KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Engaged Employer

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Add a Review

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Postdoctoral Research Fellow Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 992 reviews

4.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
6 Ratings
Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Perks!

    Mar 16, 2021 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone loves the company mission

    Cons

    Some employees lack motivation and drive

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and good luck in your next endeavor! We can't wait until it is safe to bring back all of the on-campus perks that we became accustomed to having!

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to be a postdoc

    Mar 11, 2021 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of resources for both your projects and for career development

    Cons

    Not a lot of urgency to get projects done

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks so much for accepting a postdoctoral position here at St. Jude! It is our hope that you continue to have access to great resources with which to do your best work. We are sorry to hear that projects are moving slowly. One of our core values is to work with urgency and purpose. If you feel that these values are not being upheld in your lab, please contact Employee Relations.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing commitment to St Jude mission and employees

    Apr 30, 2020 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St. Jude is totally dedicated to the health and safety of their patients. The resources available to patients and families are incredible. The St. Jude community is welcoming and everyone works together to achieve the goal of making childhood catastrophic diseases a thing of the past. There are great opportunities for networking, career growth, and professional development. It is a very supportive environment and there is an incredible diversity of people with a respect for the strengths and perspectives of others.

    Cons

    As a postdoctoral research fellow there are relatively limited opportunities to work with and mentor undergraduates (versus on a university campus).

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Wow, thanks for listing so many wonderful pros! We appreciate that you have felt welcome and that your experiences have been so collaborative. We also are glad that you have recognized and been able to take advantage of networking and professional development. Our hope for our postdoc community is that they go on to do great things here or at another institution. You've brought up a great point: there are definitely less opportunities to mentor undergrads than there would be at a university. Part of that is maintaining security on campus, but this is something worth discussing further to see if there are possibilities of enacting some changes. Thank you.

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great institution for postdocs

    Aug 23, 2019 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was a postdoc at St. Jude for a year-and-a-half. In the time I was there, I never once met anyone who wasn't friendly and helpful. They do a great job with their postdoc program including better pay and benefits than most academic institutions. Overall, St. Jude is a very special place that absolutely lives up to its reputation.

    Cons

    The biggest downside of working at St. Jude is the city of Memphis. This seems to be the biggest complaint of most of my co-workers. Obviously, there's not much that St. Jude can do about this.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. Our postdoc community is a vital part of our research and we are happy to offer great pay and benefits to all of you. Furthermore, it's great to hear that your experience lived up to St. Jude's reputation. Memphis is a growing city with some growing pains, but we urge our employees to learn more about Memphis by joining St. Jude Dinearounds, Memphis Mojo tours, and the St. Jude theater group. All are great ways to meet coworkers and connect with the city in exciting ways. Memphis is an integral part of St. Jude, as St. Jude is an integral part of Memphis, and employees with suggestions on how to improve newcomers' perception are welcome to contact Human Resources. Thank you again! We're glad to have had you!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Postdoctoral Research Fellow

    Mar 21, 2020 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    salary and benefits are good

    Cons

    the city is too remote

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Hello! Thank you for your review! We're glad that you are enjoying your benefits and salary while completing your postdoctoral research here at St. Jude! It's true that Memphis can feel "land-locked" to those that move here from coastal or larger cities. If you're looking for more things to do within driving distance of Memphis, please email Talent Acquisition! They'd be happy to help. Sign up for Memphis International Airport's mailing list to stay updated on the airport's massive renovations and flight additions so you can better find opportunities for affordable travel.

  6. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, postdoc experience is lab dependent

    Apr 27, 2019 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Computer, $2500 allowance for career development, career development seminars

    Cons

    Some labs demand a 60-70 hour work week...not ideal for you women scientists starting families.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Talent Experience Advisor

    Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoy the perks of being a postdoctoral research fellow at St. Jude. Our employees wishing to start families can schedule time with our Benefits team in order to make a plan that works best for their careers and continuing education, but most importantly, the health and finances of their families.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Same as other post-docs

    Sep 25, 2008 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission of St Jude resonates through all we do ("No child should die in the dawn of life"). It makes me proud to be an employee. We have wonderful shared facilities and access to some of the best equipment. The Hartwell Center is one of the crown jewels. They are capable of running all chips, arrays, sequencing and doing macromolecular synthesis. The 2 imaging cores are very state of the art and run extremely well. We have a lot of collaboration within and between departments. The compensation is on par (or slightly below) taht of the NIH pay scale. Benefits are great, except for a lack of maternity leave.

    Cons

    Post-docs are not given any respect. There is no help for transition to the next step outside of individual PIs. Bad PIs still recruit with the help of the academic programs office. In fact, PIs that are known to be leaving have used academic programs to recruit people, only to leave within months of the new employee's arrival

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    great place to do your postdoctoral fellowship

    Jan 27, 2014 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    is a great place to be a postdoc, the average pay combined with the low cost of living makes your salary go far. All the fellow community is very friendly and you can send mass emails asking questions or asking for reagents and someone always answers. it is pretty cool.

    Cons

    it is in memphis. not such a cool city

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It's a dream place for pediatric cancer treatments and researches.

    Sep 21, 2018 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work environment is awesome! The food is good! I like the relationships between patients and doctors in the hospital.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's too cold inside.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you very much for the review. Thanks for the feedback - there is a half basketball court on the south side of campus but we will see what else we can do!! :)

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Great Place to Work

    Jun 3, 2012 - Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    St Jude is a wonderful place to work. There are tons of benefits and it's a fairly laid back atmosphere. Unlike most postdoc positions, they don't expect people to work around the clock or burn themselves out in an effort to get results; that is, there's a fairly good emphasis on work-life balance. Additionally, there are tons of funds and resources, so monetary concerns are nearly nonexistant.

    Cons

    The atmosphere is far too political.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or