St. James Hotel Reviews | Glassdoor

St. James Hotel Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "House Keeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeping Supervisor in Selma, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. James Hotel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    have been able to maintain upkeeping of 36 rooms on day to day operations also responsible for doing laundry

    Cons

    sometimes get tired of handling all the heavy work load by myself

    Advice to Management

    get me some help please

    St. James Hotel2017-07-11
  2. "Good Coworkers, Decent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Auditor/Front Desk Agent in Red Wing, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. James Hotel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice Property, Employee Discounts, Nice Coworkers

    Cons

    Not Employee Focused, Low Employee Moral, Low Wages for some Positions

    Advice to Management

    Do more for your Staff

    St. James Hotel2019-08-08
  3. "good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. James Hotel for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, high work ethic

    Cons

    union employee are hard to deal with, be ready to go through a lot

    St. James Hotel2018-09-21
  4. "Lacks commitment to training and retaining employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Banquet Staff in Red Wing, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at St. James Hotel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Historic hotel with a variety of old and new features. Recent remodeling and renovation of premium guest rooms and banquet facilities. Convenient downtown location with ample onsite guest parking. Employee parking not so convenient but accessible. On duty employee meals served for lunch and dinner. The St James parent company, Red Wing Shoe Co., has improved hotel employee benefits recently. I personally enjoy... working in the variety of places served by the Banquets Department.

    Show More

    Cons

    Starting wages are poor and wage increases are meager. Employee training is virtually non-existent. Annual employee reviews are consistently done late if they are done at all. Communication between upper management, middle management and hourly staff is pitiful. Recent high turnover rate of employees on all three staffing levels has lead to low morale, additional work loads and stress that perpetuates an already... challenging workplace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Begin making St James Hotel employees at all levels feel included and appreciated. Wages and benefits should be improved for hourly staff in particular but more important, in my opinion, is the need to develop ongoing training programs for all departments, establish clear channels of communication within and between departments and staff (individual employee hotel email accounts for starters), revise the hotel... employee handbook to revise outdated policies and update current practices, and generally invest more time and money to improve hotel employees personal development. Employees that are: treated fairly, feel included as part of the “team”, regularly acknowledged for the work they do, encouraged to improve rather than being managed with a “no news is good news” philosophy when it comes to performance appraisals and disciplinary actions will most often want to do their best for the good of the St James Hotel guests, management and their coworkers.

    Show More
    St. James Hotel2018-03-02
  5. "I love working here, but can't afford it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Night Engineer in Red Wing, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at St. James Hotel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good place to work good benefits good people

    Cons

    very sub standard salaries and hourly wages.

    Advice to Management

    you get what you pay for

    St. James Hotel2016-10-06
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rochester, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at St. James Hotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The scenery and guests are great. The food is world class and upper managment at the time I was there was good.

    Cons

    Everything has changed since I have been there. The hours were not ideal for my lifestyle.

    St. James Hotel2016-09-19
  7. "Great, funky environment. Reasonable managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. James Hotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Great parents company

    Cons

    Had to stand all day and it hurt my back, because the computer desk was so low.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    St. James Hotel2015-01-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work but no career growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Red Wing, MN

    I have been working at St. James Hotel

    Pros

    The hotel is in a beautiful location, the best place in Red WIng. You get a great discount at other historic hotels of America.

    Cons

    Pay isn't that great. Benefits are way to expensive for the pay. There is no defined training program. Communication is lacking. Vacation and sick pay is barely existent unless you have been there for many years.

    Advice to Management

    Be Proactive instead of reactive. Don't use your employees. Choose results over egos. Promote from within. Develop a better training program. Rework your Benefits package, better vacation and sick time. More reasonable cost.

    St. James Hotel2010-03-24
  9. "Managing Hotel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. James Hotel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are excellent employer and provide good package

    Cons

    Long Hours and unsociable timings

    Advice to Management

    Do not listen to false complaints

    St. James Hotel2019-09-09
  10. "CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Chief Executive Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. James Hotel

    Pros

    CEO Position is the top most position in the Organisation. I hv ability to carry forward this position.

    Cons

    No downside of this Position.

    Advice to Management

    Manage the people & business honestly & dedicate manner.

    St. James Hotel2016-01-07
Found 10 reviews