Squarespace "customer care" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Squarespace Employee Reviews about "customer care"

Updated 26 de Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Squarespace CEO Anthony Casalena
Anthony Casalena
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Other benefits include free catered lunch and a great healthcare package(in 25 reviews)

  • "Free lunch saves you so much money(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "No bonuses in Customer Care, Team Leads who manage the(in 10 reviews)

  • "Customer Operations department is very metric based and hard to escape(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer care"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "They have made a terrible job great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Customer Care Advisor position is one that under any other company would be a call center job. You know the type, headset strapped to your head, hours of angry customers etc. Squarespace has turned this sort of customer advisory job into a sustainable career that exceeds my expectations for what a good career should be. They provide tools to make the job incredible, they always offer positive, constructive... feedback on how I am doing. They give me ample opportunities to grow within the company, pay me well, and give incredible benefits. Not a day goes by that I am not happy to have this job.

    Show More

    Cons

    You will hear from a number of people that the schedule is the one downside of this job, if you know that going into the job, its really not that bad. I never work over 40 hours in a week, and I know my schedule 3 months out, so I can plan accordingly. This is a 24/7 customer care position, but they have three offices around the globe to balance this work load. I have never worked before 8a, and have never worked... past 12p, and never more than 8 hours in a day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! This job is absolutely fantastic.

    Squarespace2015-12-08
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Customer Care needs to unionize"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Operations Advisor In Portland, OR in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bike-friendly, decent benefits, great maternity/paternity leave, coworkers

    Cons

    No bonuses in Customer Care, Team Leads who manage the Customer Care Advisors don't know the product, minimal stock options in Customer Operations, extremely high turnover rate for Advisors

    Advice to Management

    Give Advisors more reasons to stay

    Squarespace2019-02-27
  3. Helpful (19)

    "I thought I was joining an innovator in the tech industry but I ended up in a call center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Above-average pay for customer service/call center work. This would be a good job right out of college, or possibly as a transition between nametag-customer-service and working in an office environment. The pros are definitely in place to dull the drudgery of menial customer service work. You could do a lot worse. If you're any further in your career and think working for a tech company may be beneficial to your... development, please see below.

    Show More

    Cons

    I applied for work here when the Portland office was opening, lured by the promise of getting in on the ground floor of a new office for a growing company. However, this office is a complete dead end, as Squarespace's customer care is run like another, separate company within the company. There's no room to move up. New positions within customer care are few and far between, and most management positions are given... to outside hires. A title and role change doesn't mean a pay raise, and since customer care is constantly reshuffling and restructuring, what used to be your own separate role will suddenly become something baked into everyone else's job. When I began, for example, the transition from email to live chat came with a pay raise, and only if you elected to pursue it. Now it's been shuffled in as a standard responsibility for everyone in customer care. Sadly, I was moved to live chat during that shuffling, so my job completely changed under me and I saw no compensation. I would not have elected to do live chat if given the choice, but unfortunately I was the last person with any opinion on my career at Squarespace. Pay raises are nominal, infrequent, and matched by incoming employees' base salaries, leaving tenured, hardworking employees with nothing to show for their efforts and time. It's clear management is ill-equipped to support the needs of their employees; they don't share the workload and are mainly there to babysit you and feed you the company line. When you've spent an hour taking abuse from an irate winery owner who's unable to log into their account because they've had their caps lock on the whole time, it can be quite lousy to have to sit down with your supervisor and be told how you could've possibly ended the interaction sooner, or how you could've been more cheerful in your responses. The moment you stop drinking the Kool-Aid, things go downhill fast. Advocate for yourself and you'll just put a target on your back. Often the benefits are thrown back in your face; on multiple occasions, mentions of unfair treatment or untenable changes were met with a reminder that we get free lunch or "unlimited" PTO. I've heard stories as well as seen firsthand people have their place in the company threatened for asking inconvenient (but valid) questions in "ask me anything"-style meetings. Many would call this retaliation. Customer Care is the first point of contact for customers, and the furthest away from any actionable change. You'll tire of hearing the same basic shortcomings of the platform and fielding suggestions that cannot possibly be implemented. You'll soon tire of submitting feature requests or bug fixes, as you know most of them fall on deaf ears. There's an utter lack of ongoing product training after onboarding, and as the platform and internal policies are eternally shifting, you can ask three people the same question and get three answers that were right at one point or another. Features and integrations are constantly implemented and live tested without warning. Sometimes you'll be informed of a change through a backdated email, or when a customer reaches out with an issue about said change, leaving you scrambling for an answer on the fly. This leads to an aggressive in-house apathy where advisors just try to push emails and chats through as fast as possible without actually *solving* the problems customers present. Management doesn't keep promises and benefits are slowly being scaled back. Open communication is mainly lip service; management will say "we're looking into it" when a valid issue is brought up and then never readdresses the issue. Often you're told to come up with a project to solve an issue that's beyond your authority to address. Other times, you'll be asked for "actionable feedback," which is another way of shrugging off staff concerns and gaslighting you into thinking nothing's going to change, and that it's your own fault things haven't. Most of the perks are in place a) because that's where the tech-world bar's been set and b) to maintain the company's image. There's a reason the office is smack-dab in the middle of downtown Portland; Squarespace wants to be seen as cool and vital, even though they're just running a call center. The hip, sleek office is actually quite sterile and unfriendly, especially as we were discouraged from hanging anything on walls. There's an eerie paranoia surrounding allowing visitors or the general public to see what it looks like inside. The "open" office environment means no privacy or personal space. Team Leads and advisors who aren't yet in chat make distracting levels of noise, leaving you feeling like a curmudgeon for having to focus on your concurrent chats. Personal space isn't respected, and often you'll come in to find your chair readjusted or straight-up missing, and personal items on your desk broken or missing. Some of this you can turn a blind eye to and possibly abide a lot earlier in your career. However, it'll wear you down sooner rather than later, especially chat, where KPIs are unrealistic, as has been admitted by management (but of course, nothing's been done about it). Based on the direction things had been taking in the two years I'd worked there, it's only bound to get worse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm not sure there's much I can say that won't go unheard. I've spoken up about these concerns as your employee and your actions have spoken volumes about your lack of interest in anything other than the Bottom Line. Talented, innovative people are jumping ship for really anything else they can get their hands on. Maybe the next batch of hires won't notice the problems as you stabilize, but I doubt it, as I still... hear stories about constant shuffles and restructuring. To the CEO: I know everyone's telling you everything's going So Great over in PDX, and maybe you got that impression from the hour of photo op time you spent here on your last visit, but the pivot in focus from quality to quantity will only hurt your company's customer service.

