St. Jude Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Jude Medical Center Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Lee Penrose
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working at St Jude had really helped me grow, and you meet so many great people(in 3 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and friendly staff(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Patient care was very important(in 3 reviews)

  • "Undergoing a lot of internal changes with their merger with Providence(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Philanthropy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and environment to be a part of.

    Cons

    It is difficult to keep up with transitions resulting from recent acquisition.

    St. Jude Medical Center2019-01-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Community Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Coordinator 

    I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    St. Jude promotes a culture of transparency and a sense of family amongst its staff.

    Cons

    Undergoing a lot of internal changes with their merger with Providence.

    St. Jude Medical Center2019-02-09
  3. "Good hospital and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Staff RN in Fullerton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      friendly staff supports higher education

      Cons

      management not listening difficult to get dayshift in some department

      St. Jude Medical Center2019-02-05
    • "Surgery scheduler"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fullerton, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Benefit are pretty good. Good amount of PTO and an HMO insurance option with an option for low income to pay less or none at all.

      Cons

      The pay is low with small increases, not alot of growth opportunities in my department. Since the merge with Providence there have been alot of lay of and "Leaning" of all departments which means everyone is short staffed. So we are over worked and underpayed as I always say.

      Advice to Management

      Their is to much red tape for my manager to make a difference..

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-11-04
    • "RN"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center

      Pros

      The nurse autonomy is good here and the staff is nice.

      Cons

      Benefits for retirement could be better.

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-09-18
    • "It was great"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at St. Jude Medical Center full-time

      Pros

      Good pay and quite easy work

      Cons

      Hours can get to you.(nightsift) Get's hot only one getting physical in a quiet facility. Never constant always a new procedure but not too bad.

      Advice to Management

      Ask employee's what can be improved for comfort.

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-10-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Former manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at St. Jude Medical Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      They have done a lot of work on culture and have good employees that want to do the right thing

      Cons

      Recently merged with Providence resulting in big layoffs and changes. Those who are left ha e to do two or three peoples jobs for less pay.

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-09-17
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - California in Fullerton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at St. Jude Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very great patient care and great co-workers

      Cons

      You will work hard! After hours work is difficult and tiring.

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-08-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Rgistered Nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Fullerton, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at St. Jude Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      St. Jude is an amazing place to work in the beginning. The staff there is what really keeps a person working there even when everything else is awful. They have a lot of certifications and are excellent at getting you to believe they put patients and staff first.

      Cons

      Management is very self serving. In the beginning they treat you like a star and a valuable employee but as time goes on and as newer, cheaper nurses start, you begin to get treated like dirt. They demand countless hours of unnecessary education and training in addition to your regular work hours. They want you to come in on days off for training. Will write you up is training is eve 1 day late. Another downfall...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Realize that your employees are humans too with feelings, families and lives outside of St. Jude. When you cannot even provide a decent work-family balance then nurses get burnt-out, they make mistakes and patients will suffer. Treat your staff like family and you might have an amazing hospital

      St. Jude Medical Center2018-08-30
    • "Support"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at St. Jude Medical Center full-time

        Pros

        St Jude is a family away from your family.

        Cons

        Now a part of a much larger health system.

        St. Jude Medical Center2018-04-30
      Found 56 reviews