Stage Stores Counter Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Counter Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
5 Ratings
  1. "I need better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinique Counter Manager in McAlester, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is easy going. You don’t get in trouble for being late. Flexible dress code. Only one person has been fired in 3 years.

    Cons

    The pay is low and the store can be slow

    Advice to Management

    Managers are awesome. Employees need better pay.

    Stage Stores2018-09-21
  2. "Stage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule , good work environment

    Cons

    Not good pay, No set schedule

    Stage Stores2019-08-28
  3. "Formal manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Grapevine, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with Estee Lauber and Estée Lauder is great but Estée Lauder. Company downfall is having Estée Lauder in a discounted store like bealls stage company!

    Cons

    Poor leadership at bealls store grapevine and Throughout the company! Marco management! Horrible work environment Worked very holiday every weekend, When I worked at bealls grapevine I had no family like,

    Advice to Management

    The leaders need to be trained on how to be a leader and lead by example , not a micro manager, and Bully!!

    Stage Stores2018-11-21
  4. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cosmetics Counter Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores for more than 3 years

    Pros

    management were some great people

    Cons

    coparate knows nothing about what goes on inside the stores but always demanding unrealistic goals.

    Advice to Management

    management at stage was nice.

    Stage Stores2018-08-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Corporate Overload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount and lunch breaks.

    Cons

    Everything else. Horrible pay. Long hours. Unexpected hour cutting. Jokes for raises. Company claims they are hurting but shows evidence of the contrary. Corporate pulls all the strings without ever setting foot in a store.

    Advice to Management

    Think for yourselves!

    Stage Stores2017-05-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Counter manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counter Manager in East Newark, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount and coupons along with the sale is the only perk and can save on make up and fragrance

    Cons

    Besides corporate always cutting hours and no extra help and been waiting 3 months on my health benefits that they've been taking out of my check and still have no ID number I'm a glorified cashier and can not promote the business and they open on thanksgiving at noon can bet the president of the company won't be out in the field that day so said that they are so greedy

    Advice to Management

    Get extra help!!!!

    Stage Stores2016-10-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Clinique Counter Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager in Belmont, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had the oppurtunity to work with a great staff, and was able to maintain professional relatationships with guests that became part of my clientele.

    Cons

    I didn't particularly enjoy working evenings and/or weekends due to the fact that i am a single mother with young childen at home.

    Advice to Management

    It would be wonderful for management to make accommodations for people like myself, who really need to work the day shift, due to certain unique circumstances.

    Stage Stores2016-03-31
  8. Helpful (4)

    "HORRIBLE & Degrading work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cinique Counter Manager in Danville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only good part is the Employee discount, you can use it with most coupons. Some good customers

    Cons

    The Management is not trained in treating people with respect and is not big on training you for your position.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like you want to be treated

    Stage Stores2015-11-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't financially support oneself working at the retail level here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Manager in Cortez, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, benefits, clothing discount

    Cons

    pay is not competitive with similar retailers, reviews only once a years regardless of when you are hired

    Advice to Management

    Need to spend more quality time training employess

    Stage Stores2014-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counter Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stayed busy. Met great people. Learned life lessons of management

    Cons

    Didnt get shown I was worth as much as I am

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees more appreciation. I got a promotiom which gave me more responsibility and never got a penny raise to show for it

    Stage Stores2014-03-01
Found 11 reviews