St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "CNA - CSU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center for more than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork, education, hands on learning, and understanding management when it comes to personal or 2nd job issues.

    Cons

    HR isnt very good with handling your return paperwork from a leave, and scheduling doesn't keep in mind of your travel time so if you were called in they don't change your time to give you adequate drive time to get there which makes you look late

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2018-10-25
  2. "Good work environment and competitive pay for area."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - ICU RN 
    Recommends

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really felt like they cared about the employees, flexible on hours and extra shifts, small town hospital feel with co-workers but big hospital care and cases were seen pretty frequently making work fun and interesting always.

    Cons

    Continually changing policies and sometimes a lot of drama.

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2018-10-05
  3. "OK of you're forced to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Imaging Tech in Twin Falls, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center for more than 8 years

    Pros

    PTO if you're allowed to use it. They're pretty great with maternity leave.

    Cons

    Little to no raises. Lots of talk of being replaceable. Director told staff to ignore inappropriate extramarital relationships involving supervisors. Very low moral. Lots of people looking to leave. Students are refusing to apply saying they've seen too many bad things at clinicals. Unnecessary manager positions were just created in an already top heavy dept. All of our schedules are completely rearranged.

    Advice to Management

    Cut the fat with management.

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2018-05-04
  4. "RN Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Twin Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had a great Life-Work Balance. Management listened and was genuinely concerned for their employee's. St Lukes Has a great values system and treats employee's equally and fairly.

    Cons

    The only Con I can think of specific to my position was that we were required to see every single patient that was admitted whether it be for observation or for a full blown admit. I did not think that this was necessary. I think this coud have been handled differently.

    Advice to Management

    They are doing a great job and are treating all employee's equally and fair.

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2018-02-18
  5. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center

    Pros

    Excellent management and resources in this facility.

    Cons

    The amount of CEU per year

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2017-09-29
  6. "non competitive wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    flexible schedule, benefits, breaks, OT

    Cons

    low wages, unfair annual evaluation process

    Advice to Management

    to much turnover from hiring all students, makes for a stressful work environment always training someone that's not gonna stay

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2017-05-07
  7. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a newish hospital.

    Cons

    If you know someone working here already you'll likely get hired whether you have the skills or not. HR is a mess. Poor employees and managers will NEVER get fired. What is the point of exit interviews?

    Advice to Management

    If they won't listen to what's said in person, management aint reading this. Why bother?

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2017-03-22
  8. "Awesome!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Twin Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good management. Great coworkers. Low patient to staff ratio on the floors. New hospital building with state of the art equipment.

    Cons

    Lots of changes recently to align practice and policies with the St Lukes 'system'. Clinical staff have mandatory color coded scrub dress code.

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2016-01-09
  9. "Charge Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Charge RN in Twin Falls, ID
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoyed working at St. Lukes Hospital. Able to build a repore with auxiliary staff throughout the hospital. Hours were flexible and worked every other weekend.

    Cons

    Pay could have been higher or in line with what Boise was paying. I had a hard time justifying hospital paying traveling nurses 3 times more than what I was making for the same job!!!

    Advice to Management

    Pay nurses more to begin with to keep the good ones around, and you would not have to bring in traveling nurses.

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2015-06-24
  10. "Phlebotomist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phlebotomist in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best place to get care. The best place to give care.

    Cons

    More advancement project for long term employees.

    Advice to Management

    Give more advancement resources

    St. Luke's Magic Valley Medical Center2015-06-04
Found 12 reviews