    Show More
    Squarespace2017-02-27
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Customer Care is an ill-managed call center with little to no growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest 'pro' is the name recognition, and it absolutely carries weight when applying for similar gigs in tech. Good step for those transitioning out of retail into office culture. Typical tech/startup company window dressing (free meals, snacks, etc.), but this is already the standard at most tech companies. I'm genuinely a fan of the product.

    Cons

    Other negative reviews here accurately reflect life in Customer Care in great depth, so just to echo similar points: - Management is self-serving and ill-equipped to do their jobs. Upwards feedback is deflected. Managers goof around with nerf fights and other distractions while agents are too busy. If you do provide valid and constructive feedback, be ready to be lectured on how grateful you should be that they... provide free lunch and snacks. - Drink the office Kool-Aid if you want to get anywhere. I get it, every office has its politics, but Squarespace has it dialed up to 11. I've seen quality employees get overlooked in favor of company cheerleaders who spend more time playing ping-pong than working. - Little to no growth opportunities from entry-level CC positions. - No innovation in CC. Management doesn't care to hear it from agents. - For all intents and purposes, CC is separate from the rest of the company. Don't bother hoping to move elsewhere, or at the very least get an opportunity to learn from and to collaborate with members in other departments. Yes, some CC agents have been promoted to the mothership, but that was a long time ago and the org is just too big now. - Inadequate training, and when you are struggling, leadership throws you shade and makes you feel incompetent. It's a lot of the old guard spouting lines like "well I didn't have this training when I started and I could do it so why can't you?" - My role changed to one with added responsibility but without a pay raise. The thing is, I've had jobs I've liked way less. It's a better than retail as far as the day-to-day is concerned, but the Squarespace culture is just so toxic. Their presence on Crain's Best Places to Work is compelling, but keep in mind companies have to submit themselves to be eligible and acceptance is based on evaluations submitted by employees. A good chunk of Squarespace doesn't work in CC, so bear that in mind when factoring that into your decision to apply.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I said my piece to management on multiple occasions and just get stonewalled. CEO needs to take more interest in the largest department in the org.

