Square "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Square Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
398 Ratings
Pros
  • "High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers(in 45 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission driven. Good people. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not enough focus on building new products and expanding internationally.

    Square2019-11-12
  2. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could be more competitive with pay

    Square2019-11-28
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits. Support from management and awesome work-life balance.

    Cons

    Monotonous work and they constantly move the ball on expectations.

    Square2019-10-08
  4. "Square Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    phones and schedule as well as work life balance

    Advice to Management

    n/A

    Square2019-09-12
  5. "One of the best recruiting teams I've ever worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Tons of collaboration and support for one another with a focus on doing the right thing rather than just trying to fluff your hiring numbers. Generally really great hiring managers who really care about being involved with the hiring process from sourcing all the way to closing. There's definitely some stand out hiring managers and some more apathetic ones, but our overall recruiting model rewards managers who are... more involved. As Square has grown we've needed to adapt and change our interview processes for specialized skill-sets and there's been more support for these kinds of changes than there has been blockers (across engineering and talent). High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers.

    Show More

    Cons

    As we've grown so rapidly, there's definitely a lot of things that are being done reactively and so there's a bit of pain in dealing with broken things as they are getting fixed. ie how often our comp bands get updated (this is gotten better!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the teams and even though there's an endless amount of things to fix, find opportunities to be proactive on future problems.

    Square2019-08-28
  6. "all in all still one of the better ones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fantastic industry and engineering challenges. stock is flying high. work life balance

    Cons

    way too many reorg-s. Not everyone is pulling their weight.

    Advice to Management

    As competitors are closing on, remain focused on accelerating growth!

    Square2019-08-04
  7. "Great Culture and Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best people you will meet Company mission is great Meaningful work

    Cons

    Work life balance is rough as there is a lot to do

    Advice to Management

    Continue to groom your long term employees

    Square2019-06-10
  8. "Good growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Product Design Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good income, decent work life balance, experienced team

    Cons

    Deviation from mission, lots of travel, flat org with low room for mobility

    Square2019-05-31
  9. "Strat BDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    autonomy, exposure to interesting speakers, great benefits, work/life balance

    Cons

    difficult path for career growth as an entry-level person

    Square2019-05-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-Life Balance, Culture, Benefits, Opportunity

    Cons

    Compensation does not always align with feedback, low focus on performance based compensation

    Advice to Management

    Hold on to the good people

    Square2019-04-13
Found 62 reviews