Squar Milner Reviews | Glassdoor

Squar Milner Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Squar Milner CEO Steve Milner
Steve Milner
54 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "This is basically a good firm, let down by one of its departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squar Milner full-time

    Pros

    Has good learning experiences, I guess.

    Cons

    This is aimed at a specific group within the company. I am sure other offices and partners are probably better. Culture was very far from what I was told it would be like. Felt as if I was being bullied. Basically middle school. Management puts too much credibility on complaints from people who have their own agenda, instead of investigating and forming their own opinions. Huge turnover in employees serves as a guide...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some of the senior managers need to be re-trained in more modern work ethics.

    Squar Milner2017-11-12
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great firm to work for with pros and cons listed below."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good managers and some mad as with everywhere you work. Work hours are tough, but manageable during busy season.

    Cons

    Would like to see a much bigger increase in 401k match from 500 to several thousand. Would also like to see a much bigger increase in PTO time.

    Squar Milner2017-10-24
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Don't believe the fake reviews, this place is toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squar Milner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Above-market compensation, paid parking, lots of free food, access to partners, small-firm feel, annual firm trip. Management has asked people to post positive reviews so don't believe all fake reviews.

    Cons

    Tech is slow and old. No laptops = no remote work (for associates). 401k match is only $500 a year max if you're fully vested. Bonus is tied to chargeable hours only but there is not an even distribution of work and some offices do not have enough work for you to even hope to get the bonus. People here are miserable and moral is low. Tiny budgets = eat a lot of time.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of desktops, modern firms all use laptops. Purchase more Laserfiche licenses so people don't have issues accessing files. Offer better benefits (better dental, offer firm paid vision, better 401k match). If you're going to offer a bonus tied to chargeable hours, make sure everyone receives enough work to achieve this goal.

    Squar Milner2017-10-20

    Squar Milner Response

    November 2, 2017Principal

    Response from the Principal, Human Resources: We appreciate the acknowledgement of our above market compensation, paid benefits, management accessible culture, and the firm-sponsored annual trip. We have invested a lot to provide a workplace where our teammates are provided for in ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Mostly great, but sometimes partners hold prejudice against staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Squar Milner

      Pros

      Experience, opportunities, work with some partners that are very technical and have a ton of experience. Great start to career whether in public or not.

      Cons

      Some partners are too hands off. Some partners hold prejudice against staff even without working with them. Some don't review work papers and put their signature on there. Pay gets worst and worst with more partners sharing.

      Advice to Management

      Don't let partners hold prejudice against staff especially without working with them.

      Squar Milner2017-09-17
    • Helpful (3)

      "Fast Paced and Challenging"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The Company allows you to be in control of your own career path. Management is understanding and supportive which starts with the tone at the top. The Company is growing at a healthy rate which provides additional opportunity. There is also a reasonable work/life balance compared to the industry.

      Cons

      Nothing noted at this time

      Squar Milner2017-08-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Welcome to Squar Milner LLP"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Auditing Supervisor in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Open door policy culture, great work life balance, too many opportunities for employees, employee recognition, fun and friendly co-workers, overall a great place to work at.

      Cons

      Really there are none, except for the form needs to improve their 401k plan.

      Squar Milner2017-08-22
    • "Current Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Senior in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I have been with the company a little over two years and I can see how fast the company is growing and expending. The People are very friendly and professional. The annual trip after busy season is huge deal as you get to know people outside work field.

      Cons

      Work life balance which normal for public companies.

      Advice to Management

      Consider better 401K match

      Squar Milner2017-08-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people and staff. Good management that values their employees. They have a clear vision for the future.

      Cons

      No clear pathway to partner.

      Squar Milner2017-08-09
    • "Audit Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Audit As in Newport Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The firm is growing and rapidly expanding which creates a lot of opportunities for growth. The people are nice and everyone is willing to help. The firm culture embodies a work hard play hard attitude where you operate 100% when you're at work but when you're chilling you should be 100% chilling. Definitely a great firm to work at.

      Cons

      Like with any public accounting firm, work life balance is always going to be a con but when you are in the trenches with your friends it doesn't seem so bad!

      Advice to Management

      -Consider changing the VCA eligibility criteria -Better employee match

      Squar Milner2017-08-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "PAY"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Squar Milner full-time

      Pros

      Squar Milner can definitely compete in terms of their pay offers when compared to other nearby accounting firms.

      Cons

      Your group becomes your family. The attachment might become a problem if you ever decide to leave.

      Squar Milner2017-07-07

      Squar Milner Response

      November 2, 2017Principal

      Response from the Principal of Human Resources: We're pleased that you have developed strong relationships with your teammates and hope they provide the support and collegiality you desire in fulfilling your professional activities.

    Found 73 reviews