St. Charles Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Charles Community College Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
St. Charles Community College CEO Barbara R. Kavalier
Barbara R. Kavalier
8 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor in Cottleville, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love St. Charles Community College. Very pretty campus, the faculty in my department are mostly very friendly and welcoming, most of the staff I have interacted with have been friendly and helpful as well.

    Cons

    The pay is probably much lower than any of the other area colleges and universities.

    Advice to Management

    I really don't have any, I think they are doing a great job.

    St. Charles Community College2018-05-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love the people I work closely with.

    Cons

    Horrible Pay, Horrible Turn Over, Micromanaged from the Top Down. They don't care about the little people. Everything is always our fault. No praise for good deeds. Higher ups critique you from their offices, and never actually experience what you go through on a day to day basis. Then they have the nerve to tell you how to do your job.

    St. Charles Community College2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bureaucracy at the top, good people at the bottom."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many good employees that are fantastic to work with. (the few remaining anyway.) Good benefits. Beautiful campus and in a great location.

    Cons

    Most issues come from upper management. Misuse of funds. Frequently takes over a year to hire. All departments losing their best people like flies. Low pay. Does not promote from within or professionally develop existing team. Very secretive and exclusive from the top. Red tape everywhere; you cant make a simple small decision without a huge committee and several months of meetings. Management does not value employees...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The poor atmosphere the employees live in is rubbing off on students. I've started hearing many students talking about how the college is going sideways do to poor management. Open communication up, pay fairly, and promote from within while developing the team for their next career step. I wouldn't be surprised if some departments will have entirely quit in the next two months.

    St. Charles Community College2018-11-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable workplace with low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People you work with are easy to get along with. Many fun on-campus events. Staff members in other departments always willing to help

    Cons

    Low pay. Poor upper management. Slow to hire. Many questionable decisions made by executive staff.

    St. Charles Community College2018-10-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "It used to be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College full-time

    Pros

    Co-Workers and many of Staff and Faculty are wonderful.

    Cons

    Management lost touch and won't listen to their employees. Money management seems to be shady at best. College lost its transparency.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent. You are losing employees like flies. Management needs to trust their employees and treat them better. The amount of employees that have left is insane; and those that are left can't handle the extra work since hiring is not happening. This is no longer a happy place to work.

    St. Charles Community College2018-06-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "ES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Great time off, never a dull moment

    Cons

    Upper management sees big picture but forgets the little guys

    St. Charles Community College2017-11-28
  7. "Office Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College

    Pros

    Easy going, great coworkers, flexible schedules, aiding in student success

    Cons

    Somewhat unorganized at times, though usually everything flows very well

    St. Charles Community College2017-11-15
  8. "Nice Place to work inside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Saint Charles, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. Charles Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community, environment, co workers, and opportunity,

    Cons

    low pay, odd hours ( might not be a con)

    Advice to Management

    None

    St. Charles Community College2017-09-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best employer/employee vibe in my history of employment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees are treated as if they are valued by their employer. Benefits are good, great investment match up to 14.5%.

    Cons

    Lower pay than comparable campuses.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay scale based to comparable institutions.

    St. Charles Community College2017-07-23
  10. "Employee Interaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Charles Community College

    Pros

    Great communication of all events and activities throughout the College.

    Cons

    Off site employees can feel a bit disconnected from those activities as they are not given opportunities to participate in on campus functions.

    Advice to Management

    Make all activities and events inclusive.

    St. Charles Community College2016-07-26
Found 22 reviews