Stage Stores Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
12 Ratings
  1. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Associate discount, great benefits

    Cons

    Not enough hours givin for staffing needs, unrealistic expectations for the pay.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to understand you cannot expect to run a store and provide excellent customer service on hours givin to store.

    Stage Stores2018-08-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time

    Pros

    Love the people, have really good assistants mangers there with me. My dm is great

    Cons

    The credit goals are hard to make.

    Stage Stores2019-08-25
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits medical dental 401k

    Cons

    Not much room to move up. A lot of favoritism with in

    Stage Stores2019-08-12
  4. "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Assistant Manager in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great people

    Cons

    No advancement, no communication from supervisors, company does not care about store level employees

    Advice to Management

    Think more about the people who work in the physical stores and how you could better train and give advancement opportunities.

    Stage Stores2019-05-30
  5. "Don’t pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Brewton, AL

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back. Somewhat decent employees

    Cons

    Rude older customers. Bare minimum pay. I was a full time assistant manager making $8.50 with no possibility for a pay raise. McDonald’s literally pays more than that to the cashiers. There are no raise incentives bc the company doesn’t care they don’t pay a decent wage. You have to either push credit or magazines to get a very tiny paycheck bonus. Management doesn’t care about employees

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees a fare wage. A full time assistant manager should not be making $8.50.

    Stage Stores2019-03-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    employee discount, customer service experience.

    Cons

    not a lot of hours, pay is very low.

    Advice to Management

    give us more hours and assistant managers a pay raise, we keep every single store afloat and work HARD.

    Stage Stores2018-09-04
  7. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Picayune, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great place to work, great experience.

    Cons

    Being able to press forward when u don't feel like it.

    Advice to Management

    Requires patience and humility

    Stage Stores2018-02-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty good place to work. It’s and easy and relaxed job, but they definitely have work to do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s entry level and a normal sales associate starts at $.15 more than minimum wage ($7.40/hr) ASM Pay is $10.50/hr. Fast paced and easy to learn.

    Cons

    You are judged by your ability to persuade customers to get credit cards and magazines. The give a little extra money when you get enough credit approvals (not much at all) but they push it way too much. It interferes with associates providing true customer service. The location I currently work at also has a lot of trouble with coverage, there is always long lines and not enough associates, which causes frustration... for everyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lay off with the pushiness for apps and mags. We should still offer them but not be judged or rewarded for how many we get. Also, please teach Store Managers how to provide coverage, especially over the holidays. Our valued customers don’t deserve to spend 30 minutes in a line just to get pestered to apply for a credit card because the employee just wants a few extra dollars in his paycheck.

    Stage Stores2017-12-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Retail is what I love to do and strive for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Missouri City, TX

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chances for potential and advancement(s), The corporate office is in Houston, TX., Stage stores is well-known all over the U.S.A., Great management and associates to work for, and Stage offers a good vision and mission statement.

    Cons

    Have to work on Black Friday(s) and other holidays, small staff at my store location, and a lot of customer complaints over coupons.

    Advice to Management

    Stage needs to hire more managers who are determined and have some management experience.

    Stage Stores2017-11-09
  10. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Macclenny, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting customer service experience and it pays the bills

    Cons

    District managers do not listen when suspected theft is going on with other Assistant Manager, specifically Macclenny Fl location

    Advice to Management

    Replace the New Management she has no clue what she is doing and is a THIEF

    Stage Stores2017-06-20
Found 34 reviews