St. Vincent Charity Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Vincent Charity Medical Center Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 38 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
St. Vincent Charity Medical Center CEO David F. Perse
David F. Perse
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work! :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Support Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are great! I love being part of a union; we're one of the only hospitals in Cleveland that is unionized. Most coworkers are extremely helpful and considerate. I often feel like I'm part of a strong team. Part of my college tuition is getting paid by St. Vincent's, too, so that helps! There are lots of opportunities to grow with the hospital (i.e., switching departments, working up the ladder,... etc.). I am very impressed with St. V.!

    Show More

    Cons

    Though I'm treated very fairly overall, hiring more staff (MSTs, RNs, and so forth) would help keep a better staff:patient ratio and make all of our lives easier.

    Advice to Management

    If financially feasible, please hire a few more support staff & RNs! :)

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2017-09-13
  2. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Excellent, compassionate staff. Experienced nurses.

    Cons

    Poor education of new hires. Short staffed often. Budget cuts affecting patient services.

    Advice to Management

    Patient centered care. Thorough education for new hires. Adequate supplies. Safe staffing.

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2017-09-05
  3. "Screw up and you get a promotion work hard and get nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN Case Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are excellent, the atmosphere welcoming. Union benefits for nursing staff :) . Excellent benefits and pay is fair.

    Cons

    No room for advancement, A lot of Bullies on staff and management is not supportive, The CNO is detached and will not allow for growth. Limited opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Employees first

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2017-04-14
  4. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Hospital and offices are very patient oriented.

    Cons

    Lack of specialties and office locations.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2017-03-28
  5. "Review of St. Vincent Medical Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center

    Pros

    St. Vincent is a great place to work. They are truly mission oriented.

    Cons

    Lower pay than some of the Indianapolis area companies.

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2017-02-07
  6. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN/Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Family like environment. Nurses help each other and work together.

    Cons

    Upper management is resistant to collaborate with bedside nurses.

    Advice to Management

    Work better with the union to promote collaboration

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2016-11-10
  7. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center

    Pros

    This is a great place to work. Caregivers truly live the mission everyday. Everyone says hello when walking down the halls.

    Cons

    There are really no cons to report

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Continue to offer special programs to communicate current initiatives, state of the hospital, and future vision.

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2016-10-07
  8. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Phlebotomist in Venice, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed all 10 years I worked there. The doctors treated you like family.

    Cons

    Pay isn't the best. Some of the help doesn't always pitch in when needed.

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2016-04-15
  9. "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great place to work, feels like family, a lot of teamwork

    Cons

    Have nothing bad to report

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2016-04-14
  10. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Charity Medical Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    DIverse patient population, Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Shift availablitiy, location of hospital

    St. Vincent Charity Medical Center2016-03-09
Found 38 reviews