St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Reviews

Updated September 20, 2017
350 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
186 Ratings

350 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The Administration at SJ really wants all employees to have work/life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • They take it to heart that they would like for this to be a great place to work (in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • There are no cons in my job position (in 14 reviews)

  • Not many cons, a lot of meetings (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Truly a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I can say that they have the BEST medical/dental/vision insurance policies of any organization where I've worked, in Memphis. The Administration at SJ really wants all employees to have work/life balance. To assist employees with this, they have a first class gym, on campus, with free membership to all employees. They offer group exercise programs or, you may choose to take an afternoon bike ride with other employees. And, the best surprise of all, we will occasionally receive "additional" days off on major holidays. Since Christmas is on a Monday this year (2017) we were also given the Friday prior as an additional holiday. And, they just increased the amount of vacation you get!

    Cons

    Wow, I cannot think of any cons about working at SJ. When I first began working at SJ, it sometimes would upset me if I saw a sick child. Now, after fully understanding the mission and seeing the ongoing efforts the doctors and researchers, I know SJ is the BEST place for the children facing these challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Recruiter

    Wow, thank you so much for your incredible review. We thank you for your dedication to our mission. Keep up the great work!


  2. "Ex Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent place to work. Gives patient and family great care

    Cons

    Room for advancement. Give current employees more opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    Be more open for an employee to feel comfortable to speak with you.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thanks for the review! Great feedback!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love working at St. Jude!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    One of the best places to work! This research hospital is serious about its mission to advance cures and means of prevention for pediatric catastrophic diseases. Whatever your role is here, you know you are contributing to this cause. The senior leadership is amazing. You have ample opportunities to voice ideas or concerns, and leadership listens. Benefits are great. And at the end of the day you leave St. Jude knowing that you contributed to the advancement of a cure for pediatric cancer not only for St. Jude patients but children world-wide as St. Jude has a global impact.

    Cons

    I have no cons. It's been a blessing and honor to work at St. Jude.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you love your job!


  4. "Great place to come to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic work-life balance, good compensation, excellent benefits, beautiful campus, trustworthy leadership, important mission, employees are valued

    Cons

    I don't have any criticism.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to inspire your teams to contribute and grow.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you! Great feedback.


  5. "This is where I want to be and I am proud of St. Jude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Support Specialist
    Current Employee - Business Support Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You are working to advance research to find the cure for childhood cancer, not for the pockets of executives, so for me, this is more fulfilling. This is a positive environment and this is purposeful because we want the children who come here to feel positive, even on bad days. The employee benefits are amazing. Even security is helpful and cheerful!

    Cons

    I'm not sure other than sometimes you will have to wait to get in and out of the garage in morning and at the end of the day.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! We are so glad you are proud to come to work every day.


  6. "Rightfully in Fortune top 100 companies to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time

    Pros

    St Jude is World-renowned Children's Hospital with cutting edge research and everything it requires. Plus colleagues' support and quality over quantity attitude toward science readily make it outstanding work place. All benefits are what you'd expect from a "Top 100" company. And yes, we have free bikes on campus.

    Cons

    City airport is relatively small, some common travel destinations require connected flights.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. The free campus bikes are pretty nice!
    Yes, the airport is smaller, but is very easy to get to and get through security. There are also some very inexpensive flight... More


  7. "Best Company Ever I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Mission. Allows for creativity and collaboration. They actually care about you and what you think. You may not get exactly what you want, but you have a voice.

    Cons

    No place is perfect. The cons are minimal but the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    St. Jude gives you the opportunity to contribute to a great cause. St. Jude gives you a sense of purpose, which motivates you to give it your all each day. This place offers the best health care benefits.

    Cons

    Occasionally you run into people who do not appreciate the value of being a part of something so great.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 11, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate all of the work you are doing to help fulfill the mission.


  9. "Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great working environment, appreciates employees

    Cons

    No particular cons in general

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Glad to have you on the team!


  10. "Postdoc Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good career opportunity and good work environment.

    Cons

    No Cons was observed so far.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Sep 14, 2017 – Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! Welcome to the team.


Showing 350 of 366 reviews
Reset Filters