Square "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Square Reviews

Updated Jan 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
403 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Going strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been at Square for nearly 4 years. In that time, I've seen an incredible amount of change, maturing, and growth – and all the while, it's been wonderful to see the company prioritize the things that make it a great place to work – focus on our sellers and economic empowerment, transparency, and collaboration. The executive team is unparalleled in the valley. Beyond being leaders in their respective fields, they are incredibly accessible, passionate people. And beyond the executive level, I have the good fortune to work with some of the smartest people I've met.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some room for improvement in work / life balance as the employee population continues to mature, but I see Square thinking about this (4-month maternity / paternity benefit, flexible vacation policy, adoption benefits, etc.).

    Advice to Management

    Keep it real. Don't be afraid to acknowledge where we've failed and what we've learned from it.

    Square2016-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers. Everyone is passionate about technology and makes a point to follow best practices. Leadership truly cares about employees and customers. Compensation is excellent. The work environment is fun and exciting without being all-consuming and punishing - the work/life balance is very good. The company likes trying out new technologies. Even entry-level employees can make a huge impact and have real agency over what they do. There is a great amount of horizontal mobility (even between completely different fields of work), and vertical mobility is very straightforward and satisfactory.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working outside of the company headquarters means being a bit behind on internal company news at times.

    Square2016-02-18
  3. "Good people and fulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance compared to other tech companies, caring management.

    Cons

    Limited ability to move within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Make explicit opportunities for career growth for employees.

    Square2016-02-09
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    I've been at Square for several months and I have to say that it a great place to work. I was worried that 'Unlimited Vacation' meant no vacation, but they truly believe in work-life balance. Before I applied, I had read some bad reviews on Quora about management and hours, however those are from 2012 when the company was expanding quickly and dealing with growing pains. Since then, they've really addressed those issues and made vast improvements. A lot of smart people here doing big things. Surprised by the level of transparency and trust in employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    To be honest, the only thing I would like to see is 401k matching. Besides that, the perks and pay are amazing. Excited to see whats next for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the improvements.

    Square2015-08-09
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely benefits and room to grow in the company. The work life balance is on point and it's great knowing if life happens, someone's always there to cover for me.

    Cons

    Too much good food and snacks. I've gained weight since being hired here!

    Advice to Management

    thanks for the solid effort. You are all doing a great job. The producers are awesome and they take care of everything. Just so I could focus on the task at hand.

    Square2015-03-18
  6. Helpful (5)

    "So much transparency you won't even know what to do with it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Disputes Support Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    - Possibly the most beautiful office in all of SF - Extremely casual work environment - Everyone you work with is intelligent, nice, and all working to make Square the best company in the world - Since every employee has stock options, you truly feel like an owner of the company - Unlimited PTO is awesome - if you want to take a trip, great, just let your team know and work it out ahead of time. No counting days or hours - FOOD

    Show More

    Cons

    - Some people's work-life balance is not great, and while you have the freedom to work the hours you want it certainly feels weird leaving at 5:30 when some people stay hours later than that - Growth in some areas of the company just hasn't been worked out yet. It's important to know a roadmap or at least options for your role, and I'm not sure Square does the best job at communicating that

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose sight of who we are as we grow!

    Square2015-02-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "A fast-paced company supported by a group of highly intelligent people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clear guidance from immediate supervisors - Clear guidance from upper management - Great perks

    Cons

    - Not a lot of work/life balance - Opportunity for growth limited - Entitled, young professionals

    Square2015-02-08
  8. Helpful (26)

    "Not the startup you think it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    Most coworkers have wonderful personalities outside of work and are always willing to help. On site benefits such as food, massages, coffee bar, boba Guys and off-site company events are also nice.

    Cons

    The problem of no work/life balance is brought up every quarter with the promise of change but this has yet to be directly addressed. Other than senior management saying that everyone works hard so deal with it. Square is a young company that grew quickly and still has the start-up mentality of long hours and low compensation due to stock options. The reality is that Square is no longer a start up but is now a mid-size corporation that is still relying on the 'you should be grateful to even work at a company like this' thought on retaining employees. The flat organizational structure in Finance has inhibited growth for senior employees. I have witnessed many new employees get the 'bait and switch' of jobs they have applied for compared to the actual work they are doing. The team is amazing and has some great personalities but it is draining to work with so many people that are so unhappy with their job.

    Show More
    Square2015-01-04
  9. "Software Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From a software engineer point of view, you get the opportunity to work and learn lots of different software stacks. Backend services are usually either in Java or Go. The frontend is written in Ruby and Javascript based frameworks. We also have a handful of Android and iOS apps. Whether you want to focus on one area or contribute to project across the board, Square is a great place to work! My peers are amazingly talented. I think I have a good work-life balance. We also have a culture of pair-coding, which I think is great. It prevents procrastination, encourages the exchange of skills, and helps ensure more than one person is really familiar with the codebase. You can read more about Square Engineering: http://corner.squareup.com

    Show More

    Cons

    Square is still a rapidly growing company which comes with pros and cons.

    Square2014-10-27
  10. "Strong Mission and transparent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is an extremely high bar for hiring so everyone you work with is extremely intelligent and fun to be around, making you want to come to work every day. We have an all hands every Friday and encourage information sharing throughout the company so you always know what's going on outside of your team. The mission of the company is something everyone is genuinely passionate about. I have awesome work life balance - management is concerned about the quality of my work, not the number of hours I'm in the office. The office is beautiful and the perks are great as well!

    Show More

    Cons

    Having worked here for the past few years, we've had some growing pains trying to get the correct leadership in place. We're now finally in a solid place with our executive team.

    Square2014-10-14
Found 63 reviews