St. Dominic's Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Dominic's Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
St. Dominic's CEO Lester Diamond
Lester Diamond
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and good capable people to work with(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great place to work, flexible hours, great people to work with(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons of this company(in 6 reviews)

  • "Low pay for non management, annual raises not keeping up with cost of living(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place for advancement!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Neurology Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. Dominic's full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, knowledgeable staff, countless opportunities!

    Cons

    I cant think of any negative things about St Dominic!

    St. Dominic's2019-07-08
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule minimal weekends

    Cons

    Recently bought out and they are making major staffing cuts

    St. Dominic's2019-09-12
  3. "OVERWORKED AND UNDER-Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff RN 

    I worked at St. Dominic's full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with and the patients you care for are the reasons I love nursing.

    Cons

    There are too many demands on all staff members. There is no consideration for how sick each patient is. There is a subtle threat of being fired at any moment if you miss something. But the truth of the matter is that management does not care about the staff. If there is a death in your family and you are scheduled to work, too bad you can’t go to the funeral. If you are sick and call in, you will still... lose points even if you have a doctor’s excuse. The expectations they have for staff is overwhelming and I was terrified that I would miss something and hurt a patient.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your staff. They are there for you but you are not there for them!!!

    St. Dominic's2019-07-22
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Jackson, MS

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with some of the most amazing people and patients

    Cons

    Always short staffed and employee turn over is incredibly high

    St. Dominic's2019-06-07
  5. "Friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, decent benefits, better than some places I’ve worked

    Cons

    Low pay for non management, annual raises not keeping up with cost of living

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers, upper mgmt is out of touch with what’s going on in trenches, open communication be transparent, reward valued employees

    St. Dominic's2019-06-07
  6. "Steady check but no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Coordinator 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Dominic's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were amazing, fun, and the best staff I’ve worked with as a whole

    Cons

    Once you have proven yourself to be a valuable employee instead of rewarding you with pay, they reward you with more work and no pay increase other than the company wide yearly 2%

    Advice to Management

    Make sure when you tell employees they will get a raise for completing a certification or other work related objectives that you actually know what you are talking about. I was promised a raise not once, but twice and even obtained a certification because of the promise of more pay only to be told I would actually make less if I used the certification. This was told to me AFTER I paid money for a test and... certification that was completely useless to me then and now. Not only was I promised a raise and not given it twice, I was consistently given more and more work to complete on top of my original work load. And in conclusion, if you are in a position of such as management, it’s best not to talk behind every employees backs to the other staff. This creates an environment that is not conducive to productivity

    Show More
    St. Dominic's2019-06-16
  7. "Good starter Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff RN in Jackson, MS

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great orientation program for new graduates with one of the highest starting pay in the area; pretty good work environment

    Cons

    Poor management (at least on my unit)

    St. Dominic's2019-05-14
  8. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at St. Dominic's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Near home and there was no commute.

    Cons

    Jealous Supervisor....no policy and procedures. People working there know in mates

    Advice to Management

    Fix managers and hire professional people. Not people from jail.

    St. Dominic's2019-05-28
  9. "Average Place of Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work 3 days a week, self-scheduling, great patients, Nurse managers are available to employees

    Cons

    Getting pulled to work on other floors. Not being trained to take care of types of patients you don't normally work with. An example is being pulled to work on the neuro floor and never having an experience with neuro patients. Being responsible for 12 patients and over half being total care. Point system for calling in when unable to work. Not feeling valued and easily disposed of.

    Advice to Management

    CNA/Nurses being pulled to other floors can be dangerous when we have not had experience or training in dealing with specific health issues. Need to work on making employees feel valued. A cart with candy and fruit coming around once a month to show appreciation is not enough. Hire more employees so we are not overworked.

    St. Dominic's2019-04-12
  10. "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jack, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Dominic's full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there are almost none.

    Cons

    managers, pay, rude cna’s, nurses, doctors, rts, the whole 9 yards. i will be leaving the company asap. the most hostile work environment i have ever been in.

    Advice to Management

    stop letting bullying happen within the hospital. it’s beyond terrible for new employees to feel so much hate from coworkers.

    St. Dominic's2019-04-22
Found 100 reviews