Squar Milner "busy season" Reviews | Glassdoor

Squar Milner Employee Reviews about "busy season"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Squar Milner CEO Steve Milner
Steve Milner
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paid firm trip, nice perks, great pay and excellent benefits package(in 15 reviews)

  • "The annual trip after busy season is huge deal as you get to know people outside work field(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance might not be the best(in 9 reviews)

  • "Also, busy season can get pretty hectic, so that's something you need to embrace when coming to the firm (but really, it's totally worth it)(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "busy season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Audit Senior at Squar Milner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Each year the company throws a Firm Trip around May for an after busy season celebration.

    Cons

    Since they’ve grown through mergers and acquisitions the company structure and support is shaky at best. Processes between different offices vary and nothing is standardized. The HR Manager/CFO hires her family and doesn’t take into consideration the actual people that will be affected as long as she “wins”. Management is money centered and expenses for reimbursement are constantly rejected. Company is stickler for “the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff and seniors and provide better support/solutions. Train employees thoroughly on systems and how to use resources.

    Squar Milner2019-06-11
  2. "Always Seeking to Improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, friendly culture, constantly improving processes and very open to younger generation.

    Cons

    Long hours during busy season but thats expected

    Advice to Management

    Tighten up processes that cause delays in decision making

    Squar Milner2019-05-08
  3. "Love my team!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Firm has approachable Partners that care about their team. Awesome busy season meals. My team rocks great friends! They offer great benefits. I pay 32 a paycheck for my health insurance thats cheap!

    Cons

    Its busy season and I'm tired of staring at my screen.

    Squar Milner2019-03-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great firm to work for with pros and cons listed below."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some good managers and some mad as with everywhere you work. Work hours are tough, but manageable during busy season.

    Cons

    Would like to see a much bigger increase in 401k match from 500 to several thousand. Would also like to see a much bigger increase in PTO time.

    Squar Milner2017-10-24
  5. "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been with the company a little over two years and I can see how fast the company is growing and expending. The People are very friendly and professional. The annual trip after busy season is huge deal as you get to know people outside work field.

    Cons

    Work life balance which normal for public companies.

    Advice to Management

    Consider better 401K match

    Squar Milner2017-08-18
  6. "Growing, dynamic, high potential firm..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Encino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid support from partners for career and business development. Very competitive pay structure. Encourage career and technical growth. Firm paid trip every year after busy season, good opportunity to meet peers.

    Cons

    Benefit package is somewhat limiting as to options and employer paid perks. Moderate turnover but that may be a millennial "thing". Software systems need to catch up with growth of firm. High growth firm still has the feel of multiple sole proprietors running their business versus a cohesive, inclusive firm. Still stuck on desktop computers for the majority of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to mold senior management into a greater awareness of delegation, mentoring and shared responsibility. Invest in new, greater technology.

    Squar Milner2017-06-08
  7. "Audit Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Staff in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Squar Milner for the past six months, I've been able to gain exposure to a variety of industries and work with partners, managers, and supervisors. The people here are very patient and create an environment encouraging learning. The mentor system implemented is well thought-out and organized to promote not only growth within the company but also outside. The firm is also actively listening to the employees,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only minor con would be the difficulty in obtaining the year-end bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging growth!

    Squar Milner2017-05-03
  8. "Excellent, Ethical Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Associate (Technical Writer) in Encino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Firm trip after every busy season. Great Benefits. Beautiful View (Encino office). Growth opportunities. The people are the BEST to work with. Totally fun, good-natured individuals.

    Cons

    The Encino office does not have a gym, yet the Los Angeles office does :( Also, busy season can get pretty hectic, so that's something you need to embrace when coming to the firm (but really, it's totally worth it).

    Advice to Management

    Can we have our snacks back at the Encino office?

    Squar Milner2017-04-27
  9. "Outstanding Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the middle of my first busy season and it's\, well, very busy! I was concerned that the realities of transitioning from the dynamics of recruiting would be vastly different than the realities of the workplace. It is different because of the accountability for your work and pressure to be efficient. What is also different and refreshing is the willingness of my supervisor to answer my questions and help me...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of the budgets tend to be tight and it's tough to complete the work within them.

    Advice to Management

    Analyze whether job budgets are realistic.

    Squar Milner2017-03-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Work Hard Play Harder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squar Milner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Where else can you receive an almost free trip at the end of busy season to locations such as New Orleans, Miami Beach, Puerta Vallarta and Cabo! Yes, we work hard but we play much harder!. And you can bring a guest at an additional expense. The Managing Partner/CEO is big on everyone getting to know people from the other offices and this annual trip is one of the forums where this is possible. Good work is recognized...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like with most companies there are the usual cons - politics, cliques, gossip. Onboarding needs improvement - too many gaps on how things are done/handled. No company match on 401k.

    Advice to Management

    Staff should be able to anonymously review their manager & department head across all department

    Squar Milner2015-05-26
Found 73 reviews