St. John's Hospital (illinois) Reviews | Glassdoor

St. John's Hospital (illinois) Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
St. John's Hospital (illinois) CEO Bob Ritz (no image)
Bob Ritz
11 Ratings
  1. "Radiographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retired 2019 in Springfield, IL

    I worked at St. John's Hospital (illinois) part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love helping people, not the type of person who can sit behind a desk. I enjoy variety.

    Cons

    Healthcare is complicated. Hospitals are trying to save money by operating on a shoestring.

    Advice to Management

    Try to cut expenses without hurting patient care.

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2019-01-30
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Tech 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. John's Hospital (illinois) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    St Johns has been wonderful to me. This is the only job I’ve had that I don’t hate. They pay competitively and give raises based on performance. The benefits are okay. The pto time is amazing and there is so many Departments to transfer to if you aren’t enjoying where you’re at. Overall my employment has been exceptional and I have learned so much and gained so much experience.

    Cons

    Staffing can be low on occasion but not a lot of staff turnover.

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2019-01-14
  3. "St. John's Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at St. John's Hospital (illinois)

    Pros

    I love the people. Everyone is helpful and I always know I have someone to turn to for help.

    Cons

    None really. I like my unit and all the people I work with. It can get hectic, but what area of healthcare is never hectic?

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2018-09-19
  4. "Registrar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. John's Hospital (illinois) full-time

    Pros

    Low stress, nice people

    Cons

    PTO time and sick time all in one pool. For someone that has kids and may have to take extra sick days this becomes hard to gain PTO time.

    Advice to Management

    Possible advancement within HSHS organization

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2018-07-11
  5. "Amazing Work Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. John's Hospital (illinois) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came back to St. John's because it was the best place to work. I was able to grow professionally while not feeling overworked or under appreciated. The only reason that I don't work there now is because we moved out of state.

    Cons

    None! It it a great place to work!

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2018-07-09
  6. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomist in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. John's Hospital (illinois) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and teamwork! Descent benefits

    Cons

    As is any hospital profession, workload is high, but it makes the day go fast!

    Advice to Management

    Maybe more incentives will heighten employee morale.

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2018-04-20
  7. "St. John's Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. John's Hospital (illinois) full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great atmosphere. Company values opinions and input of their staff.

    Cons

    With the size of the business there is a lot of stress associated with the role. This would not be for a beginner.

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2018-02-05
  8. "Cardiac Sonographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. John's Hospital (illinois)

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, tons of learning opportunities especially for a new grad. Great management.

    Cons

    If you decide to ever resign management gets pretty upset about it.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take it personal if employees decide to move on.

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2017-09-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. John's Hospital (illinois)

    Pros

    Lots of overtime availability, good group of people to work with, flexible work schedules

    Cons

    Low staff numbers, high turnover rates

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2016-12-09
  10. "Housekeeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Springfield, IL

    I worked at St. John's Hospital (illinois)

    Pros

    Good company, good job, good benefits

    Cons

    I don't really have cons

    Advice to Management

    None

    St. John's Hospital (illinois)2016-09-16
Found 25 reviews