Sq1 Reviews | Glassdoor

Sq1 Reviews

Updated Apr 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Sq1 CEO Martin Reidy  (no image)
Martin Reidy
4 Ratings
  1. "Sq1 is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paid Media Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love Sq1. Great people. Great clients. Really fun agency perks. Great work/life balance. Management is attentive and engaged. Really smart people, if you are will to ask, people are willing to teach. Great PTO benefits. The Portland office is amazing!

    Cons

    Normal agency challenges, little to no middle management opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Hire less people and pay current staff more. Create more middle management opportunities.

    Sq12018-03-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    Great people, cool office, good location

    Cons

    can't keep clients. morale is low. Ansira is choking us.

    Sq12019-04-04
  3. Helpful (8)

    "0/10 would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People in PDX office are actually great. Dogs on Friday (shout out to Currie and Levi) PTO

    Cons

    Clients are leaving Employees are leaving Morale is in the tank Layoffs are coming This agency is in the middle of major change and IMO, it’s not being handled well. At all. If you are considering a role here, now is not a good time to join the company.

    Sq12019-01-31
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Management is Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    The people were generally awesome to work with.

    Cons

    Who is in charge? What the hell are they doing?

    Sq12019-01-25
  5. Helpful (8)

    "DON'T WORK AT SQ1 or ANSIRA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    While not talented, the people there are genuinely nice. You can also leave by 5 on most days.

    Cons

    I've seen this company hire talented people then watch them leave in a matter of months because they're not willing to deal with how bad this company is run. There's awful leadership at all levels with leaders that are completely tone-deaf to their employees. Very few talented people work there and the ones that are talented have either left or are leaving. The company also has the worst communication I've ever... encountered at a job, at all levels of the company, both client side and employee side. The biggest thing is that even if you would like to help fix any pain points and make things better (which I and many others have tried) it falls on deaf ears and nothing will change. They are also loosing clients left and right, rightfully so. The bottom line is that this is a company that puts making money at any cost first. They put making money before their employees, before making great work and before being socially responsible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the people who are not good at their jobs. Stop undervaluing your talent. Take a look at whether or not pleasing your shareholders is the most important value of your company.

    Sq12018-12-08
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Who's driving the bus???"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    We get to drink a lot during company hours.

    Cons

    Terrible clients, sexist management and drinking alcohol all the time is strongly encouraged.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on success and fun and not so much on creating a fake culture.

    Sq12018-08-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    - Great Culture - Awesome team of Employees - Fun Work Environment

    Cons

    - Poor Pay - Sub-Par Benefits

    Sq12017-10-10
  8. "I love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Media Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome clients, employees and working environment make working at Sq1 a joy. I love it here! This is a great company to work for!

    Cons

    I can't think of a bad thing to say about working for Sq1 so I'm just going to repeat the Pros: Awesome clients, employees and working environment make working at Sq1 a joy. I love it here! This is a great company to work for!

    Sq12017-08-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cutting-edge agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sq1 full-time

    Pros

    Culture Work/life balance Career growth Front line of digital advertising

    Cons

    Compensation Less than desirable benefits No continued education No profit sharing

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries to be competitive to market value

    Sq12017-02-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "warehouse manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Hyde Park, NY

    I worked at Sq1 part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is very flexible with your schedule for part time employees. Everyone is very friendly and the work environment is great

    Cons

    There are not very many cons. Working schedule varies during the seasons. The busiest part of the year are around the holidays, from Thanksgiving to New Years.

    Sq12016-08-29

    Sq1 Response

    September 15, 2016Partner

    Thank you for the kinds words, however, Sq1 does not have a warehouse (we are an ad agency), nor do we have a Hyde Park, NY location. Thanks for the thoughts though.

Found 41 reviews
</>Embed