KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Engaged Employer

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Add a Review

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Administrative Specialist Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 993 reviews

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
30 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good place to work

    Oct 10, 2021 - Administrative Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great health benefits, cheap co-pays, tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Everyone is over qualified, recruiting is extremely slow & can take months to get an interview or be notified that you didn’t get a position.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Currently, the campus is divided into zones to keep non-patient caregivers away from our most vulnerable population, our patients. During the height of the lunch rush, from 11:30 - 1:30, non-clinical workforce are asked to not enter the cafeteria since patients and their families are often in there. It is not favoritism towards our clinical employees, but rather a measure to keep our extensive research and business operations staff separate from the children, who are often unable to be vaccinated. Now that the vaccine mandate is in place, we will see some loosening up of the campus in coming weeks, but nothing has been decided yet. Thank you for your concern.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome Place to work

    Jul 8, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, great coworkers

    Cons

    Not a lot of food options near the office

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Hi! Thanks for your review. We're so glad you enjoy the environment and your team! Regarding food options: We continue to navigate operations with regard to the ongoing pandemic. The Kay Kafe has several different stations for employees, including a grill, deli, pizza kitchen, salad bar, bakery, and rotating hot and plate-by-plate options. The Kay has been closed to non-clinical workers since March 2020, but has reopened to employees who are fully vaccinated (non-clinical employees have restricted hours). If you do not want to visit the Kay, please consider using Grubhub, which will deliver food from the Kay to a non-clinical area. Finally, if you are seeking food options outside the St. Jude campus, contact your recruiter in Human Resources for a list of nearby restaurant options. Keep in mind that restaurant delivery is not currently permitted onto campus. We are hopeful that food trucks will be allowed back on campus in the coming months, but that has not yet been approved. Happy dining!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    There is No Better Place to Work Than St. Jude

    Sep 11, 2020 - Administrative Director in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We are making kids better. No matter what your job function is at St. Jude, you are contributing to our mission of finding cures and saving children. My "worst" day at St. Jude is better than any day I have had working elsewhere. We work hard, play hard and love what we do. The way that our hospital has come together to make it safely through the pandemic has been astonishing.

    Cons

    So many people ask me how I work at St. Jude, and, yes, seeing suffering children can be heavy on the heart. Seeing well children from our efforts and seeing leftover confetti from a No Mo Chemo party does amazing things for your soul.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    This was a lovely review to read. Thank you so much for your kindness. While seeing sick children and young adults can be very trying, it makes the recoveries that much sweeter. St. Jude is not a sad place; it's a place full of hope and promise. And the day we no longer see that confetti means we've finally accomplished our mission! Our leadership thanks you for your touching words.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Safer with Science

    Sep 3, 2020 - Administrative Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership from our CEO is great

    Cons

    I have a long commute

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We're glad that you recognize strong leadership from our CEO. We value your input and dedication to your work!

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Best Place to Work!

    Aug 12, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything was Positive and Fair

    Cons

    I have no negative reports

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    It's so wonderful to read supportive words from a former employee! Thank you for your years of dedication to your work and our patients. We wish you the best in your next steps.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Dream Workplace

    Apr 30, 2020 - Senior Administrative Assistant in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St. Jude cares as much about the employees as they do the patients. The people here truly collaborate to solve all kinds of issues and teamwork here is a priority and a state of mind. We are all mission minded. I love the diversity of all the employees here, it brings together all sorts of interesting ideas to solve problems. The cafeteria food here is THE BEST and it's not expensive! The campus is beautiful. I absolutely adore working here.

    Cons

    I can honestly say that I can't think of any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're thrilled that you enjoy the diversity and beautiful campus! It's always a great feeling to read compliments about the Kay Kafe, as we try very hard to accommodate all of our employees' and patients' unique dietary restrictions as best we can. Thank you for your positivity and contribution to our mission!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    LOVE MY JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Apr 28, 2020 - Administrative Director in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St. Jude is a great place to work. The feeling of family throughout the institution and great leadership team makes you want to come to work and do your best everyday!

    Cons

    I have NO Cons to report.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Some of our favorite reviews are when we can feel the excitement and joy that a reviewer has for his or her job. Thank you for doing amazing work and loving St. Jude and its people and mission!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    This place keeps getting better every year.

    Feb 14, 2020 - Administrative in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St. Jude leadership truly cares about all of their employees whether you are a worker in the cafeteria or a world-class scientist.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, but leadership at St. Jude does listen to its staff and makes honest efforts to improve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Talent Experience Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your recognition of our employees institution-wide for their hard work! It's true that everyone, and every job, matters to make St. Jude a great place to work. Thank you for your dedication of more than ten years to our mission and patients!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Wonderful Place to work, hard to catch on to task.

    Jan 8, 2020 - Administrative Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team members, great benefits, amazing CEO, Maternity Leave. Its an amazing feeling that you know you play a part in saving the lives of countless children. I tell everyone just as much as St. Jude love their patients, they love the employees the same. We are always updated on everything that is new or changing.

    Cons

    Managers can be trained a bit better. I came in without a manual and as a assistant so form of job notes are needed. I've been here a little over a year and everyday I am finding new ways of doing things. There are so many departments that do their own thing and know on knows unless you are in a certain department. More job training is needed and managers should be able to help and assist but they don't most of the time either. It is very hard thinking you know how to perform a function, then told it wrong. The information should already be there for us to succeed and its not. It makes work draining and takes longer to complete work when you do not have clue where to start.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Talent Experience Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We agree that you are on the front line and oftentimes are the first point of contact for new employees, visitors, and potential candidates. Your suggestions are valid. If you're comfortable doing so, please contact Employee Relations within Human Resources and let them know how beneficial a manual of processes would be. If you are not already a member of TOAST, we would suggest joining so that you have a reliable network of administrative support. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and recommending steps we can take to continue to better ourselves as an organization.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I thought I would like working here. Five months in, I absolutely love working here!

    Oct 15, 2019 - Administrative Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere in the workspace. Working together towards one goal--curing the children. Benefits are top-notch.

    Cons

    Lack of parking (they are working on it).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    What a stellar title to your review! We're so touched that you enjoy your work so much. Thank you for your dedication to not just your work, but our mission. Your advice is appreciated; we hope that all of our managers remain approachable and transparent, especially with members of their own team. Thank you!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Popular Careers with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or