KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Square

Is this your company?

Square

Add a Review

Square Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 808 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
552 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance is promised(in 55 reviews)

  • "They offer great benefits for their employees while also helping them further in their career(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 29 reviews)

  • "Work life balance during busy seasons/days(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Square and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 9, 2020 - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong engineering culture, great people, interesting work, great benefits

      Cons

      Tight deadlines at times, at organization level product focus shifts frequently

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Incredible company, poisonous people

      Dec 13, 2020 - Operations in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Incredible CEO that actually cares - great benefits, PTO if your team allows it - empowering mission - some wonderful people, depending on your team

      Cons

      - ill-equipped and self-serving managers (mine specifically pit teammates against one another, lied consistently, pushed his own failures onto his direct reports, took advantage of members dealing with mental health issues caused by himself and certain members of the team, made sexist and racist comments)

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Awesome company!

      Jan 23, 2021 - Senior Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing products and services, great benefits, and they treat all employees incredibly well

      Cons

      None at this time !

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      okay first job

      Jan 21, 2021 - Sales in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and decent pay

      Cons

      its a corporate business. Take that for what it is.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company , Great People . Really love this place

      Jan 25, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits (healthcare is paid 100%, stock program and stock awards, unlimited PTO, flexible WFH, breakfast & lunch, smoothie bar, omelette bar, etc) -Great people. I love the people that I work with. They are so passionate and inclusive. I've worked at companies before that were very cliquey and all based on title, this is definitely not how Square is -Mission driven. We have an overall mission of economic empowerment and transparency. I really feel our mission in our daily work and I feel like it adds so much value to the work we do. -Fun atmosphere, very collaborative, lots of opportunities to work cross functionally. -leadership is supportive of new projects and working with other teams / team members. -Great place to grow and learn. So many resources and people that want to help!

      Cons

      -Open work environment can be very distracting. I wish there was more of an office feel (I know that not many people would say that) -I think the pay may be on the lower end of big tech in SF. You really have to fight for your comp here and it can be frustrating. -Internally, the promotion/compensation process is not very transparent and it seems like if you don't fight tooth and nail and bring it up every week you'll get passed on and they don't promote people out of the regular promotion cycles very often.

      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      10 Out of 10

      Feb 12, 2020 - Customer Success Advocate in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although I have just started with Square I have been so excited to be a part of this amazing team. The company really focuses on maintaining its great culture and helping empower their sellers. They offer great benefits for their employees while also helping them further in their career.

      Cons

      Have not been here long but none so far!

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      It’s okay

      Jun 10, 2020 - Customer Service Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The money is great. Benefits.

      Cons

      Working so hard. Management. Life balance. Working so hard

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not What It Seems

      Apr 26, 2020 - Anonymous in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Good on-site food High growth company, with plenty of opportunities

      Cons

      Lack of employee development Toxic culture (backstabbing, etc.) has me regretting my choice to join Square a year ago High employee turnover as a result of the above (was not aware of this when I joined)

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If you're non-technical, this is not the company you think it is

      Jan 7, 2020 - Customer Success Advocate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Golden handcuffs - free food, great benefits, 401(k) matching, etc. I never left work later than 6:30.

      Cons

      CS org was totally mismanaged. It was dissolved in NYC and SF. Internal mobility is a joke. In NYC office, teams are siloed and there's a palpable "pre-IPO" vs "post-IPO" employee split.

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great at first.

      Mar 4, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work-life balance in some positions. Great benefits and events.

      Cons

      Absolute lack of leadership ownership.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Square Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Square? Share Your Experiences

    or