St. Vincent Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

St. Vincent Medical Center Reviews

Updated Apr 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
St. Vincent Medical Center CEO Vincent C. Caponi
Vincent C. Caponi
4 Ratings
  1. "great hospital and overall very friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Surgical Technologist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very friendly, flexible schedules, great place to gain experience

    Cons

    currently understaffed but working on it

    St. Vincent Medical Center2019-02-26
  2. "OK Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Medical Laboratory Scientist in Jacksonville, FL

    I worked at St. Vincent Medical Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chain of laboratories, helpful in moving up and around

    Cons

    Micromanagement, low investment in laboratory

    St. Vincent Medical Center2019-04-10
  3. "Overall a team oriented place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - C T Technologist 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employee unity and teamwork

    Cons

    Company cuts and high roll over rates

    St. Vincent Medical Center2019-03-22
  4. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Its a job, central location, not a big hospital

    Cons

    RNs expect you to do everything, You get an overload of patients, and they require you to do everything while everyone else sits and watch.

    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-12-30
  5. "Crappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reception 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Okay salary, not competitive with surrounding hospitals

    Cons

    Horrible management, they don’t care about patients

    St. Vincent Medical Center2019-01-01
  6. "St. Vincent Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    -Centrally located in Koreatown -Patients were pleasant

    Cons

    -Ethical concerns with management -Extremely high productivity expectation

    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-12-10
  7. "Employee health charged me 10 grand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice co workers. interesting patient cases.

    Cons

    I had a headache one day, and my manger insisted that i go to ER, even though i was feeling better. I kept saying i was fine and getting better but it was one of those situations where they won't let you back to work unless you get checked. Come to find out they charged me 10,000 for that visit. I worked at 5 other hospitals before and was never charged a penny for anything personal, they stopped with what they could...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop yelling at people when they need a day off.... seriously yelling in my face. Stop scamming your employees. Tell them upfront they will be billed and give them the option of seeing their own doctor with their insurance.

    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-10-28
  8. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Bridgeport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food. That is all.

    Cons

    Everything else. Management lacks leadership in all aspects of the food service department. Food workers in the cafeteria are treated horribly by guests and hospital staff. If you park in the employee garages you need to pay.

    Advice to Management

    Instead of making ridiculous rules try actually training the staff correctly. Don’t put people in management positions that clearly have no culinary and beverage expectancies. When shifts are short handed be actual managers and fill in instead not careing. Care in general. Stand up for your staff. Cooks, foodservers, etc should all be expected to do the job equally. Meaning demand more from the weaker employees. Make...

    Show More
    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-07-14
  9. "Great place to grow professionally."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of room for growth, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Lots of change happening, but it's all for the better!

    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-05-01
  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at St. Vincent Medical Center

    Pros

    The pay rate is good

    Cons

    Poor staffing all of the time

    St. Vincent Medical Center2018-05-16
Found 23 reviews