    Squarespace2017-03-03
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Squarespace

    Pros

    Amazing benefits (100% coverage) Beautiful offices Catered lunch / snacks Company outings

    Cons

    Upper management sees you as a number. Metrics are almost impossible to meet. A lot of the emphasis is on Live Chat, and if you're not hitting five an hour, then you just put a target on your back. Most of the times this is out of your control as the volume isn't there. In addition to this, there are a lot of customers that require more in depth assistance, yet management doesn't care. They want quantity over... quality, in order to meet the needs of the business. We get countless compliments from customers regarding our service, which is true. The customer care department is one of the most dedicated teams I've worked with, but the sheer expectations of management will lead you to be overworked and burnt out very quickly. You're put into teams and assigned to a team lead, who just consistently micro manage you. You can't really blame them as this is all in the hands of upper management. If you're more of an independent worker, then this place isn't for you. Be prepared to get reprimanded if you're not meeting or exceeding your metrics. Everything is a competition. Recognition is great, but to boast about certain people exceeding expectations isn't encouraging at all, and it tends to make people feel worthless, and things like this often leads to favoritism. Also note that you will apologize to customers a countless number of times for features that the platform doesn't have because the product is severely lacking. I've learned of so many creative ways to say sorry to customers. The customer care team is incredibly huge, over 200 employees, which makes up the majority of the company. With that being said, there is zero room for growth. I've been with the company for three years, and never had the opportunity to show my true talents, even though you have the chance to contribute to other speciality teams, you're left to do the grunt work. I've literally been told that Squarespace may not be the place for me by one of my supervisors, and that I should consider another job because of this. Seriously. When I first started, this was a true start up and a very close, tight knit community. Forget about that now. No one speaks to each other, and overall the team is very "clique-ey" Products and changes will be released with little notice. On top of this, you don't really get to learn the product because you're answering chats and tickets all day. How are you expected to be productive and have a steady workflow when you know nothing about the product, or things are sprung on you last minute. Management has a BS open door policy. They urge you to bring up concerns and ideas. However, if those don't match to the opinions of management, then again, you just made yourself a target. I've learned that some of my colleagues have been terminated for speaking up about the rampant favoritism that goes on here. While the benefits are amazing, you're left to feel extremely over worked and under paid. All in all, if you're a compassionate, empathetic person, who truly wants to help people, and are seeking out growth then this isn't the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Customer care makes up the majority of the company. While all departments are equally important, emphasis should be put on this team as it is the largest and the face of the company. Customers speak to advisors, not to engineers, marketing, or HR. Be realistic with your expectations, and get more involved. True leaders lead by example.

    Squarespace2016-10-13
  6. Helpful (14)

    "A disgrace to the PDX tech community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace for less than a year

    Pros

    - Health insurance premium paid 100% by Squarespace - Employer matches for 401k contributions - Catered lunch every weekday

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else about the job. It'll seem like a dream come true for the first 6 months with free lunch, but once you see how everything really is behind the fake happy front everyone puts up you'll be pretty miserable. Overall, the company acts fairly egotistical and doesn't seem to care much about customer feedback. Those bug reports you'll be filing and the feature requests you'll be submitting... will most likely be ignored by engineering. You'll spend most of your days in three Live Chats at a time giving workarounds for features that should be there and making excuses for shortcomings in the product. In Portland, the company has zero presence in anything related to the local tech community. When some employees spoke up to management about this, they were given many excuses as to why this was the case all while painting Squarespace as still caring about contributing to the local tech community. There was also the topic of diversity brought up multiple times by different employees. Even though management says they care about diversity, I still see tons of caucasian hipster-like new hires in their 20s. Actions speak louder than words. You're expected to dedicate your entire life to working at Squarespace and if you want to do anything outside of work (including volunteering), you need to sign a form and get approval from legal. If you don't fill out the form and they find out...that's an offense that could get you terminated. The main downside to dedicating you entire life to Squarespace is the fact that there are no growth opportunities. Customer Care is so large that it is run as a separate company within the company, so there is little conversation and few ways to bridge into working in other departments. This also applies for individuals that have the skills to work in another department. The training team is out of touch with the product and teaches incorrect things, so you're essentially thrown into the queue unprepared and stressed out. All of this is happening while managers still gaslight you that there are opportunities and that you're just not working hard enough to prove that you deserve something more. Unless you have a stroke of luck, they'll most likely end up just shoulder tapping someone who plays the politics game better than you or hiring an external candidate. They expect people to go above and beyond, yet offer little incentive to do so. Even the salary is not very comparable given the rising rents in Portland. That is another thing that was brought up and ignored by management/HR. I've heard stories about people getting a promotion, yet never got a raise for that promotion until their comp review...which was months later. Overall it seems like a game to see how much more they can get you to do, without compensating you any more. If you don't like it...don't speak up. Management will put a target on your back and try to come up with any excuse as to why your argument is incorrect in an attempt to silence you by threatening your job. Once upon a time this was a great office environment, but now management/HR rules by making people afraid of losing their jobs. The open door policy is a joke. Overall, it's great for a first time job and resume builder since the outside community doesn't quite realize how awful this company is yet, but if you still decide to accept a job here don't expect anything more than another bullet of experience on your resume. Oh also free lunch too.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Mr. Casalena. Please keep an eye on what's happening in your remote office. You made mistakes with VPs of Customer Care in the past, so please don't trust that things are being handled properly until a disgruntled ex employee writes another Medium post expose. When that happens, it's already too late. Take action now. My advice to the Customer Operations management: never push a loyal employee to the... point where they no longer care. My advice to the PDX Customer Operations "leadership" team: people work for Squarespace because they really believe and care about the company. Please offer legitimate career pathing instead of making excuses as to how it's already here and also changing the topic by saying this is a great resume builder to go somewhere else.

