St. Christopher's Hospital for Children Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Christopher's Hospital for Children Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
St. Christopher's Hospital for Children Interim Chief Executive Officer George Rizzuto
George Rizzuto
4 Ratings
  1. "CNA Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CNA 

    I worked at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

    Pros

    Excellent team work with s

    Cons

    Parents not present at bedside

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-08-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Needs a culture change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great residents. Some teams are very interactive with competent doctors, social workers, case managers and nurses. Good place to teach. Challenging patients keep work exciting. Most doctors are invested in their patients.

    Cons

    Overworked, underpaid. Inefficient HR, management. Some teams are unwilling to work with others. Needs culture change. The deeper you dig, the more issues arise in all departments. The attempts to save money have caused many departments to be over worked and understaffed. The politics affect the workers too much and not in a good way.

    Advice to Management

    More competitive pay. Build a culture that encourages growth of all practitioners instead of stunting their potential. Needs more staffing. Employees are burnt out.

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-09-09
  3. "need more help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Programs in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children for more than 3 years

    Pros

    coworkers are nice and helpful

    Cons

    staff is unfriendly and unprofessional

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-08-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Registered Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children

    Pros

    The nursing staff truly cares about the patients and appropriately supporting each other.

    Cons

    The benefits are horrible. Administrative decisions are made without input from staff (so much for "autonomy"!). The only changes ever effected are negative decisions requiring obscure, additional paperwork - to the detriment of patient care. It's time for either unionization and/or merging with Temple.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees.

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-08-07
  5. "ER-Patient Access Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ER Patient Access Representative in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always avaliable and flexible hours

    Cons

    Very busy, High pace and volume of work

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-06-27
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Weekend Program Staff Nurse in Bensalem, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment... supportive environment

    Cons

    I have noticed instability with jobs and many layoffs

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-06-25
  7. "Certified nursing assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children part-time

    Pros

    It was great experience being able to to help people.

    Cons

    As a C.N.A. not getting the acknowledgement of the good work we did was degrading & definitely not comfortable. I loved what I did but I was not appreciated.

    Advice to Management

    Be loyal & truthful and I would be one of your best employees.

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-06-04
  8. "It was the biggest mistake of my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children for less than a year

    Pros

    It may look good on your resume when you leave.

    Cons

    I did not fine much of redeeming value there. Much hype about working for a good organization. If you are not one of the elect ( chosen) you spend much of your time watching your back.

    Advice to Management

    open up your eyes

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-05-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Hospital...for some things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are many great doctors and staff. Great orientations. Love that it's the only certified pediatric burn hospital around.

    Cons

    There are some specialtites that I would not bring my child to, but there are many that I would. Certain hospitals have a nitch and some you should just go elsewhere.

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2015-01-25
  10. "So much potential unrealized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Christopher's Hospital for Children full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated staff, rewarding patient population, excellent team to be a member of at the employee level

    Cons

    Too much focus on profit and near quarter earning rather than the big picture for the future. It is a very profitable enterprise that puts too much focus on expense control to maximize profit, such that there is insufficient staff to get the job done. The new construction project appears to be done at the expense of not maintaining the existing facility.

    St. Christopher's Hospital for Children2014-12-09
Found 60 reviews