Squarespace Reviews | Glassdoor

Squarespace Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Squarespace Founder and CEO Anthony Casalena
Anthony Casalena
142 Ratings
  1. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Operations 

    I have been working at Squarespace part-time

    Pros

    flexible, reliable, good work culture.

    Cons

    there are very little cons

    Squarespace2019-09-24
  2. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Excellent opportunities for engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been here for a year, and I can say my experience has been excellent and rewarding so far. There is always a lot of exciting work and opportunities to learn, which translate into growth, as a developer and in terms of career. I think this is due to the size of the company (not too small, not too large). Projects are more visible and engineers are more collaborative. Also, we get the perks of a large established company, liked 401k matching, free lunch, 100% covered health insurance, and unlimited PTO. The location of the office is amazing, right in West Village and commuter-friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is taking on a lot, which is great, but that means re-orgs and new teams, new leadership, etc. This is good and bad - it's just something to be aware of.

    Squarespace2019-09-05
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people are hired at Squarespace, making it a really great place to work. Management listens to feedback, and encourages it.

    Cons

    if you’re not willing to take accountability for your career advancement, you’ll likely see yourself as an advisor for some time.

    Squarespace2019-08-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Operations Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best job I’ve had. Management and team leads are amazing, and this company truly cares about its employees. Perks and benefits are awesome, great work culture, career advancement.

    Cons

    Pay is slightly low for what the job demands.

    Advice to Management

    More consistent pay with job demands and market salaries.

    Squarespace2019-06-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, good pay. Overall I am very happy to be a part of the Engineering team at Squarespace. Super smart people working hard to help people build websites to realize their dreams.

    Cons

    Can’t think of any so far

    Squarespace2019-04-10
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome perks, great people, swanky office, chance for growth and autonomy. A recent dedication to ERGs and D&I has been impressive to see.

    Cons

    Growth within the company varies between departments. Customer Operations has some ceilings for growth but there are opportunities to move between departments, depending on skills

    Squarespace2019-03-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best Work Environment for Innovation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Collaborative environment, no red-tape anywhere - Friendliest co-workers, so easy to speak to everyone at the company - Thoughtfulness in every detail from the interview process to the onboarding experience! - Innovation everywhere, so excited to see where we go next

    Cons

    - Nothing to think of yet!

    Squarespace2019-02-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Company is led by Anthony Casalena (Founder, CEO, 1st Engineer) -He is unwilling to compromise on quality of product -Makes his decisions always with Customer, Product & Technology in top-of-mind -Heavy emphasis on diversity recruiting and internal diversity groups & programs -Big investments in our new Learning & Development programs: like Speaker Series, leadership coaching and a wide variety of skills / technology training! -Extremely healthy growth rate (headcount-wise and financially) -Great internal controls and steady maturation in policies and procedures -Free-catered lunch EVERYDAY + dog friendly office -Beautiful office + Roofdeck

    Show More

    Cons

    -Elevator situation: As we are growing pretty rapidly in our NYC headquarters, I hope we start adding more elevators!

    Squarespace2019-02-05
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Product Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at several well-oiled software companies and I find Squarespace to be my favorite so far. The amount of autonomy, the mission, and my passionate teammates make it my favorite place.

    Cons

    The autonomy requires constant cycles of self-reflection and experimentation. If you require step-by-step guidance on how to be effective and execute — this place is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Push more. Give more.

    Squarespace2018-11-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "SRE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRE in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects, great benefits, flexible work hours

    Cons

    there are some, related to growth pains

    Squarespace2018-11-02
Found 195 reviews