    Show More
    Squarespace2016-07-31
  7. Helpful (17)

    "Unprofessional leads, no growth, inmature attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Advisor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - good benefits, 401K, free lunch, snacks and gifts - chilled environment (too relaxed, so this can also be a con) - good training - If you're a recent college grad or just need a job to pay the bills, this is a good place to be. - you don't need much intelligence, skills or experience to perform "well" - feedback is handled pretty easy: "everything and you are doing awesome" (can also be considered as an... annoying con) - you don't work much over time and if you do you get paid better

    Show More

    Cons

    - absolutely no growth for smart, creative and dedicated people - promotions are handled by and with sympathy, favoritism and just by having a cheerleader attitude (remember to repeat frequently that all is f*** awesome) - schedule is annoying and doesn't provide a good life-work balance (you are demanded to work weekends, early or late hours, your needs are not being taken into consideration) - team leads are... inefficient and lack of people leading expereince, skills and don't know how to provide useful feedback. - all kind of feedback is handled by filling in annoying surveys - customer care department is like the third world country of the company: the ugliest office, the dirtiest facilities (fridge can be considered a zoo for fungus and microorganisms and the restrooms are shabby, leaking, etc.), the snacks are ok but compared to the other offices in CS are the cheapest and not well stocked) - atmosphere is cold and borderline unfriendly (people don't consider greeting as common sense), with a lot of fake behavior to pretend that all is just oh so awesome - the biannual review is not even based on your performance, rather than you just get per default a raise after 6 months - it's still nice but if you work hard it's a joke (so just don't work more than you have to, which can be a pro) - high turnover - annoying meetings where it's more cheerleading than productive information

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all your departments equally, promote people that have the skills and experience to lead people, punish nepotism and buddyship-promotions. Learn from feedback rather than from turnover. Stop pretending that everything is awesome but then start saying all the time that there is this and that to be changed.

    Squarespace2015-08-15
  8. Helpful (14)

    "fammunity is a lie - no loyalty, no security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home before that was phased out - some of the most talented, amazing people you will ever meet

    Cons

    restructured customer care and became a revolving door - pushing dedicated talent out like they are nothing. some customer care cared about the people they were writing to but mgmt prioritized numbers and metrics over quality and satisfaction - an email could go 20 rounds with quick incorrect responses annoying a customer to fury and if someone takes longer to answer it the right way and soothe that person they are... admonished for slow pace. also we were allowed to speak a certain way and received feedback on anything that was not said in the company "voice." very stressful to feel constantly critiqued and ridden on top of trying to do what's best for your customer because doing just that is not good enough. the hours also became super unpredictable and miserable by the time I left. and favoritism.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    quit preaching fammunity when there is no love and no loyalty as you tear amazing people down and push them out the door.

    Squarespace2015-08-12
  9. Helpful (16)

    "WORKING HERE IS NIGHTMARE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Squarespace full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are great. Pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Outside of customer care, the corporate culture was extremely hostile. Takedowns seemed to be a favorite past time from top management all the way down the ranks. Everyone's always trying to prove themselves - not always in the best of ways. People who had been there for several years were constantly worried about losing their job. It's a dog eat dog culture and simply not what many expect from a startup. It... felt like people didn't want to see each other succeed. The company prides itself on being transparent and "level", and in many ways it is. However, there's a lot of channels and unwritten rules that one quickly discovers. The CEO is eccentric and difficult. Reminds me a bit of the character Gavin on Silicon Valley. They don't promote despite several yrs of service and growth. If you're straight out of college, it's good to have on the resume for a year but then go somewhere that does promote. I'm sure for other people working here is a great experience, but it wasn't for me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to people. Set an example for the rest of your employees. Try to show up at the monthly hangouts.

    Squarespace2015-02-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Squarespace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flat hierarchy, great team

    Cons

    Redundant nature of work in Customer Care

    Advice to Management

    Develop more opportunities

    Squarespace2015-09-14
Found 10 reviews