Square Reviews | Glassdoor

Square Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
390 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible company. Transiting into a bigger company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Values people. Builds tools for improvement. Values transparency and inclusion. Excellent benefits. Great growth. Values internal development. Cash app is growing immensely. Still has a lot to learn and develop internally, is open about that

    Cons

    You work on a computer mostly.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-29
  2. "Great company despite growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Awesome benefits, perks, and competitive pay Supportive management

    Cons

    Becoming more corporate as the company grows

    Square2020-03-28
  3. "Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    Great company culture. Great pay! Very great perks to being a Square. Lunch reimbursement, snacks all day, and feedback driven culture. Great employee development and a come as you are motto.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-19
  4. "Worth Pursuing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch Provided / Flexible Scheduling / Interesting Work / Good Team Mates

    Cons

    Complex Problems / Changes Happen Rapidly / Industry Specific Knowledge is Vast

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-11
  5. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -the culture is non-hierarchical, friendly and eager -people believe in the mission -exciting growth trajectory -tons of transparency from the top -increasing flexibility around WFH and distributed workforce

    Cons

    -company is betting that equity will counterbalance mediocre cash salaries -growth can mean uncertain work life balance -turnover is getting higher since the stock price leveled out in 2019...but that’s not unheard of in tech -culture around advancement is weird. Levels are hidden, promotions un-announced, manager-given performance ratings generally a secret. I get that they’re promoting a non-aggressive environment but it makes personal development harder to measure and plan.

    Square2020-03-07
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great culture - (most) employees are amazing -they care their employees and work culture fosters growth (skills, mindset)

    Cons

    -a lot of things are broken and people are always scrambling. -office politics

    Square2020-02-28
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and health benefits

    Cons

    Difficult customers, staggered work schedule

    Square2020-02-12
  8. "10 Out of 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although I have just started with Square I have been so excited to be a part of this amazing team. The company really focuses on maintaining its great culture and helping empower their sellers. They offer great benefits for their employees while also helping them further in their career.

    Cons

    Have not been here long but none so far!

    Square2020-02-12
  9. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve never felt more appreciated, and been at a job where my work life balance was valued

    Cons

    None right now, I’m only a few months in though! 😉

    Square2020-02-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not to be dramatic, but Square has radically improved my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people. Lovely people to work with who are incredibly helpful. You often hear rhetoric at other companies like "we're /disrupting/ and changing the world", but at Square, you'll find that people are more humble about the mission of economic empowerment and people have full lives outside of Square. - Product ownership is huge here. I feel like I get to weigh in on decisions for product, and innovate on our products with new ideas. - Engineering excellence. I worked at startups before this, where engineering was haphazard and unfocused. Here you learn how to build incredibly performant, secure products that integrate with a global payments stack - Career ladder is well defined for software engineers. Clear paths for I.C.s vs management roles and my EM's have all been very receptive to my career goals. - Perks are amazing. Free lunch and breakfast everyday (I wish we still had free dinner) and lots of other freebies that are icing on the cake when picking a job. - It's in the best location in S.F., in mid-market. Incredibly close to Hayes Valley, the Mission, Alamo Square, etc.

    Cons

    - Tension between having an ecosystem of products that are all working towards their own goals, while needing to collaborate with other teams where roadmaps were not aligned between teams - Company feels less transparent as we get bigger - Honestly, I wish we still had the free dinner perk. It made it really easy to not have to cook on a weeknight if I was working late. Buuuut it was overall really great that they cancelled dinner service because I have a better work-life balance leaving work earlier instead of working later to get dinner.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-01-27
Found 521 reviews