Square Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Account Executive

Square Account Executive Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
19 Ratings
  1. "Well rounded employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They care for employees, make incremental improvements to product and workplace really frequently. It's an easy sell.

    Cons

    Sometimes there is no clear path for progress

    Square2019-11-23
  2. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could be more competitive with pay

    Square2019-11-28
  3. "Great company culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Square has a great company culture - they really believe in creating a comfortable environment for their employees to thrive in. Great perks!

    Cons

    Pay is extremely low for industry standard

    Advice to Management

    You have to pay for talent!

    Square2019-09-05
  4. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of transparency across orgs, incredible brand, economic empowerment

    Cons

    Not a lot of career growth in offices outside of SF headquarters, base pay could be better

    Square2019-07-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Be on the right Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Excellent company mission - Truly smart people - Office in SF is amazing - Fun and hardworking environment

    Cons

    - Pay is quite a bit lower than AE roles at other companies, stock helps but pay is still lower than industry average - The team you are on is everything at Square. Some teams are amazing, have great culture and work as a whole unit. Others (like the one I was on) can be very passive aggressive, overly competitive, and downright unethical at times. - Company is not yet set up to grow at the pace it is growing. Square wants to move to mid-market and enterprise but both the product and people involved are not robust enough to make it a reality.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You want to double down on the US Market instead of going international, very foolish, others will soon capture the international market share, which is worth so much more than the US.

    Square2019-06-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Square is an Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Outstanding Product - Great Leadership - Wonderful Culture & People - Competitive Pay & Benefits

    Cons

    - Not Agile Enough - Not Focused on Building For Large Businesses

    Advice to Management

    - Focus More on Investing in Upmarket Businesses

    Square2018-01-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Working at Square"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, we treat each other like family. Square is committed to providing the training and guidance to grow as a professional. They take care of their employees, and everyone works towards the same goal, regardless of what team you're on. Working for Square isn't just rewarding, but fun too. I'm very glad I chose Square.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any - maybe that the STL office isn't as developed as SF...but the STL office is still very new. It will get there.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent.

    Square2017-10-14
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been working for Square for 11 months now, I started as a Business Development Rep and received my first promotion 8 months in. I love working for this company. They actually care about you as an individual and want you to grow in and out of the organization. We have weekly trainings, put on by members of our team to explore different technics and skills.

    Cons

    Like any sales job, you have to work hard. If your not willing to work hard - this job isn't for you and you wouldn't fit in with our culture.

    Square2017-06-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Square places a lot of emphasis on setting every one up for success. You're give all of the tools you need to achieve Square's goals for you.

    Cons

    In a desire to give each person what they need to achieve the office can sometimes have a distracting atmosphere. Its on you to focus but they offer a lot of different places within the office to work from.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to hire from within, it does a lot for morale and longevity of an employee when we know we can move up within the organization. I would also like to see a more racially diverse work force.

    Square2017-06-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office culture that isn't forced on you - open vacation policy - freedom to get work done without being micro-managed - opportunities for career growth and financial growth.

    Cons

    401k match is a bit lower than at past companies.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the momentum moving forward!

    Square2017-06-26
Found 20 reviews