KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Engaged Employer

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Add a Review

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Staff Scientist Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 992 reviews

4.7
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work

    Feb 18, 2021 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Take care of employees. Esp. flexible during the pandemic. Great benefits. Very good compensation.

    Cons

    It's in Memphis - so life quality may suffer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thanks for leaving a review of your experience! We're glad that you are feeling supported during the pandemic. Flexibility is key when navigating the pandemic and taking care of our employees, their families, and their unique needs is very important to us. Memphis is a wonderful place to live, but it can be hard to experience a city during a shutdown. Contact the Talent Experience team within Talent Acquisition if you would like some help discovering what Memphis has to offer. They'd be happy to help you and your family find a better way to connect with the city that might help you.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Best Place to Work

    Feb 4, 2021 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefit, supporting Human resources

    Cons

    Not much room to grow your position

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience! We're happy that you had wonderful benefits and the support of HR. We are implementing a new research career ladder this spring that will provide a clearer path for upward mobility for our scientists and researchers. If you have any questions about the new career ladder or would like to consider applying for another role here at St. Jude, please contact Talent Acquisition.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work for

    Dec 10, 2020 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great facility to do research

    Cons

    location is not ideal for family

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review! We'd love to help you and your family acclimate to Memphis. If you're able, will you contact Human Resources and ask to be directed to Talent Acquisition? The team would be delighted to help you out. We know that moving to a new city, especially during a pandemic, is not ideal. It can be rough on families. St. Jude offers dozens of benefits to ease this burden. Please let us know how we can help.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good place but nothing much to do around

    Jan 26, 2021 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are Very professional institute

    Cons

    Memphis is not the best place to live

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We know that relocating to Memphis in the middle of a pandemic is not easy. Many things that make Memphis a cultural landmark are not available right now. Please hang in there; this city has much to offer and we are hopeful that as the pandemic subsides, Memphis will open back up. If you are looking for ideas for things to do, please reach out to the person that recruited you and ask to be put in touch with the talent experience advisor team.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    God-Blessed St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

    May 27, 2016 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best work environment and benefits, competitive salary, spiritual satisfaction and enthusiasm to help children, and good people to work with.

    Cons

    Living in Memphis is unlikely recommended.

    2 people found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Recruiter

    Thanks so much for the review. We appreciate the time you have taken to complete and are extremely grateful for the work you do each and every day!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent research environment!

    Aug 30, 2016 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well funded research facilities to perform cutting-edge research. Excellent benefits. Flexible work hours. Stress free environment to express ideas and learn.

    Cons

    Administrative processes can test your patience sometimes.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for your review! St. Jude fosters a good work environment for our employees so we are thrilled that you appreciate your facilities, hours, and benefits.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    nice place to work

    Feb 28, 2018 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very good salary and benefit

    Cons

    little less opportunity to promote to PI position

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Recruiter

    Thank you for the review!

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Making a difference...slowly

    Apr 8, 2019 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are making a difference, good work-life balance, good compensation, no traffic, plenty of parking,

    Cons

    I think everything moves slow (I moved from east-coast where life is fast), so-so benefits (I just might be spoiled because I had 5-star benefits at my previous work place)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    Thank you for reviewing us! We're glad that you chose to come here, even if it is a bit of a lifestyle change. Employees voicing opinions about individual benefits have led to great changes in the past, including the newly implemented paternity leave program. Please let us know what concerns you have by contacting Employee Relations or through any number of employee surveys (check St. Jude Today). We take all suggestions seriously, especially those of employees who are new to us and the Memphis area. Thank you again!

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    working in st jude children's research hospital

    Aug 12, 2014 - Staff Scientist in Memphis, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good resource and supports from the hospital

    Cons

    bad city, bad leadership and bad opportunity for career advancement.

    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Popular Careers with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

or