Stage Stores Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
48 Ratings
  1. "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Associate discount, great benefits

    Cons

    Not enough hours givin for staffing needs, unrealistic expectations for the pay.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to understand you cannot expect to run a store and provide excellent customer service on hours givin to store.

    Stage Stores2018-08-06
  2. "Senior Manaement Not To Be Trusted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good peer group to work with.

    Cons

    Senior Management Not to Be Trusted. Too much of a good old boys network.

    Advice to Management

    Get much more diversity in senior management.

    Stage Stores2019-10-09
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores full-time

    Pros

    Love the people, have really good assistants mangers there with me. My dm is great

    Cons

    The credit goals are hard to make.

    Stage Stores2019-08-25
  4. "Overworked, Over Top Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in the Stores with great hard working people

    Cons

    They expected Top Tier Focus Department Store focus on 3 employees per most stores.

    Advice to Management

    Cosmetics Department was expected to be center of the store focus, despite trucks upon trucks arriving for other departments. Associates in the Corporate Office had their own agenda and did not care about in store support. Worst Years of my Life

    Stage Stores2019-09-18
  5. "Stage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule , good work environment

    Cons

    Not good pay, No set schedule

    Stage Stores2019-08-28
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits medical dental 401k

    Cons

    Not much room to move up. A lot of favoritism with in

    Stage Stores2019-08-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Look elsewhere! Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Arab, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Great customers. Close.

    Cons

    Why is the CEO and vice president still there? In my 5 years there, they have run this company aground! Why do they continue to fly around in private jet and only pay .25 cents a mile to lower management? Jet fuel is costly! Take the bus! Upper mgmt says they are reducing task due to no payroll. HA! Done believe it! The manager's work 60 plus hours a week just to still be behind! Way to stressful for what you get in... return- Nothing!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please retire.

    Stage Stores2019-08-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Top Heavy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of volunteer opportunities to help out the community. Co-workers are great.

    Cons

    Corporate red tape resulting in slow and indecisive decision making. No clear direction from the top levels. Top heavy company where it seems like we're constantly get an emails about someone being promoted to another VP or higher position. They promote open work spaces to encourage communication and teamwork, however, the C levels officers are on the top floor ivory tower, in their private offices. No work... stability - employees are constantly working in fear of being laid off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Need more effort in recognizing and keeping the employees who are in the trenches working hard everyday. Quite patting yourselves on the back when the company is moving in the wrong direction.

    Stage Stores2019-07-16
  9. "Great job to start with in retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours aren't bad District managers are involved Stores help each other out

    Cons

    Low pay High employee turnover due to the low pay

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize your management team to stay with higher pay. I would still be there today if it weren't for the low pay and staff shortage.

    Stage Stores2019-06-14
  10. "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Assistant Manager in Spring, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers were great people

    Cons

    No advancement, no communication from supervisors, company does not care about store level employees

    Advice to Management

    Think more about the people who work in the physical stores and how you could better train and give advancement opportunities.

    Stage Stores2019-05-30
Found 107 reviews