KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Engaged Employer

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Add a Review

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 of over 992 reviews

4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
53 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    We stay busy, but it's a rewarding place to work!

    Aug 25, 2021 - Human Resources Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We have incredible healthcare benefits!!! I feel like St. Jude looks out for my health and well-being. I love having an onsite pharmacy and clinic; it makes it way easier for me to keep appointments during the day. I respect our administrative leadership's efforts to better increase and highlight diversity and inclusion. Our workforce is very diverse, but it's nice to see that it's increasingly celebrated. In the past year we've formed the women's + allies resource group and the Black employees + allies resource group. They, along with our PRIDE group, are doing some incredible things on campus. I feel lucky to be a part of these groups and help celebrate our diversity. We mandated the vaccine!!! I feel valued and safe and also very proud that we are taking steps to protect our patients and their families, as well as each other and each other's families. St. Jude churns out some powerful and world-changing research. Our resources and our faculty are top-notch; I am always so proud to be in Memphis and a part of this incredible institution. Working in HR, I love to be a part of hiring, training, and elevating employees. I believe that we are equipped and empowered to be some of the best.

    Cons

    It's a pandemic, so we are BUSY. We're tired and stressed. We've been forced to make some changes in some of our departments to better handle the pandemic. Some of us have transitioned to remote work (guess that's not really a con for most people though). But I feel like I have been supported by this organization even on the rough days and I look forward to when I can return to complaining about something way less serious, like our Starbucks line being too long.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We especially appreciate you taking the time to mention our employee resource groups, including PRIDE, the BEARG, and the WARG. We are glad that you feel supported, even though it has been a stressful time to work in healthcare. Thank you for your honest advice to management. We are currently brainstorming additional ways to elevate and relieve our clinical workforce, who have continued to perform above and beyond, as they always do, the past 18 months. We are hopeful that one day soon, the Starbucks line will return to being the most inconvenient part of your day (want to skip the line? Remember that you can order ahead on the GrubHub app!).

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Mission and Environment

    Oct 5, 2021 - Manager, Research Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St. Jude is a top place to work. Great mission and environment.

    Cons

    There are no downsides, especially compared to similar institutions.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! We are so honored to be a top-level research institution, thanks to employees like you and your team.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Made changes to adapt

    Sep 30, 2021 - Project Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Like all companies, St. Jude was forced to make lots of changes during the pandemic and they really tried hard to adapt to employee needs and concerns while also keeping our mission at the forefront. Most recently our Resilience Center added a new staff member, canine Rosalie, to encourage employees during these trying, ever-changing times.

    Cons

    Lots of changes in the past 18 months and sometimes it’s hard to adjust to the new norm.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! We're glad that you had the opportunity to meet Rosalie, our newest staff member dedicated to employee health and wellbeing. We're hoping that when times get "ruff," she can help out. Forced changes have made us a more adaptable institution but have been difficult as employees are asked to pivot among projects and priorities to keep our campus, and our patients, safe. Thank you for being a valuable part of our mission and helping us grow.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Employee focused

    Aug 21, 2021 - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits and core values.

    Cons

    Poor IT/IS support. Behind the times with technology.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you so much for leaving us a review! We appreciate the time and effort you put into your constructive suggestions. Information Services is in the process of a two-year project that will result in more streamlined systems and better capability. It is our hope that the conclusion of this project will improve efficiency across St. Jude. Regarding your suggestion about retirement health insurance, this is an excellent idea to run by the benefits team. Please contact their director for further insight as to feasibility in the coming years and how we are working to better serve our workforce approaching retirement.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great mission

    Aug 28, 2021 - Marketing Communications Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The spirit of collaboration between doctors is amazing. Scientists work together with doctors on treatments and cures, and communicate face to face. The brainstorming potential leads to results and cures. There are good resources, thanks to our foundation's work. The patients are incredible and inspiring and make you want to get up every day.

    Cons

    There are politics at play between some groups. It can lead to breakdowns in efficiency. Also, there are favored groups.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for a thoughtful review! It's clear that you treasure your colleagues and the organization. We are so glad that you're a part of our mission. We agree that retention is just as important as external recruitment. Many roles are placed on the internal job board before we seek external applicants. If you would like to learn more about our recruiting and promotion process, contact a member of talent acquisition, and they can answer some of your questions. Thank you again for kind words and suggestions!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I love working at St. Jude!

    May 26, 2021 - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Phenomenal growth, great job security, the organization truly cares about its employees, great benefits.

    Cons

    No place is perfect. Anytime you work with other human beings, it can sometimes get interesting; however, I can't think of anything to share.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    What a great review to read! We're so excited that you've enjoyed job security and great benefits and have weathered the sometimes daunting experience of growth. Thank you as well for recognizing that sometimes, it can be hard to meld personalities but that with cooperation, determination, and an open mind, we can all work together towards a shared goal and most importantly, a shared mission. Thank you for your service to the patients of St. Jude!

  7. 5.0
    Former Freelancer

    Job

    Jun 14, 2021 - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission and patients are great

    Cons

    The hours can be tough

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A great place to make a difference

    Jun 2, 2021 - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's a fulfilling place to work.

    Cons

    The only con is its location.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. It is discouraging that you have lived in Memphis 10+ years and still haven't discovered all that is has to offer, but if you'd like to contact HR, we will happily share some recommendations with you! Our founder, Danny Thomas, chose Memphis for the location of St. Jude for myriad reasons and the city, its history, its shortcomings, and its successes have all been part of the story of St. Jude.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Apr 21, 2021 - Manager in Westminster, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly environment to work at

    Cons

    nothing to complain. It's stressful since it's related to healthcare.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    It is a very stressful time to work in healthcare, but thanks to the dedication of employees like you, St. Jude is able to continue our mission. Thank you so much for all that you do.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Love it

    Mar 19, 2021 - Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, inspiring mission and rewarding work

    Cons

    Memphis is not everyone’s cup of tea

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks for taking time to review your experience! We're so glad that you have enjoyed the benefits and get so much out of your work. If you or someone on your team has had trouble plugging into the Memphis community, please contact Talent Acquisition within HR. They'd love to share some materials with you to help St. Jude employees getting acclimated to the Mid-South.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 63 Reviews

Popular Careers with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or