Square Customer Success Advocate Reviews | Glassdoor

Square Customer Success Advocate Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
15%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
4 Ratings
  1. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, inclusive, benefits, growing company, organized

    Cons

    Since it's such a fast growing company things can get a bit messy

    Square2019-12-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not As Great As I'd Hoped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Lake St Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits from day one.

    Cons

    Low pay and bad hours to start.

    Square2020-01-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "If you're non-technical, this is not the company you think it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Golden handcuffs - free food, great benefits, 401(k) matching, etc. I never left work later than 6:30.

    Cons

    CS org was totally mismanaged. It was dissolved in NYC and SF. Internal mobility is a joke. In NYC office, teams are siloed and there's a palpable "pre-IPO" vs "post-IPO" employee split.

    Square2020-01-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Policy Ambiguity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *The initial culture was great. *Very freindly-on the surface. *Great (free) breakfast *Great Lunch *Spoils you with booze & snacks *A decent challenge *Promotions are given if you are in a clique *Decent pay, frequent raises. *Flexible PTO (although sometimes abused) *Generally a fun culture (when things are going good) *You can actually talk to the owner of the company from time to time *decent benefits *work at home option on bad weather days

    Show More

    Cons

    I generally loved the company in the beginning . Although, I learned that you are expendable. 55 employees were terminated over a mystery policy violation. I asked H.R. to show me proof of the allegations and they could not provide any proof. I'm still out of work, a year down the drain. Terminated without warning for something I wasn't even aware I did. Current employees are afraid to lose their jobs, and previous employees had to quickly find another job or remain unemployed. Essentially, it was a bait and switch. The company advertised flexibility and transparency. However, the employee is merely an expendable object.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be transparent and take ownership of failed systems instead of blaming it on the advocates. The way things were handled is shameful. Your morale will never be stable and the current employees don't trust you, but they do fear you .

    Square2019-12-30
  6. "Lots of perks, lots of pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate 

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice. Lots of food and great health coverage.

    Cons

    Constant emphasis on arbitrary and inaccurate metrics. Always changing procedures with poor communication between departments. Will terminate staff at will which creates a tense atmosphere where you feel expendable.

    Square2019-10-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Too many problems without clear accommodations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Accepting of all personality types. Lots of room for advancement.

    Cons

    The standards you're held will change without any compensation for the increased tasks. Constantly being graded on your ability to give bad news.

    Advice to Management

    Address your employees on what happens in their day to day instead of coming in to talk about grand ideas for the company. Employees are not your board members and, aren't interested in the new features you plan to implement. They want to know what is expected of them and, what concerns you have tried to mitigate before you make a decision.

    Square2019-09-16
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Lack of transparency and hypocrisy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, free breakfast and lunch every day, compared to other places, great place to work as a minority.

    Cons

    No transparency. At all. In the last two days, square (Cash App) has fired 55 people for reasons that they aren't even fully disclosing. They claim that these people were not following proper protocol, but none of these people knew that the protocol they were following was incorrect. As another advocate, I am unaware that what these advocates did wrong was wrong, as it has never in the past been made clear to us that this was wrong. Leadership, who turned a blind eye to alleged "rule breaking" is not being held accountable. None of us are even sure we have job security. At this point, the only thing that is clear is that though Square claims to be employee focused and to have our backs, it is like every other corporate company out there and views its employees as disposable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't make people feel like they're cared about when you're willing to fire them at the drop of a hat. Your hypocrisy speaks volumes. Fix yourself and then fix the people under your leadership. Fire the leads who aren't doing their jobs rather than the advocates who are their victims. The lack of humanity you have shown in the past two days, while pretending to be people-focused is disgusting. Shame on you.

    Square2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced work place with room to grow.

    Cons

    The industry is changes a lot so some department see a lot of work force changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job!

    Square2019-07-10
Found 8 reviews