Square Operations Reviews | Glassdoor

Square Operations Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "realistically, you can't really ask for or expect more from a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    surrounded by very smart people most of them are actually pretty nice and high quality individuals fantastic office with great perks

    Cons

    weird cult of personality around Jack Dorsey management can be hit or miss as many people are inexperienced many non technical roles have poorly defined career paths

    Advice to Management

    be real. people can handle it. i think

    Square2019-11-06
  2. "Fast paste"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst - Strategy and Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to experience the startup mindset of moving fast but also have the luxury to partner with lots of cross functional partners

    Cons

    Speed of execution is one of a key to success here imo

    Square2019-06-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Poor culture, bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good food, nice office space

    Cons

    Lack of career advancement, poor culture, bureaucracy, red tape, managers don't push direct reports

    Advice to Management

    Trust and invest in your staff. This company is going downhill, fast.

    Square2019-05-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Square is a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great perks, lots of freedom to experiment, tons of support if you are willing to ask for it.

    Cons

    The team I work on is not the most motivated.

    Square2019-03-18
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not much red tape. Lots of chances for advancement. Great environment, perks and coworkers.

    Cons

    pay seems a little less than expectations/company. Not much room to negotiate for higher wages.

    Square2019-02-02
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Need to have basic skill set on Analytics, Supply Management, and Logistics to perform the role on average."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - square stock has huge upside - folks are collaborative and friendly— it’s rare you’ll find people who won’t support you in projects - not a stressful environment so long as you hit your quarterly targets (which are achievable) - workload is manageable— once you’ve gotten to a point when your hours are shorter, that means you’re slated for a promotion

    Cons

    - given the scope of work, salary can be better compared to other competitors - career upside has a lot of potential only if you’re in a major market— if you handle square’s products remotely, don’t expect to get to a high level unless you’re willing to move around

    Square2018-09-28
  8. "Don't Make the Same Mistake I Did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Operations Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Square for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were nice for the most part and the office is close to public transportation.

    Cons

    I was scrambling for work after being laid off and a contract position at Square seemed like the lifeboat I was searching for. Sure the pay was lower than I was used to, but I could start next week and my manager assured me that countless of full-time employees had begun their time at Square as contractors. Taking this contract position was one of the biggest mistakes of my adult life. I have never felt so belittled and disrespected. In order to legally justify your lack of benefits, Square relegates contractors into a bizarre second-class citizenry. The lengths Square goes in the enforcement of this partitioning at times defied logic, much less any sort of professional etiquette. As a contractor you are not only forbidden from eating lunch in the cafeteria and attending the weekly company social hours - I wasn’t allowed to attend my own team’s meetings! One of the FTEs had to Slack me on a rundown of each meeting so that I could get the information I needed to do my job. If that wasn’t enough, the open-seating layout exacerbates the awkwardness of being excluded from so many events.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop using contractors! It's cruel and doesn't even save you much money in the end.

    Square2018-03-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment, intelligent and motivated colleagues, managers who genuinely listen to team feedback, excellent health and wellness benefits, food galore

    Cons

    Difficult to transfer between departments despite having an internal recruiter dedicated to promoting internal mobility. Other than that, not too many I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep out the good work but don’t overlook the talent that’s right in front of you when hiring

    Square2017-12-06
  10. "Great Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square for less than a year

    Pros

    Buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner. Large selection of snacks and drinks.

    Cons

    Way too many people, do not get to interact with everyone.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Square2017-08-07
  11. "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office is close-knitted even with growth. Incredibly smart people. Great parties. Good comp and benefits.

    Cons

    SF has much more visibility in work ownership.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Square2017-06-20
Found 18 reviews