St. David's HealthCare "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

St. David's HealthCare Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
St. David's HealthCare President and CEO C. David Huffstutler
C. David Huffstutler
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team with good ethics who truly care about the people they serve and are passionate about providing excellent care every day(in 10 reviews)

  • "Customer is primary focus, great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Pay is behind where it should be in Austin(in 12 reviews)

  • "low pay for rns, but not terrible(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Student loan repayment PTO Self schedule 3 days a week 12 hr shifts is full time

    Cons

    Low pay Short staffed Commitment of 2 years for new grads

    St. David's HealthCare2019-09-11
  2. "New Grad Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Many opportunities to advance into different positions.

    Cons

    Low pay, high patient ratios, stressful environment

    St. David's HealthCare2019-12-12
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good people around my unit

    Cons

    low pay for rns, but not terrible

    St. David's HealthCare2019-08-13
  4. "Good to Get in the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team, great patients, rewarding work, local management is easy to work with and for

    Cons

    Too much work, not enough time, no help during busy times, low pay, 2% annual pay raises for 5 star employees that are non-negotiable, local management ineffective at fighting corporate for better pay/work load

    Advice to Management

    Go to bat for your employees more. Living paycheck to paycheck with no safety net and worrying about any unplanned expense is stressful and does not make us better employees. Corporate sets our pay, but this city is more expensive that most others in our system. Fight for us. We are worth it.

    St. David's HealthCare2019-01-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist in Round Rock, TX

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    12 Hour shifts are amazing and the lab team is easy to get along with. Scheduling is hectic at times but if you need a day off they move your hours around so you never have to take PTO and can save up for a long vacation.

    Cons

    Low pay, and understaffed. Always running around filling positions.

    St. David's HealthCare2017-07-18
  6. "Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare

    Pros

    there seems to be lots of opportunities for overtime

    Cons

    low pay. not a great training program

    St. David's HealthCare2017-03-05
  7. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Facility has great potential in wonans services

    Cons

    St David's North Austin Womans Center Poor mgt all the way to the top. Can't keep nurses. A nurse is only a body. Low pay/expensive area.

    Advice to Management

    Try to retain your nurses. Have the integrity to stand by promises made.

    St. David's HealthCare2016-08-18
  8. "St. David's Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Capability of working w/out being micromanaged; flexibility and freedom to determine workload priority and create a plan of action without question by management.

    Cons

    Very low pay for amount of skill required for the job; far too many variables that cause an overflow of demanding tasks to be completed immediately

    Advice to Management

    Create an environment that projects an air of professionalism with regard and respect to staff rather than one that focuses on appeasing all who enter the business area whenever they are so inclined to do so.

    St. David's HealthCare2016-02-16
  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. David's HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    I have a job and love my coworkers

    Cons

    Low pay, do not care about their employees

    St. David's HealthCare2015-05-24
  10. "Review for Staff RN position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN in Austin, TX

    I worked at St. David's HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gained Experience in a busy ICU with new technology, great co-workers, awesome teamwork

    Cons

    Typical HCA facility, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Give unit an opportunity for self scheduling

    St. David's HealthCare2015-02-11
Found 11 reviews