Stage Stores Assistant Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Stage Stores Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Retail is what I love to do and strive for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Retail Store Manager in Missouri City, TX

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chances for potential and advancement(s), The corporate office is in Houston, TX., Stage stores is well-known all over the U.S.A., Great management and associates to work for, and Stage offers a good vision and mission statement.

    Cons

    Have to work on Black Friday(s) and other holidays, small staff at my store location, and a lot of customer complaints over coupons.

    Advice to Management

    Stage needs to hire more managers who are determined and have some management experience.

    Stage Stores2017-11-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Steer Clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Discount is pretty good, also the prices of the clothing are good.

    Cons

    The pay, the hours vs work load, they shave your time if they are over, very dishonest, and care nothing about employees.

    Advice to Management

    You're no better than the corporate people you complain about all day long

    Stage Stores2017-04-14
  3. "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Fredericksburg, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    Company offers good benefits after 3 months. Very good selection of merchandise available for purchase at a discount and you can use coupons too.

    Cons

    Poor management made everyone's job much more difficult. More training would have helped all of the associates perform their duties easier.

    Advice to Management

    More training

    Stage Stores2017-02-03
  4. "Stage stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager in Bastrop, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Good group of people to work with. Easy to promote if you stick with it.

    Cons

    Terrible training. Bad communication throughout the company. Not up to date.

    Advice to Management

    The golden rule is to treat others how you want to be treated. The platinum rule is to treat others how they want to be treated.

    Stage Stores2016-11-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Most of my team and customs love retail

    Cons

    over work not being realistic on time for getting task done and give great customs service or even good service rate of pay DM calling people lier with out any proof and tell people not to think just as they are told by high up even if it worng

    Advice to Management

    Wake up if you want the best customs service give you employees time to engage them it take more then two employees at a time to do this and tell you high up to say thank you

    Stage Stores2016-09-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "over worked underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    scheduling alot you can learn and carry with you experience I worked in a small plaza store with a great team who came together with what little help we had and made the best of what we were given. My store manager really didnt have time to teach me much to carry to my future. She was to overworked but she was fair and understanding to her team and worked hard for them. If you can stick it out and... dont have a family to be home to and can revolve your life around the store and come in at insane hours you may find yourself getting promoted in a few years.

    Show More

    Cons

    low ball pay worked like a dog unrealistic expectations for time managment vs workload vs amnt of employees none and i mean no work life balance work like a dog for about three years and by default or actual notice you may get promoted. I watched many many managers and leaders actually end up in the hospital from the exhaustion and stressed from being so worried and overworked-for almost no pay

    Advice to Management

    if your going bankrupt and just cant pay better so one person has to do the work of many work closer with your teams demand your DM's are more involved and actually get in the stores and help

    Stage Stores2016-08-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager, Assistant Store Manager in Enterprise, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a ok job

    Cons

    Pay not fair for management jobs. Not enough employees on sales floor to complete daily work task and give the customer service and keep shrink down

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing and let manager's run there store like you tell them in the manager meeting and listen to what there telling you there out in the field and know what will work. What works in one store may not work in another.

    Stage Stores2016-02-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Management opportunities always available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Miami, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun to wait on customers and merchandise clothing and accessories. Flexible work schedules for part time employees, great 20% discount upon hire, and gets better the longer you stay. Most management is fun to work with and generally have good training procedures monthly performance feedback.

    Cons

    Work loads are very heavy for the pay, so that can become discouraging at times. Staying motivated when the reward is just getting handed more work. Smaller stores have to make do with broken fixtures and lack of proper signs and supplies at times.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the positive, reward and acknowledge associates as much as possible. There is nothing wrong with challenging goals and areas of improvement, but keep them focused on one area at a time to avoid employee burnout.

    Stage Stores2016-01-21
Found 8 reviews