St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Postdoctoral Research Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Postdoctoral Research Associate Reviews

Updated November 20, 2017
21 reviews

Filter

Filter

Postdoctoral Research Associate

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
6 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The Administration at SJ really wants all employees to have work/life balance (in 27 reviews)

  • Great benefits, low living cost (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • There are no cons in my job position (in 19 reviews)

  • There are not really cons to working for St (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Postdoctoral associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A great environment , great benifits, great care about everyone, great facilities for research and multicultural place with accepting everyone.

    Cons

    Sometimes crazy busy new system. In details, when I started and I came from different institute, the whole system is different so it was hard for me in the first couple months to understand how things is going.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for the review!


  2. "Doesn't care about postdocs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great benefits, many opportunities to learn about alternative science careers

    Cons

    If you're a postdoc and having problems with your boss or work environment, there are very few resources available to you. Also, as a whole the postdoc community is largely ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Postdocs are highly trained and hard-working. Don't forget that they exist and deserve a healthy working environment!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Best benefit I could imagine.

    Cons

    Memphis is not a good place for raising kids.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Internal HR/Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We agree that St. Jude is a great place to work. But, we also think Memphis is a terrific place to live and to raise children. Children in the Greater Memphis area have... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "postdoc research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    1. first- class core facility and all research equipment.
    2. friendly and strong scientific atmosphere, we can discussion and learn lessons freely.
    3. Great support in living to make new comer easy to adapt life in Memphis.
    4. People here respect the opportunity to work in this hospital and hold the sense of mission to do novel and exciting discoveries.

    Cons

    I have not found any cons yet.

    Advice to Management

    NO


  5. Helpful (37)

    ""excellent development opportunities for young scientist""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time

    Pros

    1. Outstanding corporate mission and vision backed up by fantastic staff. Everybody seems to care and everybody likes working here.
    2. Great benefit package and good work/life balance. The management wants you to be productive and in order to get there they want you to be a happy and healthy employee. Free on campus gym and "living well programs" are available. We get family sick leave, too. Seriously, I think our management actually likes their employees.
    3. Modern, well equipped, easily accessible research facilities and core centers. If you need something specific to get your research done, you will probably be able to get it.
    4. There is great research going on here, with a lot of collaborations between departments and outstanding seminar speakers from all over the world.
    5. Well organized career development programs and good networking opportunities.
    6. HR is friendly, competent and fast here. Yes, you read that right, the human resources department here HELPS you with your problems. They are just awesome.
    7. Above average pay. Plus, a standard postdoc salary will allow you to afford a good life in Memphis. Memphis is a great place to live, especially with St.Jude benefit package.
    8. Opportunities for promotions exist. People here respect talent and good work.

    Cons

    Not many cons, really.

    It is difficult to recruit new talent here, people don't want to live in Memphis, for no good reason.

    Can be political at times, but no where near as bad as in other places.

    Advice to Management

    Senior research management needs to use their resources better. There are unused capacities.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jun 21, 2016 – Recruiter

    We are very gracious for the excellent review! It is great to read all of the incredible things you have to say about your time with St. Jude. It is employees like yourself that help carry the... More


  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great research at a great place to work

    Cons

    Departments can be a bit insular

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    May 27, 2016 – Recruiter

    Thanks so much for your review! Keep up the incredible work.


  7. "Working at St. Jude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great resources, lab members are super helpful and sweet. People are very professional, found assistance in almost every step moving to Memphis.

    Cons

    Can not think of any cons.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Feb 10, 2016 – Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you are having such a positive experience.

  8. "Excellent Postdoc training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great access to resources. Well paid as far as an academic postdoc position can be. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Really hard to think of any

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Aug 7, 2015 – Recruiter

    Thank you so very much for taking time to complete a review. We also appreciate all of the work you do for the institution as a postdoc. St. Jude's mission is furthered every day because of your... More


  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, family atmosphere, friendly coworkers, good benefits

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Jun 16, 2015 – Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you are enjoying your position here at St. Jude. We are always working on improving our employee experience. It's great to hear that yours is going... More


  10. "St Jude is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    The resources are outstanding for scientists.

    Cons

    I have no cons to add.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Mar 13, 2015 – Recruiter

    We really appreciate your review of St. Jude! It is great to hear that the resources are available to you so you can change people's lives for the better. Keep up the great work!!