Stage Stores Reviews | Glassdoor

Stage Stores Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Stage Stores CEO Michael Glazer
Michael Glazer
165 Ratings
  1. "Good part-time opportunity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cleburne, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Good employee discounts.

    Cons

    Corporate limits hours which in turn limits number of employees on the floor.

    Stage Stores2019-08-17
  2. "Overworked, Over Top Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in the Stores with great hard working people

    Cons

    They expected Top Tier Focus Department Store focus on 3 employees per most stores.

    Advice to Management

    Cosmetics Department was expected to be center of the store focus, despite trucks upon trucks arriving for other departments. Associates in the Corporate Office had their own agenda and did not care about in store support. Worst Years of my Life

    Stage Stores2019-09-18
  3. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are great and so is the manger.

    Cons

    Messy store and lack of Organization . Pay isn’t good at all.

    Stage Stores2019-08-28
  4. "Stage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Counter Manager 

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule , good work environment

    Cons

    Not good pay, No set schedule

    Stage Stores2019-08-28
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits medical dental 401k

    Cons

    Not much room to move up. A lot of favoritism with in

    Stage Stores2019-08-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Felt like family - ET program was very beneficial - Learned how to manage self in professional environment

    Cons

    - Training was highly dependent on your boss and their willingness to invest their time in you. - Unstable business. Always worried if I would have a job or if we were going out of business.

    Stage Stores2019-08-05
  7. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Stage Stores

    Pros

    Room for advancement and always hiring.

    Cons

    The insecure young kids working there are thirsty!

    Advice to Management

    Not enough people working there. The lines are long!

    Stage Stores2019-08-07
  8. "Greedy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Merchandiser in Hayes, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Co-workers and most customers

    Cons

    Below average pay and treat employees like pawns. Everything is about keeping corporate office and investors secure. They take advantage of part-timers because they don’t want to offer benefits. Most retailers are struggling, but Stage has made store employees pay the price in trying to keep afloat.

    Advice to Management

    Any advice would not be evaluated because management is only motivated by dollar signs.

    Stage Stores2019-08-10
  9. "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Salesperson in Marrero, LA

    I have been working at Stage Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    some good people to work with

    Cons

    lack of hours, pay is almost minimal, lack of teamwork

    Advice to Management

    reprimand all employees for lack of work , not some.

    Stage Stores2019-07-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Look elsewhere! Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Arab, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Stage Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Great customers. Close.

    Cons

    Why is the CEO and vice president still there? In my 5 years there, they have run this company aground! Why do they continue to fly around in private jet and only pay .25 cents a mile to lower management? Jet fuel is costly! Take the bus! Upper mgmt says they are reducing task due to no payroll. HA! Done believe it! The manager's work 60 plus hours a week just to still be behind! Way to stressful for what you get in... return- Nothing!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please retire.

    Stage Stores2019-08-11
Found 437 reviews