KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Squarespace

Engaged Employer

Squarespace

Add a Review

Squarespace Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 268 of over 284 reviews

4.0
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Squarespace Founder and CEO Anthony Casalena
Anthony Casalena
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "Squarespace does care a lot about about it's employees and you get a lot of cool perks like catered lunch (this does come out of your salary, however(in 26 reviews)

  • "Good Healthcare, 401K match, competitive pay, free lunch and snacks(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "They use old systems for customer operations that conflict with the mental health and efficiency of advisors(in 11 reviews)

  • "I'm no longer in live chat, but(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Squarespace

    Join the conversation on

    Designers

    1m

    works at 

    Mini-Circuits

    Hi Creatives! mp4 help! I'm trying to put an animation that is within a mockup on my portfolio site. Animation was created in Adobe XD then placed within a phone mockup in photoshop by using video timeline. Exported as "Render Video" and works perfectly fine when playing. My portfolio is on Squarespace, which doesn't support direct upload of mp4, I attempted to embed the javascript code, which doesn't look great. When adding an mp4 to a site what is the best way that you all have found?

    16

    11 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Squarespace and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Wow

      Aug 31, 2021 - Team Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, loved working there

      Cons

      Too few snacks in general, More Snacks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work but more structure needed

      Sep 13, 2021 - Media Strategist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing PTO policy and benefits. You pay no healthcare premiums and people truly use their unlimited time off.

      Cons

      The marketing team is entirely too beholden to Creative, and this often leads to mis-alignment and non-successful marketing campaigns. The company is growing too large too fast and there needs to be more alignment across leveling, team functions and cross functional work.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Company in Growth-mode

      Aug 10, 2021 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So much room to make things better and establish long term process. If you are smart and solutions oriented with a positive attitude and a lack of ego, Squarespace is an ideal place to work. For me, it's a place I plan to stay for many years to come.

      Cons

      With being in growth mode and transforming into a mature company, a lot of things are being built, improved upon, or solved. That is par for the course but building and problem solving isn't for everyone. Some people seem to be stuck in identifying problems or gaps only without offering suggestions or solutions which isn't helpful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      What you expect out of a cushy unicorn, but with probably less pay

      May 2, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They treat engineers humanely with PTO, benefits, work culture.

      Cons

      The pay was underwhelming, the broader vision of the company was too risk-averse. For example, they'd release a feature they've been building for 3 years only to roll it back from bad feedback. The literal opposite of "move fast and break things." Slow release cycles, no deadlines (which was good for the employee but bad for the growth of the company), and most projects were superfluous, pointless optimizations whose value / engineering time and effort ratio were not high enough to be justified, though that's what I genuinely believe about most software being developed. I worked in the Commerce group, and it inevitably felt like fighting a losing, understaffed war against a massive, matured super-enemy known as Shopify. Another thing is, and I've read at least one other reviewer on here that had a similar experience, I felt incredibly lonely. I didn't connect with anyone in my team on a personal level, or at all in the company. There were groups of younger people who appeared to be friends, but I never felt an ounce of effort to be included. I spent 16 months essentially working by myself on siloed projects that affected no one externally, and nobody cared about in the company. It was really sisyphean. But maybe it's like this for most tech jobs, I wouldn't know, it was my first fulltime one.

      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great growing company!

      Aug 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee-focused company where you can grow and share your own ideas.

      Cons

      None I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Kind teammates, Varied Managers

      Aug 5, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Squarespace has a fundamental engineering culture of helping each other. Questions are never an imposition and folks are really dedicated to helping each other learn. Also Squarespace is one of the few bigger tech companies where our work doesn't feel actively evil? We don't track people all over the internet or suck them down misinformation rabbit holes. Work-Life Balance is actually encouraged. Even from upper management. People use their Unlimited PTO and if you don't your manager might reach out and encourage you to take a vacation. There's little to no crunch here. Everyone signs in around 10 and dips around 6 but you can shift your hours based on your personal prefs, child care needs, what have you. I haven't heard of anyone getting micromanaged in their work. As long as you get your work done and show up to meetings you can shape your time however you need to.

      Cons

      There are a few managers that have known reputations for undervaluing the accomplishments of their reports, low-balling their raises and refusing to promote folks even when their senior teammates believe the promotion is deserved. I've been fortunate enough not to have such a manager myself, but the employees of those managers are constantly trying to switch teams or quit. Despite that pattern, all of those managers have been at the company for several years. If you're considering joining SQSP, make sure you talk to the folks you'll be reporting to, both the Team Lead _and_ the Engineering Manager. There isn't much team switching here and folks tend to stay here longer than the usual 1.5 - 2 years, so if you like your manager they'll probably stick around. You could have a great work environment. But I wouldn't walk in with my eyes closed. Also Squarespace is a bit slower to update COVID guidance than other tech companies. We tend to follow what the FAANG companies are doing, but management will announce the changes several weeks afterwards. I've honestly started just making plans based on whatever policy a FAANG company announces in the news. Oh except anything that requires doling out funds to employees. Squarespace is _stingy_ in comparison to other companies when it comes to things like paying for a WFH setup or compensating for the expenses we didn't have before, like increased utilities and groceries. You can get things like a monitor or a desk chair, but they tend to be pretty low quality. Many of the folks I know ended up just shelling out for their own.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Experience heavily depends on department

      Sep 1, 2021 - Community Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Benefits -Lots of passionate people -Constantly growing and hiring -Emphasis on professional development

      Cons

      -Very poor communication between teams (no formal internal communication policy) causes confusion and bugs when product updates are released -Very little upward mobility -Unresponsive leadership team

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Aug 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very employee focused. take a long view towards growth and getting ahead of the market

      Cons

      overly meeting heavy; can be slow to bring about change.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Squarespace

      Aug 4, 2021 - Senior Designer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Atmosphere, Creative Work, Design First Company

      Cons

      PM run projects sometimes. Not as Design focused sometimes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Jul 8, 2021 - Engineering Lead in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the people and work environment. Bosses were supportive.

      Cons

      Growing too fast and had some challenges amongst leadership articulating product direction.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 268 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Squarespace Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Squarespace? Share Your Experiences

    or