Square Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
396 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance - leadership advocates for this pretty consistently(in 52 reviews)

  • "They offer great benefits for their employees while also helping them further in their career(in 29 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place I've ever worked - never leaving"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Company culture: the culture at Square is amazing and one of my favorite things about this company. People take the time to get to know others and constantly have check-ins with people across different departments. -Incredible employee benefits: great 401k, dental, health, vision, and other benefits you wouldn't even think of. I was shocked at everything offered -Mission of economic empowerment: everyone at Square works so hard in order to accomplish our mission of economic empowerment. The work we do is truly inspiring which I can't say about any other place I've worked. Our sellers are always thanking us for helping them which makes it that much better. -People: every team is different, but i love the people on my team. They're always willing to collaborate and work on different projects to get things done. Lots of brainstorming goes on -Leadership: across the board is great. every leadership member is such an expert in their space and willing to share their knowledge and be transparent with the entire company that you're constantly learning and understanding new things. they truly are people to look up to and who you aspire to be

    Cons

    Sometimes with such a large company, it can be hard to keep track of everything going on. Like any other large company, it can also be hard to move up - but that doesn't mean your salary and equity don't get increased every year.

    Square2020-05-22
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Loved my time there, but there were lots of growing pains"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resolution Desk Advocate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Food, Good benefits (health insurance, maternity/paternity leave of 4 months, commuter benefits, somewhat of a 401k match), flexible PTO, multiple office options to choose as homebase.

    Cons

    You could not negotiate salary if you were hired/promoted into another role/department. Rules and policy in my department changed constantly. PTO was hard to come by and was always a point of contention among those in Customer Success. Not all leads managed equally - someone might allow you to work from home, while another one would always deny it. Company culture is very cliquey... it was very hard to make friends.

    Square2020-05-12
  3. "Great place!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, leadership, benefits, lunches, people

    Cons

    Moving up is hard to come by.

    Square2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + Our purpose - economic empowerment, especially during the Covid pandemic, it's really amazing to see our teams build products to help our merchants during this hard time + Strong and inclusive culture - there are amazing communities built within SQ, and we have a humanity first approach. Generally humble and kind coworkers + Impressive Leadership + Innovative products and thinking across the board + Great work/life balance - leadership advocates for this pretty consistently

    Cons

    - Base is not competitive, but equity is

    Continue reading
    Square2020-04-30
  5. "Great company and honest mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Solid work/life balance -Company is passionate about its mission, generally great colleagues - Exec. leadership -Food!!

    Cons

    -Still start-up/ growing pains -Company dynamic is getting more corporate

    Continue reading
    Square2020-05-03
  6. "Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They had some very Good Coffee

    Cons

    They had some very Bad Creamer

    Continue reading
    Square2020-05-16
  7. "Amazing place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great company culture with an impactful mission -Opportunities for career growth -Genuinely value customer/employee feedback and make improvements accordingly -Great work life balance

    Cons

    -As with any fast growing company things can move slowly at times.

    Square2020-04-27
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The number one thing I love about working at Square is that our company's purpose, economic empowerment, is so front and center. Especially now, during the COVID-19 pandemic, watching the company rally together and find ways to help small businesses is really inspiring. Other pros: great work-life balance, great medical coverage, beautiful Oakland office, generally humble+amazing coworkers, humanity-first culture.

    Cons

    No dinner. COVID-19 is hurting our customers. Political echo-chamber.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-04-16
  9. "False promises"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Square builds impactful products that help small businesses and empower entrepreneurs.

    Cons

    Leadership claims to be transparent and care about employees but their actions say otherwise. They do not provide any of the perks they used to (have revoked the free meals and snacks we used to get and will not allow us to expense) and do not match up with what other companies provide. We get none of the bells and whistles that employees at other tech companies get. Just as the perks are drying up our leadership team is becoming untrustworthy. Last week Square made a "work from home forever" announcement that employees learned about in the news. I always thought Square was honest but when I asked my manager about working from home they told me that outside of COVID, they will require me to be in office full time even though my job qualifies. HR is no help. It is clear that they made this announcement to match Twitter but did not think it through or have any intention to enforce it. We had a company wide meeting where our leadership team said "I don't know". Why make the announcement then? Blind leading the blind at Square. Also they are clearly doing this to save money while pretending it is for all of us. I call BS.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-05-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company. Transiting into a bigger company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Values people. Builds tools for improvement. Values transparency and inclusion. Excellent benefits. Great growth. Values internal development. Cash app is growing immensely. Still has a lot to learn and develop internally, is open about that

    Cons

    You work on a computer mostly.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-29
Viewing 1 - 10 of 533 Reviews