St. Jude Children's Research Hospital "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
480 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mission-focused work, supported with regular feedback by leadership, great benefits(in 63 reviews)

  • "To work with a great TEAM has truly been a great place to work(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Commute - Traffic in Memphis can be quite infuriating(in 56 reviews)

  • "No cons so far in my experience(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Phenomenal place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. Undeniably important mission. 2. Dedicated colleagues. 3. Intellectually stimulating environment. 4. Collaborative culture. 5. Great benefits. 6. Conscientious of employees. 7. Tremendous patient care.

    Cons

    A bit distant from the coasts.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2020-02-12

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    February 13, 2020Talent Experience Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We always tell potential employees, "we can offer everything but a beach." Our central location is fantastic for our patients that are in the region, but can represent more of a change for employees we welcome from coastal cities. We appreciate your list of pros and are so proud that we have employees who value their colleagues, the mission, and our patients. Thank you for being a part of St. Jude.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission-focused work, supported with regular feedback by leadership, great benefits

    Cons

    Commuting can be inconvenient. Work/life balance often feels lop-sided towards work. It's difficult to get off campus for a quick errand or jaunt to a child's activity.

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2020-02-12

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    February 13, 2020Talent Experience Advisor

    It is so key to receive quality feedback from leadership and we're glad that your managers recognize this. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know! We know that the commute from outside the perimeters of the city can be less than exciting, and the time it takes to park can be discouraging for those who need to leave campus for a quick errand. We're hopeful that as we work towards solutions for parking, some of these stresses will be alleviated for you.

    Continue reading
  3. "Overall great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and job security!

    Cons

    Major changes including a new DON from an outside facility

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2020-02-04

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Experience Advisor

    Hi! Thank you for leaving a review regarding your experience at St. Jude! We're glad that you enjoyed great benefits and job security while here. Change is necessary for some phases of growth, but we know that it can also be a difficult transition for our employees. We try to keep our employees' best interests in mind and attempt to offer them multiple avenues to express worry or concern over impending change or transition.

    Continue reading
  4. "Wonderful Place to work, hard to catch on to task."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team members, great benefits, amazing CEO, Maternity Leave. Its an amazing feeling that you know you play a part in saving the lives of countless children. I tell everyone just as much as St. Jude love their patients, they love the employees the same. We are always updated on everything that is new or changing.

    Cons

    Managers can be trained a bit better. I came in without a manual and as a assistant so form of job notes are needed. I've been here a little over a year and everyday I am finding new ways of doing things. There are so many departments that do their own thing and know on knows unless you are in a certain department. More job training is needed and managers should be able to help and assist but they don't most of the time either. It is very hard thinking you know how to perform a function, then told it wrong. The information should already be there for us to succeed and its not. It makes work draining and takes longer to complete work when you do not have clue where to start.

    Continue reading
    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2020-01-08

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    January 13, 2020Talent Experience Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We agree that you are on the front line and oftentimes are the first point of contact for new employees, visitors, and potential candidates. Your suggestions are valid. If you're comfortable doing so, please contact Employee Relations within Human Resources and let them know how beneficial a manual of processes would be. If you are not already a member of TOAST, we would suggest joining so that you have a reliable network of administrative support. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and recommending steps we can take to continue to better ourselves as an organization.

    Continue reading
  5. "Wonderful mission that everyone works towards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Wonderful and caring co-workers in my department as well as across the institution. Practicing at the top of my license.

    Cons

    Stress level can be high. At times, work-life balance is not balanced.

    Continue reading
    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-10-21

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    October 22, 2019

    Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear that your pharmacy staff is so dedicated to their work. We know that stress can be an issue in our field and urge you and your coworkers to visit the Resilience Center if you need help or coping mechanisms. If you have additional ideas as to ways we can help you, please let HR know. We're always looking for ways to improve so that you are set up for success. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. "The best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Coder 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Makes sure the patients and families are taken care of Continues to make advancements in every aspect of medical and technical fields Ensures that employees have all resources available as needed Keeps employees motivated Great benefits Too many to list

    Cons

    Not really any cons, but if I have to say one, it would be that parking can sometimes be challenging

    Continue reading
    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-10-18

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    October 18, 2019

    It's great to read that you feel supported with all the resources that you need to do your best work! We're glad that you are part of our mission and contribute to our advancements. Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review and for your tireless devotion to your work and our patients.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Supportive coworkers Excellent patient care Supportive infrastructure Focused mission Memphis is growing city with low cost of living compared to many other cities

    Cons

    Emotional work, must take time for self care

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-10-16

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    October 17, 2019

    Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review us! We strive to provide our employees with a supportive infrastructure and our patients with top-notch care, so it's wonderful that you recognize this! Whenever you need extra support, please visit the Resilience Center or take part in RISE (Resilience In Stressful Events) so that you are afforded the self-care that all of our employees need. Thank you again for your hard work and devotion to St. Jude!

    Continue reading
  8. "A Great Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technologist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    St. Jude runs like a well-oiled machine. A company I can be proud to work for, with a mission I really care about. Great people, great management always willing to help if you are unsure about something. Everyone is treated with respect, no matter what your position is. The benefits are great. They are always going the extra mile for their employees and their well being. Kay Kafe is awesome, you will never go hungry at St. Jude. There is definitely room for advancement, and a ton of learning opportunities! Work/life balance is normal, the same for any full-time position. Competitive wages. I absolutely love it here!

    Cons

    The elevator in parking garage 3.

    Continue reading
    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-10-17

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    October 18, 2019

    Thank you for not only recognizing our mission and benefits, but appreciating the lesser-recognized perks as well! We strive for Kay Kafe to continue to serve all of our patients, families, and employees with healthy and balanced meals, regardless of dietary restrictions. We're glad that you have both upward mobility and learning opportunities! As for the elevator, if you haven't already, contact Facilities, Operations and Maintenance (FOM) and let them know what you've experienced. They would appreciate the opportunity to assist you.

    Continue reading
  9. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Work-Life Balance, Lots of opportunities for employers, professional environment yet fun.

    Cons

    I don't see any cons with this employer

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-10-16

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    October 17, 2019

    We're so glad that you enjoy your work! Everyone here is an integral part of our mission, so it's important that our employees feel that there are ample opportunities for them to move up and continue to contribute. Thank you for your review and your dedication to St. Jude!

    Continue reading
  10. "Beautiful place, great mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, positive atmosphere, inspiring CEO

    Cons

    Some areas seem to be running in slow motion

    Continue reading
    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital2019-08-21

    St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

    August 21, 2019

    It's wonderful that you feel inspired by our president and CEO, Dr. James Downing. Hopefully his strategic plan and forward-thinking will continue to affect you positively. We recognize that some areas are not as fast-paced as what employees might be used to and we are working at the manager and director levels to get everyone on the same page. Complacency is unacceptable and leadership has identified areas for improvement. Thank you for your constructive criticism!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 63 reviews