KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2021

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Engaged Employer

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Add a Review

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Employee Reviews about "great place"

Updated Oct 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 of over 984 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Chair, President and CEO James Downing
James Downing
669 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, world renowned research(in 86 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with excellent values(in 69 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Jude is in the process of adapting to incredible growth over the past several years with more growth on the horizon(in 94 reviews)

  • "I have no complaints about working at St(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "great place"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Clinical Variant Scientist

      Oct 12, 2021 - Clinical Variant Scientist in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with excellent values

      Cons

      No real cons to mention

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      We are glad that you enjoy working here! Currently we are accepting nominations for our annual St. Jude values recognition. If you have a coworker that you think especially exemplifies St. Jude's core values, please consider nominating them.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Mission driven high performing employer

      Sep 25, 2021 - Director in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission of the organization is part of everything Employees are valued and appreciated Stewardship is a true value of the organization Campus is a great place to work Innovation and progress are embraced

      Cons

      Work life balance can be challenging It can be emotionally difficult to see sick patients Diversity in leadership positions Inconsistency in quality of leadership and work environment/morale across departments/divisions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for pointing out so many wonderful pros of working at St. Jude! We're glad that you noticed stewardship, innovation, and progress, all of which are huge parts of our organization's core values. As we continue to expand, it remains one of our goals to support our employees, including being allies to and elevating our employees of color, LGBTQIA+ employees, and women within the organization. We continue to strive to find ways to ease the burdens of stress and grief on our workforce. We are hopeful that employees will continue to come forward with ideas to uplift and support our workforce. Thank you for speaking up!

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place

      Sep 25, 2021 - IT Analyst in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and great doctors/scientists. Great place to work for academicians, post docs but not for IT positions and administrative/operations jobs.

      Cons

      Not great for compensation and acknowledging your hard work. No career opportunities.

      1 person found this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for a candid review of your experience. Reviews are anonymous, so we cannot contact you. Will you consider speaking to employee relations so that we have the opportunity to look into your situation? Our compensation team can show you the career ladder and salary grade for your role and discuss options for advancement with you.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      good place to work

      Aug 19, 2021 - Senior Researcher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is great place to work. good balance between work and life

      Cons

      you may not get much chance to grow and gain more experience

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Hi! Thank you for leaving a review. We are so happy to have had you as a part of the St. Jude mission. Best of luck in your next role and please contact us if you're considering a return to St. Jude.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place

      Jul 4, 2021 - Research Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      save kids is the mission

      Cons

      It's a great place to work at.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review! We agree that it's a great place to work!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Apr 21, 2021 - Clinical Trial Coverage Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall a great place to work. I love my job, benefits, and our CEO!

      Cons

      Managers do not have to make the job harder than what it is, by making snide remarks, making people feel as though they do not know what they are doing, speaking in a condescending way, and having favorites in the department (when it is clearly seen). There is really no way to evaluate managers so that their boss is aware. There is no career ladder.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Hi! Thank you for your candid review. The actions you are describing are not in line with St. Jude's values. While it's wonderful to read that you love your job, it sounds like there is room for improvement in your quality of life while working here. Would you consider contacting Employee Relations to discuss this matter further? Concerning the career ladder for your department: please contact the Compensation team. They can share you the career ladder for your department and discuss available options. The Learning & Development team can also assist you with upward mobility and next steps. We look forward to assisting you if you feel comfortable reaching out.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      aide

      Apr 8, 2021 - Dietary Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great place to work all around

      Cons

      none at all . loved it

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      We're so glad that you love working here! Your work is indispensable to the safety and health of our patients, so thank you for taking such good care of them!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Dec 11, 2020 - Director in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great place to work

      Cons

      There are no cons. SJ is amazing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Hey there! Thank you for the kind words! We're glad that you're enjoying your role here at St. Jude.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Service

      Oct 27, 2020 - Chaplain in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great place to work

      Cons

      Growing institution-difficult to get to know people outside ones area.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review! The organization's rapid growth means a lot of positive changes, but change can also be hard. It also means that intermingling among teams and departments looks a little different. Our current safety protocol is in place to protect our employees and our patients, but the zoning restrictions often keep our clinical employees far removed from our non-clinical employees. If you'd like to stay connected and meet new people, please contact Human Resources for on-campus volunteer activities that might help. If you have not already, enroll for one of Diversity & Inclusion's "Courageous Conversations" to network and meet with other employees. Finally, consider joining the Tour Guide Community, a close-knit group of employees from across the institution. Do you have another idea of how to break down barriers between departments? Please share it with HR Communications! We love new ideas that foster collaboration and friendship on campus.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Oct 25, 2020 - Education Coordinator in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work due to a wonderful CEO. Great management from the top trickles down to staff. CEO gives regular town meetings and includes staff across the institution to select topics for discussion.

      Cons

      Sometimes you will overwork yourself because you get caught up in the mission. Seeing the sick children is a constant reality check.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review and thank you for your years of service to the kids of St. Jude! Our CEO and executive leadership believe in transparency for our employees, so it's great that you felt that was the case during your tenure here. For employees who become stressed, whether due to what they experience or overworking themselves, we have numerous resources including the Living Well program, the Resilience Center, and the Employee Assistance Program. We hope you were able to find peace when you found yourself working to the point of stress or sadness. Thank you again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 76 Reviews

    Popular Careers with St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital? Share Your Experiences

    or