mill by turning your teachers into salesmen. Eagle's Peak Charter School (the original charter) ended due to similar issues same folks... maybe some with different names but same problems on a larger scale. Special education at this school has become just another way of placating helicopter parents. Many have their children... assessed for services to modify assignments because, as homeschool parents, they are not knowledgeable in the subject areas that they need to teach. Homeschool and independent study teachers get paid per student. They placate parents to keep students. Some parents also need supporting documentation for social security or other benefits so soon after enrolling they start requesting services such as OT, Speech or adaptive PE but never plan to use them. These two factors generates huge amount of paperwork for special education teachers. The special education pay is salary so we are significantly over caseload due to an influx of students very soon after school starts. Once the parents get the IEP with the services they want. They leave. That's NOT how special education should work. The result is a mess. All the administration and school staff are concerned about are lawsuits. The parents are happy because they get their way but the students are not challenged. Students are given grades and a diploma that means very little. I realize there are some who can excel because they have drive but Springs can and should do much better. Pay your general education teachers so they can do their job without fear of losing students. It's a disservice to the kids.

    Show More
    Springs Charter School2018-07-14
Found 23 reviews